Welcome to the MacNN Forums.

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

You are here: MacNN Forums > Hardware - Troubleshooting and Discussion > Consumer Hardware & Components > Elgato eyeTV 2.3.3 bugs & requested features

Elgato eyeTV 2.3.3 bugs & requested features
Since EBCDIC
Grizzled Veteran
Jan 30, 2007, 06:11 PM

At Macworld Expo SF I picked up the Elgato eyeTV hybrid. It works wonderfully with my Al G4 PowerBook. There are some irritating bugs and ommissions, however, which surprise me in such a mature software product. (I have many years experience in software quality assurance and user interface testing.)

1. The TV window doesn't remember its location and size. I keep it half-size at the upper right of my screen, and it keeps crawling three or so pixels over. When I restart the app it forgets that both. Grrr.

2. The Program Guide forces one to scroll through all the channels. I can't believe that there hasn't been an outcry to be able to create a new "playlist" so I can drag over the few channels I peruse. My wife's list would also be a few, but pretty much exclusive list :-)

3. The playlists allow us to group recordings, which I find not very useful. Besides the previous requests for playlists of channels, I'd also want playlists of searches. How about letting me see all occurrences of "X Files" and "24" that occur in the next week (or whatever the range is in the guide).

4. Hey, while we're adding useful functionality, how about you let me specify that I want to record every occurrence of "Are You Being Served?" on an on-going basis? (Please let me specify "smart" booleans, like ( name is "24" ) or ((name contains "being served") AND (channel is "9 PBS")).