Welcome to the MacNN Forums.

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

You are here: MacNN Forums > Software - Troubleshooting and Discussion > macOS > Mac OS X 10.3 (Codenamed: Panther) Build 7B85

Mac OS X 10.3 (Codenamed: Panther) Build 7B85 (Page 5)
Thread Tools
MDD867
Fresh-Faced Recruit
Join Date: Mar 2003
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Oct 6, 2003, 07:55 AM
 
Photoshop EPS files with a clipping path are broken in 7B85, has anyboy else noticed this?

I Installed 7B85 using erase and install, then Installed PS 7.0.1 and FH MX 11.0.1 and Indesign 2.0.2.

Neither of the above can import Photoshop EPS files with a clipping path created in 7B85. Result: Program crash or a "blank" placed image.

Don't know if this is Adobe's or Apple's problem, but it's serious anyway...
     
bracken
Dedicated MacNNer
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Santa Barbara
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Oct 6, 2003, 08:16 AM
 
Anyone else notice this in 7B85?

If you engage Expose quickly after choosing a different pane in System Preferences (for example), then highlight the System Preferences window, the "highlight" is the size of the old pane.
     
gorickey
Posting Junkie
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Retired.
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Oct 6, 2003, 08:27 AM
 
Originally posted by bracken:
Anyone else notice this in 7B85?

If you engage Expose quickly after choosing a different pane in System Preferences (for example), then highlight the System Preferences window, the "highlight" is the size of the old pane.
Too much time on your hands?



....by the way, this makes perfect sense if you ask me because the Exposé highlight is going to be derived from the last current window state before you engage Exposé...
     
piracy
Mac Elite
Join Date: Mar 2001
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Oct 6, 2003, 08:51 AM
 
Originally posted by Robo-X:
7B85 gives a garbled screen on a Lombard when using both RAM slots. It has exactly the same problem as the pulled 10.2.8 update had. IMO the 7B85 is not GM and there is still no word from Apple that 10.3 has gone gold.

//Rob
The initial release of Mac OS X 10.3 is complete, and golden master.

The build is 7B85, which is what will be in the retail boxes.

I'm sorry that Apple hasn't knocked on your door with a f*cking fruit basket to inform you of this.
     
piracy
Mac Elite
Join Date: Mar 2001
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Oct 6, 2003, 08:54 AM
 
Originally posted by Spliff:
why does my Firewire HD have an eject symbol next to it in the Sidebar?
All media that can be unmounted has an eject symbol next to it. This goes for network volumes as well.
     
Robo-X
Forum Regular
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Germany
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Oct 6, 2003, 08:59 AM
 
Originally posted by piracy:
The initial release of Mac OS X 10.3 is complete, and golden master.

The build is 7B85, which is what will be in the retail boxes.

I'm sorry that Apple hasn't knocked on your door with a f*cking fruit basket to inform you of this.
Says who? When Jaguar went gold there was a notice on Apples site. If b85 is indeed GM then Apple better prepare for a rough ride.

//Rob
     
piracy
Mac Elite
Join Date: Mar 2001
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Oct 6, 2003, 09:03 AM
 
Originally posted by Robo-X:
Says who? When Jaguar went gold there was a notice on Apples site. If b85 is indeed GM then Apple better prepare for a rough ride.

//Rob
And there was no notice for Mac OS X 10.0 or 10.1.

Ahh, Deja vu: "If <4K78/5G64/6C115> is indeed GM then Apple better prepare for a rough ride..."
     
Gee4orce
Professional Poster
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Staffs, UK
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Oct 6, 2003, 09:26 AM
 
Does anyone else have a problem with the Help Viewer application ? It refuses toload for me - at all.
     
gorickey
Posting Junkie
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Retired.
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Oct 6, 2003, 09:27 AM
 
Originally posted by Gee4orce:
Does anyone else have a problem with the Help Viewer application ? It refuses toload for me - at all.
Sorry, works great here....
     
Agasthya
Professional Poster
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Seattle, WA
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Oct 6, 2003, 09:52 AM
 
Originally posted by gorickey:
Sorry, works great here....
Help viewer is by far the most improved application in panther. It no longer takes 4 years to open.
     
ZildjianKX
Fresh-Faced Recruit
Join Date: Jul 2003
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Oct 6, 2003, 10:18 AM
 
Just to warn you guys, classic support seems to be somewhat messed up. Some of my classic games that worked in Jaguar no longer work in Panther, like Abuse.
     
besson3c
Clinically Insane
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: yes
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Oct 6, 2003, 10:22 AM
 
Originally posted by ZildjianKX:
Just to warn you guys, classic support seems to be somewhat messed up. Some of my classic games that worked in Jaguar no longer work in Panther, like Abuse.
Classic......Abuse...... hmmmm, this sounds like a joke in the making. Somebody have a punch line here?
     
+ spiral +
Dedicated MacNNer
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Xanadu Roller Palace, Chicago
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Oct 6, 2003, 10:30 AM
 
Originally posted by SMacTech:
I have a Geforce4 MX in my MDD 867 and have no problems at all. Looks great on my new 20" Cinema Display
As seen in this thread ... sawtooth motherboard.
     
gorickey
Posting Junkie
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Retired.
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Oct 6, 2003, 11:14 AM
 
Originally posted by Agasthya:
Help viewer is by far the most improved application in panther. It no longer takes 4 years to open.
I don't know, ASP (Apple System Profiler) is a hell-u-va lot faster too...
     
Jim Paradise
Mac Elite
Join Date: Oct 2000
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Oct 6, 2003, 11:25 AM
 
Originally posted by besson3c:
Classic......Abuse...... hmmmm, this sounds like a joke in the making. Somebody have a punch line here?
A donkey punch perhaps?

*drum splash*
     
Zimphire
Baninated
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: The Moon
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Oct 6, 2003, 12:07 PM
 
Originally posted by Vader’s Pinch of Death:
Perhaps you are being punished for stealing?
     
addiecool
Dedicated MacNNer
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Front of my Intel iMac 20"
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Oct 6, 2003, 01:05 PM
 
Can anyone post screenshots for me on their web space. I have shots of new icons in Print Center and new behaviour.

Thanks
iMac Intel Core Duo 2.0 Ghz 20", 1.5 GB RAM, 250GB
iMac G5 2.0 Ghz 17", 512 MB RAM, 160GB
iPod Video 5G 60GB White
Mighty Mouse sucks - "Bought the Logitech 518 Gaming mouse"
USB 2.0 Hard Drive Sucked - "Bought a Firewire Hard Disk"
     
Busemann
Mac Elite
Join Date: Feb 2003
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Oct 6, 2003, 02:41 PM
 
It seems they have removed the Epson Stylus 2000P drivers that were included in Jaguar. Is it possible to just move the plugin from 10.2 to Panther, as its not on Epson's web-page either?
     
Agasthya
Professional Poster
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Seattle, WA
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Oct 6, 2003, 03:06 PM
 
Originally posted by gorickey:
I don't know, ASP (Apple System Profiler) is a hell-u-va lot faster too...
Good point. You probably win because ASP is infinitely more useful than Help Viewer.
     
keston
Mac Enthusiast
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Toronto, Canada.
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Oct 6, 2003, 04:03 PM
 
I think Abuse is free or something now. There are also carbon/cocoa ports for the Abuse app now I think that uses your original data files. Don't ask me where, i just heard. Search google.

Originally posted by ZildjianKX:
Just to warn you guys, classic support seems to be somewhat messed up. Some of my classic games that worked in Jaguar no longer work in Panther, like Abuse.
     
Link
Professional Poster
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Hyrule
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Oct 6, 2003, 04:19 PM
 
This just in!!

According to my junk mail folder OS 10.3 7B85 makes you shed pounds!

It also makes your sex life better and makes you look younger too!!!

Best of all, it's JUST 5 payments of $29.95 if you ORDER NOW!
Aloha
     
Landos Mustache
Professional Poster
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Partying down with the Ewoks, after I nuked the Death Star!
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Oct 6, 2003, 04:29 PM
 
Originally posted by Zimphire:
What does a gay cruise have anything to do with you stealing OSX 10.3?

I wouuld like to go on a cruise though if you are inviting me.

"Hello, what have we here?
     
tRr
Dedicated MacNNer
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Toronto
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Oct 6, 2003, 05:14 PM
 
Originally posted by Busemann:
It seems they have removed the Epson Stylus 2000P drivers that were included in Jaguar. Is it possible to just move the plugin from 10.2 to Panther, as its not on Epson's web-page either?
They have been moved to the 3rd disc under "EPSON Printer Drivers 2"
     
dreamBweaver
Forum Regular
Join Date: Feb 2003
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Oct 6, 2003, 05:25 PM
 
7b85 is the first Panther build I've tried. Does anyone know why there's no longer an option in the desktop's "Show View Options" (Command + J) that lets your hide icons for mounted drives, etc.
Looking forward.
     
lookmark
Mac Elite
Join Date: May 2001
Location: NYC
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Oct 6, 2003, 05:26 PM
 
Originally posted by dreamBweaver:
7b85 is the first Panther build I've tried. Does anyone know why there's no longer an option in the desktop's "Show View Options" (Command + J) that lets your hide icons for mounted drives, etc.
Those options have always been in Finder Preferences.
     
ZildjianKX
Fresh-Faced Recruit
Join Date: Jul 2003
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Oct 6, 2003, 05:34 PM
 
Originally posted by keston:
I think Abuse is free or something now. There are also carbon/cocoa ports for the Abuse app now I think that uses your original data files. Don't ask me where, i just heard. Search google.
Wow, there is a carbon version, thanks!

Some classic stuff is still messed up though, just so you guys know.
     
Zimphire
Baninated
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: The Moon
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Oct 6, 2003, 06:01 PM
 
Originally posted by Landos Mustache:
What does a gay cruise have anything to do with you stealing OSX 10.3?
What does me stealing 10.3 dev builds have anything to do with this thread?

     
bracken
Dedicated MacNNer
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Santa Barbara
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Oct 6, 2003, 06:55 PM
 
Originally posted by gorickey:
Too much time on your hands?
Still pissed from that Lounge argument 6 months ago? Good grief, what do you do, keep an enemies list under your box of tissues.

....by the way, this makes perfect sense if you ask me because the Exposé highlight is going to be derived from the last current window state before you engage Exposé...
Maybe you don't understand.

The mini window in Expose is a different size than the mouse-over highlight box. That's a bug.
     
dreamBweaver
Forum Regular
Join Date: Feb 2003
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Oct 6, 2003, 07:25 PM
 
Originally posted by lookmark:
Those options have always been in Finder Preferences.
That's how I originally set it up...oops! Thanks!
Looking forward.
     
pvb
Fresh-Faced Recruit
Join Date: Oct 2003
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Oct 6, 2003, 07:38 PM
 
Just where do you download the beta copy of Panther (7B85) anyway?
     
BurpetheadX
Dedicated MacNNer
Join Date: Jul 2002
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Oct 6, 2003, 07:44 PM
 
Originally posted by pvb:
Just where do you download the beta copy of Panther (7B85) anyway?
Can't Tell
     
Person Man
Professional Poster
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Northwest Ohio
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Oct 6, 2003, 07:58 PM
 
Originally posted by pvb:
Just where do you download the beta copy of Panther (7B85) anyway?
MacNN Terms of Service prohibits you from giving out information that blatantly promotes piracy.
     
besson3c
Clinically Insane
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: yes
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Oct 6, 2003, 08:08 PM
 
Originally posted by pvb:
Just where do you download the beta copy of Panther (7B85) anyway?
here
     
gorickey
Posting Junkie
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Retired.
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Oct 6, 2003, 08:17 PM
 
Originally posted by bracken:
Still pissed from that Lounge argument 6 months ago? Good grief, what do you do, keep an enemies list under your box of tissues.

Maybe you don't understand.

The mini window in Expose is a different size than the mouse-over highlight box. That's a bug.
bracken:

Whoa man, sorry if I insulted you...didn't mean anything by it. I not only do NOT remember anything from the Lounge 6 months ago; however, I do know I didn't understand the bug you mentioned is all....simmer....
     
Spheric Harlot
Clinically Insane
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: 888500128, C3, 2nd soft.
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Oct 6, 2003, 08:21 PM
 
Originally posted by Link:
It also makes your sex life better and makes you look younger too!!!
You selling yours, since neither of those applies to you?



-s*
     
Groovy
Mac Enthusiast
Join Date: Apr 2001
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Oct 7, 2003, 02:28 AM
 
Originally posted by Hash:


I wanna hear ANY proof that 85 is GM, plain and simple.

Think of the children
     
Groovy
Mac Enthusiast
Join Date: Apr 2001
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Oct 7, 2003, 02:30 AM
 
Originally posted by noxon:
Solution to eject key problem? Easy; get rid of USB Overdrive.
I have USB overdrive and the eject key works fine.
     
Groovy
Mac Enthusiast
Join Date: Apr 2001
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Oct 7, 2003, 02:32 AM
 
Originally posted by piracy:
7B85 is GM because work is complete on the intial release of Mac OS X 10.3. Build 7B85 has been declared golden master. That is a fact. (Not being able to prove something does not change the fact, e.g., the earth being round.)

The Earth is NOT round. Actually it is shaped like an Apple.
     
alphasubzero949
Mac Elite
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: 127.0.0.1
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Oct 7, 2003, 04:46 AM
 
Originally posted by besson3c:
here
Old, but still teh funney™
     
diamondsw
Senior User
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Woodridge, IL
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Oct 7, 2003, 10:24 AM
 
Originally posted by pvb:
Just where do you download the beta copy of Panther (7B85) anyway?
*smack*

     
Diggory Laycock
Professional Poster
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: London
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Oct 7, 2003, 05:14 PM
 
Has anyone else been seeing this bug?

You know it makes sense. ☼ ☼ ☼ Growl.
     
Anand
Mac Enthusiast
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Between heaven and hell
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Oct 7, 2003, 05:17 PM
 
Originally posted by Diggory Laycock:
Has anyone else been seeing this bug?

Yes. Bad install. Re-install or create another user. Both work.
Yes, I know I could buy a PC, but why?
     
Disgruntled Head of C-3PO
Professional Poster
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: In bits and pieces on Cloud City
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Oct 7, 2003, 05:23 PM
 
Originally posted by Zimphire:
What does me stealing 10.3 dev builds have anything to do with this thread?

Much more to do with anything gay wouldn't you say?
"Curse my metal body, I wasn't fast enough!"
     
Diggory Laycock
Professional Poster
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: London
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Oct 7, 2003, 06:35 PM
 
Another thing I noticed is that the Finder doesn't seem to handle transparency in GIFs when they are used as background images for directories:

<the black should be white (as it was under Jaguar)>

You know it makes sense. ☼ ☼ ☼ Growl.
     
- - e r i k - -
Posting Junkie
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Oct 8, 2003, 05:08 AM
 
Originally posted by Diggory Laycock:
Another thing I noticed is that the Finder doesn't seem to handle transparency in GIFs when they are used as background images for directories:

<the black should be white (as it was under Jaguar)>

Why didn't you just use a PNG?

[ fb ] [ flickr ] [♬] [scl] [ last ] [ plaxo ]
     
shortcipher
Dedicated MacNNer
Join Date: Feb 2001
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Oct 8, 2003, 05:11 AM
 
Originally posted by Spliff:

Finally, why does my Firewire HD have an eject symbol next to it in the Sidebar? [/B]
Because you can disconnect a Firewire hard drive from your computer without switching the computer off, but first you have to "eject" it to prevent the finder from freaking out when you pull the cable out, just like an iPod.
     
dillerX
Professional Poster
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Pit Slab #35
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Oct 8, 2003, 05:11 AM
 
Originally posted by - - e r i k - -:
Why didn't you just use a PNG?
That would be too easy.

DUH!
I tried to sig-spam the forums.
ADVANTAGE Motorsports Marketing, Inc. • speedXdesign, Inc.
     
Diggory Laycock
Professional Poster
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: London
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Oct 8, 2003, 05:23 AM
 
Originally posted by - - e r i k - -:
Why didn't you just use a PNG?
I probably will now - transparent GIFs were accepted in 10.2 - and that's what I used to use (old Web habits.)

Just noting an inconsistent behaviour.
You know it makes sense. ☼ ☼ ☼ Growl.
     
Eug
Clinically Insane
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Caught in a web of deceit.
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Oct 8, 2003, 10:05 AM
 
Is there an auto-pseudo-logout feature a la XP? ie. Is there a feature in Panther than automatically takes you to the login screen after a period of inactivity (leaving every program still running)?

This is one part of fast user switching in XP which I find very useful.

(Sorry if it's already mentioned in this thread, but I didn't want to sift through hundreds of messages.)
     
diamondsw
Senior User
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Woodridge, IL
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Oct 8, 2003, 10:35 AM
 
Originally posted by Eug:
Is there an auto-pseudo-logout feature a la XP? ie. Is there a feature in Panther than automatically takes you to the login screen after a period of inactivity (leaving every program still running)?

This is one part of fast user switching in XP which I find very useful.

(Sorry if it's already mentioned in this thread, but I didn't want to sift through hundreds of messages.)
Yes.
     
 
Thread Tools
 
Forum Links
Forum Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts
BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Top
Privacy Policy
All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:17 AM.
All contents of these forums © 1995-2017 MacNN. All rights reserved.
Branding + Design: www.gesamtbild.com
vBulletin v.3.8.8 © 2000-2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.,