Welcome to the MacNN Forums.

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

You are here: MacNN Forums > Hardware - Troubleshooting and Discussion > Consumer Hardware & Components > IPOD - switch between pc and mac

IPOD - switch between pc and mac
Thread Tools
DakRT
Fresh-Faced Recruit
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Nashville, TN
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Apr 24, 2003, 10:09 AM
 
I was reading on apples site that you can't use the ipod on both pc and mac. I have a pc at work and would like to have the ability to transfer files to my mac at home. Maybe the new Ipod's will allow this feature? Anyone use a archos? I heard you can transfer files on/from the archos on both mac and pc...
DakRT
     
AssassyN
Professional Poster
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: WV, USA
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Apr 24, 2003, 12:16 PM
 
On the current iPods, and with the current iTunes, you cannot use the same iPod to tranfer files from a PC and a Mac. It's difficult in itself to make an iPod to work on 2 different Macs as it's really designed to get mp3s from the same Mac everytime.

You can format your iPod to work with either a PC or a Mac, but not both machines.

The new ones may change that, however.
5G 60GB video iPod
512MB iPod Shuffle
Westone UM1 Canalphones
     
hui
Junior Member
Join Date: Dec 2002
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Apr 24, 2003, 01:10 PM
 
If you own an iPod with PCs but then you move to macs, how would you reformat the iPod to be a mac one? If I'm right, the firewire connection for a PC is very much different in size to a firewire port on a Mac. Or is it just a simple matter of buying a firewire cable for mac and plugging it into your ipod?
     
audvidsvs
Dedicated MacNNer
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Missouri
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Apr 24, 2003, 05:06 PM
 
I know you can use X-Play from Mediafour to run a Mac Ipod on a windows machine.
This is how we PC guys did it before switching/Mixing. It was also the option before Apple releaed the Windows Ipods.
I imagine this would work.

Good Luck
Ed
     
DakRT  (op)
Fresh-Faced Recruit
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Nashville, TN
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Apr 24, 2003, 11:23 PM
 
Thanks audvidsvs... I went to Mediafours site to get more info on x-play.. that's exactly what I need. Thanks!


Originally posted by audvidsvs:
I know you can use X-Play from Mediafour to run a Mac Ipod on a windows machine.
This is how we PC guys did it before switching/Mixing. It was also the option before Apple releaed the Windows Ipods.
I imagine this would work.

Good Luck
Ed
DakRT
     
   
Thread Tools
 
Forum Links
Forum Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts
BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Top
Privacy Policy
All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:05 PM.
All contents of these forums © 1995-2017 MacNN. All rights reserved.
Branding + Design: www.gesamtbild.com
vBulletin v.3.8.8 © 2000-2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.,