Welcome to the MacNN Forums.

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

You are here: MacNN Forums > Software - Troubleshooting and Discussion > macOS > How do I get my IP?

How do I get my IP?
Thread Tools
coopns
Forum Regular
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Far From Nova Scotia
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Nov 9, 2005, 12:16 PM
 
New to a mac...How do I get my IP? I was trying to setup chicken of the sea.
Coop
     
Stradlater
Professional Poster
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Off the Tobakoff
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Nov 9, 2005, 12:17 PM
 
http://www.whatismyip.com/

(There are ways to see your IP from System Preferences, too, but if you're behind a router, it'll be your router IP.)
"You rise," he said, "like Aurora."
     
CharlesS
Posting Junkie
Join Date: Dec 2000
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Nov 9, 2005, 12:22 PM
 
Many ways:

1. Go to the Apple menu -> About This Mac, click More Info, click Network, then click Built-In Ethernet or AirPort at the top (depending on which you're using).

2. System Preferences -> Network will show the IP address.

3. In the Terminal, typing either "ifconfig -a -u" or "system_profiler SPNetworkDataType" (without the quotes in each case) will show a bunch of information, including your IP address.

4. Typing "IP Address" into Google generally turns up a lot of sites that will show you what your IP address is just by visiting them. This one can be handy if you're behind a router or something that will have its own IP address separate from the one your Mac is displaying.

HTH.

edit: beaten by Stradlater. Oh well, my post is still more complete.

Ticking sound coming from a .pkg package? Don't let the .bom go off! Inspect it first with Pacifist. Macworld - five mice!
     
coopns  (op)
Forum Regular
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Far From Nova Scotia
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Nov 9, 2005, 12:34 PM
 
I am in a school so I am behind a router/firewall...System Pref...I get 10.20. whatever.

At http://www.whatismyip.com/ that is my ip eh? 24.62.23.xx
Coop
     
CharlesS
Posting Junkie
Join Date: Dec 2000
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Nov 9, 2005, 12:36 PM
 
Originally Posted by coopns
I am in a school so I am behind a router/firewall...System Pref...I get 10.20. whatever.

At http://www.whatismyip.com/ that is my ip eh? 24.62.23.xx
That's your router's IP. Which effectively would be the IP you'd need to use to connect to your machine.

Of course, if the router isn't set up to forward the port that VNC will use to your computer, it won't work. If you don't own the router, this is a problem...

Ticking sound coming from a .pkg package? Don't let the .bom go off! Inspect it first with Pacifist. Macworld - five mice!
     
coopns  (op)
Forum Regular
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Far From Nova Scotia
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Nov 9, 2005, 12:48 PM
 
So if I am in school behind the router would I be able to connect to my brother's machine? I can't get access to the router.

Thanks.
Coop
     
CharlesS
Posting Junkie
Join Date: Dec 2000
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Nov 9, 2005, 01:01 PM
 
If you're behind a router, you can still connect to other machines, just they can't connect to yours. So as long as your brother isn't also behind a router that he doesn't have access to, then you should be able to connect to him fine.

Of course, if he is behind a router that he owns, then he has full access to the settings and can easily set it up to forward the ports to his machine.

Ticking sound coming from a .pkg package? Don't let the .bom go off! Inspect it first with Pacifist. Macworld - five mice!
     
CharlesS
Posting Junkie
Join Date: Dec 2000
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Nov 9, 2005, 01:03 PM
 
edit: didn't this forum automatically detect and stop duplicate posts at one point?
     
coopns  (op)
Forum Regular
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Far From Nova Scotia
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Nov 9, 2005, 01:09 PM
 
Good. He has DSL, not sure if he has a router or not. Again, I just wanted to connect to his.

Thanks for the great info.
Coop
     
tooki
Admin Emeritus
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: Zurich, Switzerland
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Nov 9, 2005, 02:24 PM
 
Originally Posted by coopns
New to a mac...How do I get my IP? I was trying to setup chicken of the sea.
You mean Chicken of the VNC? I didn't think that canned tuna needed an IP address to be eaten!

tooki
     
coopns  (op)
Forum Regular
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Far From Nova Scotia
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Nov 9, 2005, 02:52 PM
 
Whoops!
Coop
     
   
Thread Tools
 
Forum Links
Forum Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts
BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Top
Privacy Policy
All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:16 PM.
All contents of these forums © 1995-2017 MacNN. All rights reserved.
Branding + Design: www.gesamtbild.com
vBulletin v.3.8.8 © 2000-2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.,