Welcome to the MacNN Forums.

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

You are here: MacNN Forums > Enthusiast Zone > Networking > Incredibly annoying MacBook issue - needing to renew DHCP constantly

Incredibly annoying MacBook issue - needing to renew DHCP constantly
Thread Tools
shifuimam
Addicted to MacNN
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: The deep backwoods of Idaho
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Oct 30, 2011, 02:22 PM
 
I have a 1.86 GHz white MacBook with 10.6.8.

I've recently starting having a pretty obnoxious problem crop up - I'll be surfing the web, and suddenly pages stop loading (e.g. timing out). At that point, I try pinging anything (IP or domain), and it times out. The only way to resolve it is to renew my DHCP lease through the preference pane for my Airport card. When I click the "renew" button, my connection immediately recovers, and whatever I was trying to load finishes loading.

This doesn't happen on any of my other computers, including several PowerPC machines running various versions of OS 9 and OS X.

Any ideas?

Edit: The irony here is that this problem happened AS I WAS TRYING TO SUBMIT THIS POST. WTF.
Sell or send me your vintage Mac things if you don't want them.
     
Waragainstsleep
Posting Junkie
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: UK
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Oct 30, 2011, 02:44 PM
 
My MBP is doing this but only with one particular wifi network.

Try changing the SSID on your network.
I have plenty of more important things to do, if only I could bring myself to do them....
     
Big Mac
Clinically Insane
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Los Angeles
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Oct 31, 2011, 04:50 AM
 
Whenever I've had a problem like that it's due to the router.

"The natural progress of things is for liberty to yield and government to gain ground." TJ
     
ibook_steve
Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: San Jose, CA
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Oct 31, 2011, 03:44 PM
 
Originally Posted by Big Mac View Post
Whenever I've had a problem like that it's due to the router.
+1

What's your router? Have you tried restarting it or resetting it?

Yes, you'd think it would affect all the machines that connect to it, but you never know.

Steve
Celebrating 10 years and 4000 posts on MacNN!
     
Big Mac
Clinically Insane
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Los Angeles
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Oct 31, 2011, 05:14 PM
 
I've had router issues in which four devices on the network are fine, but a fifth (say, a MBP) has an unreliable connection. Replacing the router has fixed the issue.

"The natural progress of things is for liberty to yield and government to gain ground." TJ
     
shifuimam  (op)
Addicted to MacNN
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: The deep backwoods of Idaho
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Nov 2, 2011, 07:35 PM
 
This is a brand new router...

Is there a setting or something I should be looking for?
Sell or send me your vintage Mac things if you don't want them.
     
Waragainstsleep
Posting Junkie
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: UK
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Nov 2, 2011, 09:21 PM
 
Have you tried changing the name of your wireless network (SSID)? This trick usually works.
I have plenty of more important things to do, if only I could bring myself to do them....
     
   
Thread Tools
 
Forum Links
Forum Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts
BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Top
Privacy Policy
All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:54 PM.
All contents of these forums © 1995-2017 MacNN. All rights reserved.
Branding + Design: www.gesamtbild.com
vBulletin v.3.8.8 © 2000-2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.,