Welcome to the MacNN Forums.

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

You are here: MacNN Forums > Software - Troubleshooting and Discussion > macOS > emacs in its own window

emacs in its own window
bmedina
Mac Elite
May 29, 2002, 10:33 PM

Okay, I'm a newbie at X Windows, so bear with me.

I've installed XDarwin and am using OborOSX as a window manager (is that the correct terminology?). How do I get emacs to open up in it own X11 window? For example, if I type "emacs document" into Terminal.app, it doesn't open up a new window but displays the emacs output inside Terminal.app instead.

I can ssh -X into other machines and have it work (if I do it from within xterm), but not locally. I guess a related question is how to get remote forwarding working from within Terminal.app (instead of using xterm). Thanks in advance!

<small>[ 05-29-2002, 10:35 PM: Message edited by: bmedina ]</small>

kangoo_boo
Dedicated MacNNer
May 29, 2002, 10:41 PM

try xemacs =)
hotline://hl.chatonly.org
mp3://radio.chatonly.org

howardm4
Senior User
May 29, 2002, 11:11 PM

he's right.

The version of emacs supplied w/ OSX does NOT support X windows
(think about it, why would they?).

So, you do need XEmacs or figure out how to compile GNU Emacs for OSX.
Or get the emacs source ball from darwin.apple.com (or whatever) and
rebuild it w/ X support

rw
Mac Enthusiast
May 30, 2002, 12:12 AM

I'm even more a newbie than bmedina, so please bear with me, too.