Welcome to the MacNN Forums.

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

You are here: MacNN Forums > Community > MacNN Lounge > Guitar Question

Guitar Question
Teronzhul
Grizzled Veteran
Dec 9, 2003, 03:33 AM

I just started playing a bit and my fingers are still quite sore from practicing earlier. Anyway, I've wanted to learn to play for some time as I have several friends who do, and while I was visiting family I came across a guitar case. After some inquiries I found out it was my aunts guitar, and after asking she has let me take it home to play since she doesn't play it herself any more.

As with all things I know enthusiasts typically swear by one brand or another, and I honestly have no inkling of who makes a good guitar and who doesn't. The guitar I'm borrowing from her is a "Guild D25CH." It is a beautiful cherry red and the guitar sounds beautiful to me now that it is in tune. It is about 25 years old and in pretty good condition, although it has a few scratches here and there from use, and looks like it was dropped once.

Well, the basic question is this. If I get good enough and wish to purchase a guitar of my own, should I attempt to purchase this one from her, or look elsewhere.

Like I said, it sounds great to me, and on that merit alone I would purchase it, but it can't hurt to get some input from people who aren't so ignorant as myself.

Chemmy
Mac Enthusiast
Dec 9, 2003, 04:03 AM

If you like it, who cares what other people think?

Maybe your aunt would just give it to you if she doesn't use it anymore.

1.25ghz 15" PowerBook

Cipher13
Dec 9, 2003, 04:13 AM

You'll get a different answer from every guitar enthusiast. Every brand has a different distinctive "sound" or "feel".