Welcome to the MacNN Forums.

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

You are here: MacNN Forums > Hardware - Troubleshooting and Discussion > Mac Desktops > My PowerMac took a Power Dump!

My PowerMac took a Power Dump!
Thread Tools
xsphat
Forum Regular
Join Date: Jul 2006
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Nov 24, 2006, 11:45 AM
 
I have a blue and white tower with a G4 400 processor upgrade that my girlfriend was using. I moved it across the room and now it won't start up. The fan kicks on but no video is output and the power button turns it off instantly. Any clue what could cause this? Should I fix it or mod it into a mini-fridge? I have a MacBook now so I don't need the computer anymore.
     
Big Mac
Clinically Insane
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Los Angeles
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Nov 24, 2006, 11:46 AM
 
Try resetting the PMU?

"The natural progress of things is for liberty to yield and government to gain ground." TJ
     
Mister Elf
Mac Enthusiast
Join Date: Jan 2003
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Nov 24, 2006, 11:51 AM
 
I had the same problem with a Blue and White back in the day - the power supply is failing. If you can find one for cheap, go ahead, but a new one will run you as much as a new B&W.
Midshipman 3/C, USNR
     
xsphat  (op)
Forum Regular
Join Date: Jul 2006
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Nov 24, 2006, 11:53 AM
 
I don't know what a PMU is, sorry. Tell me what it is and where and I will try it.

But the min fridge idea would rock, wouldn't it?
     
imitchellg5
Posting Junkie
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Washington + Colorado
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Nov 24, 2006, 01:05 PM
 
Wierd. I tried to look up the PMU on Apple's website for a Blue and White G3, but I couldn't find anything. Google reveals nothing worthwhile either.
     
Mister Elf
Mac Enthusiast
Join Date: Jan 2003
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Nov 24, 2006, 01:45 PM
 
It's called the CUDA switch on the Blue and Whites - I forget the exact location, sorry...but I do remember that there are two switches on the motherboard, near the processor. One of those is the button you need.
Midshipman 3/C, USNR
     
tooki
Admin Emeritus
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: Zurich, Switzerland
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Nov 24, 2006, 05:04 PM
 
Sounds to me like it needs a new PRAM battery.

tooki
     
DarlersPT
Fresh-Faced Recruit
Join Date: Nov 2006
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Nov 24, 2006, 05:09 PM
 
I'm seeking for any info about XRUMER software.
Can you help me? Or give me a link to the official site with this sofware.

Thanks
     
xsphat  (op)
Forum Regular
Join Date: Jul 2006
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Nov 24, 2006, 06:28 PM
 
I might kep it and use the case for something. With the tower's age, I don't think it is worth putting a chit ton of money into it, but it does hold some sentimental value to me.
     
   
Thread Tools
 
Forum Links
Forum Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts
BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Top
Privacy Policy
All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:35 PM.
All contents of these forums © 1995-2017 MacNN. All rights reserved.
Branding + Design: www.gesamtbild.com
vBulletin v.3.8.8 © 2000-2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.,