Welcome to the MacNN Forums.

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

You are here: MacNN Forums > Hardware - Troubleshooting and Discussion > Mac Desktops > How fast is your Mac workstation configuration? Photoshop Speed Test

How fast is your Mac workstation configuration? Photoshop Speed Test (Page 6)
Thread Tools
ninahagen  (op)
Mac Enthusiast
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Kyoto, Japan
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Nov 6, 2007, 02:59 AM
 
Originally Posted by dankar View Post
MacPro with OSX 10.5

4 cores 3ghz, 8gb ram, XT1900
History State: 1
Cache: 4
Time: 28 secs
Hi Dankar, great to have you back! True to your word, you posted the Leopard results... thanks...

A few questions:

— Could you do it again with the Cache set to minimum and on restart? 28 seconds is about the same as you got way back on you first big speed bump.

— I have to believe all that juice you gave your machine has to have an effect, if not on the test by itself, then certainly with the various levels of challenge you gave it? I posted those again below, so you don't have to dig back to find them. Could you redo these as well, with exactly the same apps open and/or running work? I bet you will see your sweetheart stand stronger under the weight.

— Way back then you said you were planning to upgrade to 8GB RAM, and I see that is in place. What about building a scratch drive array (2~4 Raptors) with a RAID card?

Best,

nina (galaxina)
( Last edited by ninahagen; Nov 6, 2007 at 06:16 AM. )
     
ninahagen  (op)
Mac Enthusiast
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Kyoto, Japan
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Nov 6, 2007, 06:25 AM
 
Originally Posted by dankar View Post
1—Running CS3 PS, AI, ID, LR, FH MX, DW, FL, Nikon NX and Safari. 35.1 sec

2—100% memory, 30 history states and all programs running. 1:17.3 sec

3—5713 for geekbench, the results posted on their website.

4—1 Memory State, 0 Apps, 4GB: 27.5 sec 8GB: 27.8 sec

5—1 Memory State, Apps CS3 PS, AI, ID, LR, FH MX, DW, FL, Nikon NX and Safari, 4GB: 35.1 sec 8GB: 29.5 sec

6—30 Memory State, Apps CS3 PS, AI, ID, LR, FH MX, DW, FL, Nikon NX and Safari, 4GB: 1:17.3 sec 8GB: 1:07 sec

7—30 Memory State, Apps CS3 PS, AI, ID, LR, FH MX, DW, FL, Nikon NX and Safari
Simultaneously with all these running
NX opening 7 x Nikon D2X raw (unopen size 22mb)
CS3 AI Converting 54.2mb CMYK file (artwork size 170x66cm) to 138.1mb CMYK 200dpi PSD
4GB: 5:36.6 sec 8GB: 1:33.7 sec

Another 4GB in the pipeline for me after my next purchase of a 30" screen to compliment my 23".
Also, did you end up getting the 30"?

Thanks for your great contriburions to the thread!
     
dankar
Junior Member
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Singapore
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Nov 6, 2007, 10:40 AM
 
Thanks. Waiting for and if the new apple monitor with iSight built-in does become available.

Holding all major purchases for now. Waiting for the new MacPro, will offload my old dual G5 2ghz, when Apple makes that available.

Will try to post similar test as per my last one with CS3, Tiger and 8GB. The results were based on re-start. Was disappointed with the initial runs, getting around 30-32 secs. After the sixth attempts, got the 28 sec. Was hoping 10.5 with it's better multi-threading would yield better results... wishful thinking on my part.
     
Daniel Bayer
Mac Enthusiast
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Here
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Nov 18, 2007, 04:05 AM
 
I just read this whole thread, did the test my self. I think what we are seeing here is more of a CPU clock speed limiting factor than a RAM or scratch disk factor. If CS3 could address more ram, say up to 8GB, this would definitely change, but for now, CPU is what is holding it back from breaking the sub-25 second mark.

Mac Pro
2 x 2.66 Dual Core
16GB RAM (8 x 2GB)
X1900XT
RAPTOR 150GB 10K HD SYSTEM DISK
RAPTOR 150GB 10K HD SCRATCH
2 x 1TB WD DATA DRIVES
OS 10.5.1
PHOTOSHOP CS3.1

29 seconds fastest time with complete re-start, 1/4 history and cache, 100% RAM. Average time was 30-31 seconds.

Bring on CS3.2 and 4 GHZ!
"I'll take a extra layer of ram on that
gigaflop sandwich mister"
     
Samanoske
Dedicated MacNNer
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: The Moon
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Nov 22, 2007, 06:57 PM
 
Originally Posted by ninahagen View Post
Hi Samonosuke,
You are using 2 x 250GB HDs as a scratch volume, but hardware or software RAID?
What do you mean by "(not that it'll be used)?" Have you not activated the scratch volume yet?
What HD are you using for files, system & applications?
Did you set up the test right in terms of RAM, memory states and test on restart?
The reason I ask, is that you are at least 5 seconds slower than you could be (maybe more with the RAID0 scratch), and I wonder why.
Nina
Hi Nina,

I did activate the scratch volume, but it didn't seem to be touched during the test. File and system Files are on the same volume on a Raid 0 - striped Version. I think I set everything right
.- OS X aDDICTED -.
     
stephensilva
Fresh-Faced Recruit
Join Date: Aug 2007
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Nov 29, 2007, 11:20 AM
 
MacBook Pro
2.2 Ghz Intel Core 2 Duo Santa Rosa
2 GB RAM
NVidia GeForce 8600 GT 128mb
160 GB 5400rpm
Mac OS X 10.5 Leopard

Photoshop CS3 Version 10.0
Right after a restart: 50.65 seconds...will be upgrading to 4 GB of RAM this christmas so I"ll post again my improvements.
     
ninahagen  (op)
Mac Enthusiast
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Kyoto, Japan
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Nov 29, 2007, 11:52 AM
 
Originally Posted by stephensilva View Post
MacBook Pro
2.2 Ghz Intel Core 2 Duo Santa Rosa
2 GB RAM
NVidia GeForce 8600 GT 128mb
160 GB 5400rpm
Mac OS X 10.5 Leopard

Photoshop CS3 Version 10.0
Right after a restart: 50.65 seconds...will be upgrading to 4 GB of RAM this christmas so I"ll post again my improvements.
Should improve by 10 seconds with the extra RAM, about 25% improvement. Please do let us know, and thanks for posting.
     
QuadG5Man
Mac Enthusiast
Join Date: Oct 2003
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Dec 7, 2007, 02:14 AM
 
49 secs

cs3 and 24' iMac 2.4GHz Core2Duo 4GB 320HDD
2002 Mac Mini i5 8GB 256GB SSD
2013 Macbook Air 4GB/128GB
iPad Mini A7 32GB
     
svtcontour
Forum Regular
Join Date: Jul 2005
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Dec 11, 2007, 04:16 AM
 
So on most machines, is CS3 faster?
( Last edited by svtcontour; Dec 14, 2007 at 11:20 PM. )
     
QuadG5Man
Mac Enthusiast
Join Date: Oct 2003
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Dec 16, 2007, 08:54 PM
 
84 sec
cs3 on a Macbook Core Duo 1.83 GHz/2GB/60gigHDD
2002 Mac Mini i5 8GB 256GB SSD
2013 Macbook Air 4GB/128GB
iPad Mini A7 32GB
     
ninahagen  (op)
Mac Enthusiast
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Kyoto, Japan
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Dec 16, 2007, 11:20 PM
 
Originally Posted by svtcontour View Post
So on most machines, is CS3 faster?
Generally, yes, as long as there is not a RAM bottleneck. Excepting light tasks, it is best to have 3GB dedicated RAM, that is memory you are not using. If you go through this thread, you will see folks with modern machines with plenty of RAM that saw a significant speed jump going from CS2 to CS3. There are also folks without enough RAM, who could not figure out why there modern machines were so slow. Extra RAM solved it. If you have more apps, especially hi-load ones like bit torrent, Illustrator, InDesign, etc, then, on heavier tasks you will need well beyond the 3GB that PS can address.
     
ninahagen  (op)
Mac Enthusiast
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Kyoto, Japan
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jan 14, 2008, 12:19 PM
 
Is anyone lucky enough to have their new Mac Pro already along with CS3?

Would so appreciate your results for this test!
     
Tesselator
Mac Enthusiast
Join Date: Jan 2008
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jan 14, 2008, 01:26 PM
 
Here's mine.

Mac Pro v1.1
2 x 2.66 Quad Core (X5355 - 8 Cores total)
4GB RAM (4 x 1GB)
NVidea 7300
MaxLineIII 1TB RAID0 SYSTEM DISK (used as PS scratch)
OS 10.5.1
PHOTOSHOP CS3.0 Extended (Ver 10.0)

27 seconds fastest time without restarting and lots of BG tasks running including Safari with 12
Tabs loaded and etc. etc., With 1 history, 4 cache, and 100% RAM the average time was 29sec.
over 6 tries.
( Last edited by Tesselator; Jan 14, 2008 at 01:35 PM. )
     
ninahagen  (op)
Mac Enthusiast
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Kyoto, Japan
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jan 14, 2008, 05:31 PM
 
Originally Posted by Tesselator View Post
Here's mine.

Mac Pro v1.1
2 x 2.66 Quad Core (X5355 - 8 Cores total)
4GB RAM (4 x 1GB)
NVidea 7300
MaxLineIII 1TB RAID0 SYSTEM DISK (used as PS scratch)
OS 10.5.1
PHOTOSHOP CS3.0 Extended (Ver 10.0)

27 seconds fastest time without restarting and lots of BG tasks running including Safari with 12
Tabs loaded and etc. etc., With 1 history, 4 cache, and 100% RAM the average time was 29sec.
over 6 tries.
Thanks, tessalator. I believe that was the fastest time so far for any 1st gen MP on this thread. It must be the RAID 0 scratch array. How many discs in that array?
     
cgc
Professional Poster
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Down by the river
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jan 14, 2008, 10:32 PM
 
Originally Posted by Tesselator View Post
Here's mine.

Mac Pro v1.1
2 x 2.66 Quad Core (X5355 - 8 Cores total)
4GB RAM (4 x 1GB)
NVidea 7300
MaxLineIII 1TB RAID0 SYSTEM DISK (used as PS scratch)
OS 10.5.1
PHOTOSHOP CS3.0 Extended (Ver 10.0)

27 seconds fastest time without restarting and lots of BG tasks running including Safari with 12
Tabs loaded and etc. etc., With 1 history, 4 cache, and 100% RAM the average time was 29sec.
over 6 tries.
You should run any benchmarks with no tasks running in the background. Otherwise, the results aren't as accurate...
     
Tesselator
Mac Enthusiast
Join Date: Jan 2008
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jan 15, 2008, 12:06 AM
 
Originally Posted by ninahagen View Post
Thanks, tessalator. I believe that was the fastest time so far for any 1st gen MP on this thread. It must be the RAID 0 scratch array. How many discs in that array?
On this MP, internally, I have 3 MaxLine 350Gig drives as a RAID0 - Boot and one 1TB drive as
a Back-up/Time Machine drive.


Originally Posted by cgc View Post
You should run any benchmarks with no tasks running in the background. Otherwise, the results aren't as accurate...
Probably true. But I'm too lazy and I figure that there's no way it could go faster by running the
test with all the BG tasks remaining. I mean by killing them it could only get better right? So I
offer my worst time. Besides by reading through the thread I assume it won't get too much
better anyway and I like real-world tests. "Real-world" for me is with the BG processes running.
( Last edited by Tesselator; Jan 18, 2008 at 04:40 AM. )
     
MallyMal
Grizzled Veteran
Join Date: Aug 2002
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jan 17, 2008, 08:03 PM
 
30 Seconds

Mac Pro Quad 2.8 GHz
2GB RAM
CS3
     
svtcontour
Forum Regular
Join Date: Jul 2005
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jan 23, 2008, 07:13 PM
 
28.5 seconds

I posted before when I had 4GB and wanted to see if anything changes. Not much since 4GB is already more than this test needs. Oh well

Q6600 2.4Ghz
8GB DDR2 at 533Mhz
Nvidia 8800GT 512MB
73GB 15K drive for boot and apps
36GB 15K drive for temp and swap
Vista64 with Photoshop CS2, History 1, Cache 4, scratch set to boot drive
     
ninahagen  (op)
Mac Enthusiast
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Kyoto, Japan
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jan 24, 2008, 10:38 AM
 
Originally Posted by svtcontour View Post
28.5 seconds

I posted before when I had 4GB and wanted to see if anything changes. Not much since 4GB is already more than this test needs. Oh well

Q6600 2.4Ghz
8GB DDR2 at 533Mhz
Nvidia 8800GT 512MB
73GB 15K drive for boot and apps
36GB 15K drive for temp and swap
Vista64 with Photoshop CS2, History 1, Cache 4, scratch set to boot drive
Yes, but I that speed figure has much more resilience when using multiple apps, multiple ops, huge files, bit torret etc.

Also, CS3 would speed you up lots.
     
ninahagen  (op)
Mac Enthusiast
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Kyoto, Japan
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Feb 13, 2008, 06:45 AM
 
Ahoy Mates!

Has anybody already gotten both their Mac Pro 2008 and Photoshop CS3? It would be great to see the times for this generation of Mac Pros. (unexpected pressure caused us to postpone our upgrade from the G5 Quad 2.5... should happen in the next little bit... meanwhile, would love to hear the results from a Mac Pro 2008 user).

Thanks,

nina
     
MallyMal
Grizzled Veteran
Join Date: Aug 2002
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Feb 13, 2008, 06:23 PM
 
Originally Posted by ninahagen View Post
Ahoy Mates!

Has anybody already gotten both their Mac Pro 2008 and Photoshop CS3? It would be great to see the times for this generation of Mac Pros. (unexpected pressure caused us to postpone our upgrade from the G5 Quad 2.5... should happen in the next little bit... meanwhile, would love to hear the results from a Mac Pro 2008 user).

Thanks,

nina
Originally Posted by MallyMal View Post
30 Seconds

Mac Pro Quad 2.8 GHz
2GB RAM
CS3
Maybe you meant 8 core?
     
ninahagen  (op)
Mac Enthusiast
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Kyoto, Japan
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Feb 14, 2008, 04:54 AM
 
Originally Posted by MallyMal View Post
Maybe you meant 8 core?
Thanks Mally Mal,

Yes, I did mean the new 8-cores.

Looks like you got a pretty good time on your machine. You would really benefit from 2GB more RAM.

Thanks for your results.

nina
( Last edited by ninahagen; Feb 23, 2008 at 02:16 AM. )
     
Foxdog175
Forum Regular
Join Date: Sep 2003
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Feb 22, 2008, 04:07 PM
 
23.5 seconds

Mac Pro 2 x 3.2 GHz (8 core)
4 GB RAM
Nvidia 8800GT 512MB
CS 3
Mac OS X (10.5.1)
     
ninahagen  (op)
Mac Enthusiast
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Kyoto, Japan
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Feb 23, 2008, 02:18 AM
 
Originally Posted by Foxdog175 View Post
23.5 seconds

Mac Pro 2 x 3.2 GHz (8 core)
4 GB RAM
Nvidia 8800GT 512MB
CS 3
Mac OS X (10.5.1)
That is a thing of beauty.

Thanks, Foxdog!

What is your hard drive configuration?
     
Foxdog175
Forum Regular
Join Date: Sep 2003
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Feb 23, 2008, 07:22 PM
 
Originally Posted by ninahagen View Post
That is a thing of beauty.

Thanks, Foxdog!

What is your hard drive configuration?
It's nothing special; no RAID. It's simply two 500g internals that come standard with the new mac pros.
     
aehaas
Dedicated MacNNer
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Osprey, Florida
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Feb 24, 2008, 11:36 AM
 
Mac Pro 2 x 3.0 GHz (8 core)
8 GB OEM Apple RAM
Nvidia 8800GT
CS 3
Mac OS X (10.5.2)
250 G 7,200 RPM dedicated scratch for PS drive (Its empty)

34 seconds

aehaas
MBP 3.06 8G RAM 500G HD, 8 core 3.0 8G RAM 8800GT all OEM Apple. Where to buy Polarion HID Searchlights
Home Inspection, whole house approach, Sarasota Home Inspections, we are your investigators.
     
grafphoto
Fresh-Faced Recruit
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: SE Michigan
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Feb 26, 2008, 08:40 PM
 
25 seconds

MacPro 2.8 GHz 8core (2008)
6 GB RAM (2 Apple OEM+4 GB OWC)
Nvidia 8800GT
CS 3
Mac OS X (10.5.2)
OS / Program drive: 500 GB WD stock
Scratch: 75 GB partition of Samsung 750GB F1
Fresh restart
     
ninahagen  (op)
Mac Enthusiast
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Kyoto, Japan
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Feb 27, 2008, 03:34 AM
 
Originally Posted by grafphoto View Post
25 seconds

MacPro 2.8 GHz 8core (2008)
6 GB RAM (2 Apple OEM+4 GB OWC)
Nvidia 8800GT
CS 3
Mac OS X (10.5.2)
OS / Program drive: 500 GB WD stock
Scratch: 75 GB partition of Samsung 750GB F1
Fresh restart
Thanks grafphoto...

I never thought of partitioning an HD to make a dedicated scratch drive. Though having one on a designated stripe of a RAID array has come up. I wonder which would be quicker.
     
grafphoto
Fresh-Faced Recruit
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: SE Michigan
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Feb 27, 2008, 09:42 AM
 
Originally Posted by ninahagen View Post
I never thought of partitioning an HD to make a dedicated scratch drive. Though having one on a designated stripe of a RAID array has come up. I wonder which would be quicker.
Not sure on that one Nina. I have always read that having the scratch just on a separate drive has some benefit, but not sure how that compares vs. RAID.

Mark
     
svtcontour
Forum Regular
Join Date: Jul 2005
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Feb 29, 2008, 01:54 AM
 
CS3 cut my time from 28.5 to 26.5 on my 4 core box. Nice! Too bad I dont like CS3. Heck I dont even use CS2 for myself - just did it for the test. I'm still using PS6
     
ninahagen  (op)
Mac Enthusiast
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Kyoto, Japan
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Mar 26, 2008, 06:51 AM
 
Does anyone have one of the latest notebooks (MB, MBP, or Air)?

I'd like to compare their PS speed test results with those from the 2008 Mac Pro.

Thanks,

Nina
     
SierraDragon
Mac Elite
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Truckee, CA
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Mar 28, 2008, 12:16 AM
 
Originally Posted by ninahagen View Post
I never thought of partitioning an HD to make a dedicated scratch drive. Though having one on a designated stripe of a RAID array has come up. I wonder which would be quicker.
Scratch ideally should be a physically separate drive from the OS/apps drive. A partition on the OS/apps drive does not provide significant benefit. However a 100-200 GB partition on a physically separate drive (or even better a RAID0 array), although not a huge benefit does make sense because the partition allows routine erasure/reformatting of the scratch partition, and allows an optimized scratch setup without dedicating an entire disk or array to scratch.

-Allen Wicks
     
Kodachrome_Project
Fresh-Faced Recruit
Join Date: Oct 2008
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Oct 20, 2008, 09:12 PM
 
41 seconds:

MacBook Pro 2.8 GHZ, Nvidia 9600M GT 512MB, 4 GB DDR3 / FSB 1066 Mhz / CS4 / Hitachi 320 GB / 7,200 RPM drive.
     
QuadG5Man
Mac Enthusiast
Join Date: Oct 2003
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Oct 21, 2008, 01:22 AM
 
Originally Posted by Kodachrome_Project View Post
41 seconds:

MacBook Pro 2.8 GHZ, Nvidia 9600M GT 512MB, 4 GB DDR3 / FSB 1066 Mhz / CS4 / Hitachi 320 GB / 7,200 RPM drive.
For those wondering if the 2.8 is worth it, maybe that will help. LOL.
2002 Mac Mini i5 8GB 256GB SSD
2013 Macbook Air 4GB/128GB
iPad Mini A7 32GB
     
jamil5454
Mac Elite
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Downtown Austin, TX
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Oct 21, 2008, 05:38 PM
 
43 seconds

MacBook Pro Late 2008. 2.53 Ghz, 4GB DDR3, 320GB 5400 rpm, running on integrated 9400M. CS4
     
paulmac
Fresh-Faced Recruit
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Oct 23, 2008, 12:12 AM
 
Anybody compared the two versions of PS against each other on the same machine?

jamil5454, can you try your test using CS3?
     
sneezymarble
Fresh-Faced Recruit
Join Date: Oct 2008
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Oct 31, 2008, 03:33 AM
 
Q6600 @ 3.6GHz
GA-P35-DS3L
8GB DDR2 800MHz
8800GTX 768MB
OSX Leopard 10.5.5
Total System Cost in December 2007 = $1300 (with overnight shipping)

Photoshop Speedtest:
CS3 = 21s
CS4 = 19s

Geekbench 2:
64bit = 8093
32bit = 7126

Xbench:
323 (no disk)
     
 
Thread Tools
 
Forum Links
Forum Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts
BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Top
Privacy Policy
All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:04 PM.
All contents of these forums © 1995-2017 MacNN. All rights reserved.
Branding + Design: www.gesamtbild.com
vBulletin v.3.8.8 © 2000-2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.,