Welcome to the MacNN Forums.

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

You are here: MacNN Forums > Hardware - Troubleshooting and Discussion > Mac Desktops > New Mini on the way!!!!!

New Mini on the way!!!!!
Thread Tools
PHoynak
Grizzled Veteran
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Southern New Jersey
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jan 31, 2007, 10:11 PM
 
I have a new Mac Mini on the way. I got it from Best Buy Depot on eBay. It has the Core Solo processor and the combo driver. For now that is good for me. My question is how will this perform as compared to my 1GHZ eMac?

Also where is a good place to get a deal on an LCD monitor?
     
crashovrride
Fresh-Faced Recruit
Join Date: Nov 2006
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Feb 1, 2007, 12:50 AM
 
A hell of a lot better.

Also for the LCD, I love Dell's LCDs but newegg usually has decent prices.
     
FCgrabo
Fresh-Faced Recruit
Join Date: Jan 2007
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Feb 4, 2007, 04:15 AM
 
Opens up some possibilities for TV integration too.
iMac G5 1.8, Mac mini 1.66 Intel, iMac G3 700, PowerMac 6500 250, iBook 366
     
PHoynak  (op)
Grizzled Veteran
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Southern New Jersey
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Feb 4, 2007, 05:00 AM
 
I know....I may sell my Sony and get a new TV. I love it but I dont think it will work with Apple TV...It has all the connectors but it is still not widescreen. I just ordered the Mini Stack V2 from Newer Tech....I will use that as my main drive since I have 26 GB's of MP 3's and use the 60 GB inside the Mini for TV recording (someday) and get a network backup drive. Of course if my bonus in March is nice this Mini may go to my daughter.
     
Simon
Posting Junkie
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: in front of my Mac
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Feb 4, 2007, 05:07 AM
 
Originally Posted by PHoynak View Post
My question is how will this perform as compared to my 1GHZ eMac?
If you run native UBs it will be a good deal faster and you feel the difference immediately. If you have to emulate PPC code chances are you won't see a speed gain. Rosetta suffers from running on a solo. So make sure you get UB versions of as much as you can and you'll be fine.
     
PHoynak  (op)
Grizzled Veteran
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Southern New Jersey
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Feb 5, 2007, 10:55 PM
 
The Mini arrived and I am waiting for the Mini Stack to show up Weds. My question is I have like 15 gb free on my eMacs HD and I want to use the Ministacks 160 gb as the boot drive. Will the system migration program work with the Ministack so it will transfer all of my MP3's etc etc? Has anyone done this?


Thanks
     
Big Mac
Clinically Insane
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Los Angeles
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Feb 5, 2007, 11:42 PM
 
I think you asked two different questions, which I'll try to answer:

Q. Can I use an existing ministack as a boot drive on the new mini?
A. No, you'd have to reformat the ministack to the Intel boot scheme to make it a boot option for the new mini.

Q. Can I use the ministack as a source drive for Migration Assistant?
A. Yes, just connect it and select it in Migration Assistant.

"The natural progress of things is for liberty to yield and government to gain ground." TJ
     
Simon
Posting Junkie
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: in front of my Mac
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Feb 6, 2007, 05:32 AM
 
Originally Posted by Big Mac View Post
Q. Can I use an existing ministack as a boot drive on the new mini?
A. No, you'd have to reformat the ministack to the Intel boot scheme to make it a boot option for the new mini.
I'm not sure what a ministack is (I'm assuming some kind of external HD that fits on/under the mini case), but couldn't he just format the ministack with a GPT using the minibefore running MA?

I'm thinking something like this:
• boot mini from install DVD
• attach ministack
• use install DVD's DiskUtility to format ministack with GPT
• install OS X on ministack
• when MA pops up, attach eMac to mini and migrate eMac -> ministack
• reboot mini with ministack as boot drive (the mini's internal HD would still have the factory OS X install on it which could be deleted to gain additional storage space)

Wouldn't that work?
     
PHoynak  (op)
Grizzled Veteran
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Southern New Jersey
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Feb 6, 2007, 05:08 PM
 
I will give that one a shot. I think it should work. I know its only a Mini but I can't wait to set it up. My eMac is getting long in the tooth.

How much of a speed difference will it be if i maxed the ram to 2gb?
     
PHoynak  (op)
Grizzled Veteran
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Southern New Jersey
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Feb 7, 2007, 05:20 PM
 
If I bought another 160 GB Ministack and linked them together could I set then up as a raid under disk utility? Would I have to reformat the boot drive since it will be loaded already. I have too much music I need to backup and do not want to loose.


     
brassplayersrock²
Addicted to MacNN
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: California
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Feb 7, 2007, 06:40 PM
 
why dont you just get a regular external HD? LaCie maybe? seagate?


-a
     
TomR
Dedicated MacNNer
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Hudson Valley of N.Y.
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Feb 7, 2007, 10:27 PM
 
Congrats on the Mini! You're going to LOVE IT! I have a PPC G4 mini that runs 24/7 and I LOVE it!

Tom
     
peeb
Addicted to MacNN
Join Date: Mar 2006
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Feb 10, 2007, 07:26 PM
 
It's going to kick you emac's ass. In a good way.
     
slpdLoad
Mac Elite
Join Date: Jun 2006
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Feb 10, 2007, 10:40 PM
 
Originally Posted by PHoynak View Post
I will give that one a shot. I think it should work. I know its only a Mini but I can't wait to set it up. My eMac is getting long in the tooth.

How much of a speed difference will it be if i maxed the ram to 2gb?
It'll make a huge difference, especially when running Rosetta apps. Rule of thumb is to have as much RAM as you can.
     
   
Thread Tools
 
Forum Links
Forum Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts
BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Top
Privacy Policy
All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:31 AM.
All contents of these forums © 1995-2017 MacNN. All rights reserved.
Branding + Design: www.gesamtbild.com
vBulletin v.3.8.8 © 2000-2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.,