Welcome to the MacNN Forums.

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

You are here: MacNN Forums > Community > Team MacNN > Setting up for dual processors

Setting up for dual processors
Thread Tools
nobitacu
Mac Elite
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: United States
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Oct 27, 2004, 10:01 PM
 
Ok, I have a dual 2.5 going here, so I would like to try having each cpu running its own WU, so how would I do this? Will I be running 2 [email protected] console programs one for each WU? or just one? Or is it one will be running in graphic mode, and other in console mode? This is kind of confusing...

Thanks,

Ming
A Proud Mac User Since: 03/24/03
Apple Computer: MacBook 2.0GHz Intel Core 2 Duo, 3 GB Memory, 120 GB HD
     
DrBoar
Senior User
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Stockholm Sweden
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Oct 28, 2004, 10:50 AM
 
To ba able to run two clients you have to have the preference files stored at two different places. I assumet that it works with one standard client GUI or CLI and then have a CLI with local preferences.


The way most people do this is with two CLI client:
copy the fah5 file to two different folders
open the terminal and type "cd " note the space after the cd
then drop the first folder onto the terminal and do a return
the terminal now have the full path to that folder
then type "./fah5 -local"

With the -local argument everything is stored in the folder with the application so this can be done with any number of folders and clients

Dual 2.5, you will overtake me I think
     
nobitacu  (op)
Mac Elite
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: United States
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Oct 28, 2004, 02:47 PM
 
Well, I did what you said, but at the type "./fah5 - local" part, it keeps on telling me No such file or directory. the fah5 file is in the folder... and typing ./fah5 -local gives me that deal...

help please...

Thanks,

Ming
A Proud Mac User Since: 03/24/03
Apple Computer: MacBook 2.0GHz Intel Core 2 Duo, 3 GB Memory, 120 GB HD
     
nobitacu  (op)
Mac Elite
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: United States
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Oct 28, 2004, 02:54 PM
 
Nevermind... I got it. Thanks for the help.

Ming
( Last edited by nobitacu; Oct 28, 2004 at 03:00 PM. )
A Proud Mac User Since: 03/24/03
Apple Computer: MacBook 2.0GHz Intel Core 2 Duo, 3 GB Memory, 120 GB HD
     
nobitacu  (op)
Mac Elite
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: United States
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Oct 28, 2004, 04:19 PM
 
New questions...

If I were to fun 2 clients at a time, it'll put my cpu useage for both cpus to 100%, will that slow down my computer a lot when I'm working on other things or playing a game?

Thanks,

Ming
A Proud Mac User Since: 03/24/03
Apple Computer: MacBook 2.0GHz Intel Core 2 Duo, 3 GB Memory, 120 GB HD
     
mikkyo
Senior User
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Silly Valley, Ca
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Oct 28, 2004, 07:19 PM
 
yes.
You should turn off distributed computing client when playing games unless you like stutter. Just like you shouldn't burn dvds which playing games.
     
   
Thread Tools
 
Forum Links
Forum Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts
BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Top
Privacy Policy
All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:44 AM.
All contents of these forums © 1995-2017 MacNN. All rights reserved.
Branding + Design: www.gesamtbild.com
vBulletin v.3.8.8 © 2000-2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.,