Welcome to the MacNN Forums.

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

You are here: MacNN Forums > Software - Troubleshooting and Discussion > Developer Center > Script to allow FTP login through our site

Script to allow FTP login through our site
Thread Tools
JB72
Mac Elite
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: L.A., CA
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jan 25, 2005, 09:21 PM
 
OK, I'm a total HTML newebie. It's not something I regularey do at all. However, I have been asked to add add a password protected login to our page, that leads to our FTP site. Basically, clients need to be able to log in to see videos of their show, and be able to upload things too.

So far I have found this javascript, which actually worked. The problem is that it asks for the FTP site, which is annoying. I need it to automagically point to our FTP site. So I went about altering the script in every logical way to do so, with no luck.

So now I need some advice. Are there any other easy peices of code available to do what I need to do? What's the best way to go about this?

Thanks much.
     
Chuckit
Clinically Insane
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: San Diego, CA, USA
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jan 25, 2005, 09:29 PM
 
Wouldn't it work to just change the server definition to
Code:
var server = ftp.mysite.com
and take the "and FTP server's address" out of the alert?

And of course take the "Server:" entry out of the table.
Chuck
___
"Instead of either 'multi-talented' or 'multitalented' use 'bisexual'."
     
JB72  (op)
Mac Elite
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: L.A., CA
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jan 25, 2005, 10:51 PM
 
Originally posted by Chuckit:
Wouldn't it work to just change the server definition to
Code:
var server = ftp.mysite.com
and take the "and FTP server's address" out of the alert?

And of course take the "Server:" entry out of the table.
One would think that's all it would take. I switched the variables. I tried it a ton of different ways, and none would work. It seemed like even the most benign substitute I made broke the script. I might just give it a shot again and see if I wasn't just overlooking something. It was late when I was trying all this.

Thanks for the response though.
     
JB72  (op)
Mac Elite
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: L.A., CA
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jan 27, 2005, 08:30 PM
 
Originally posted by Chuckit:
Wouldn't it work to just change the server definition to
Code:
var server = ftp.mysite.com
and take the "and FTP server's address" out of the alert?

And of course take the "Server:" entry out of the table.
Arggg. Actually, you are right. Doing it just like that did the trick. Man I am definatley no programmer. But I'm happy to get it working.

The problem now is that hitting return blanks the entry fields, instead of activating the script. So you have to click the button. Anyone have thoughts on why it would do that?

TIA.
     
   
 
Forum Links
Forum Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts
BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Top
Privacy Policy
All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:21 PM.
All contents of these forums © 1995-2017 MacNN. All rights reserved.
Branding + Design: www.gesamtbild.com
vBulletin v.3.8.8 © 2000-2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.,