Welcome to the MacNN Forums.

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

You are here: MacNN Forums > Enthusiast Zone > Networking > Tried 3.4 Revert to 3.3 AIRPORT...no luck

Tried 3.4 Revert to 3.3 AIRPORT...no luck
Thread Tools
El Mago
Junior Member
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Apr 22, 2004, 09:01 PM
 
Any help? I am still having problems getting wireless access using a linksys router. I have removed all 3.4 files that I can find and reinstalled 3.3 3 times already. Still no airport working. I have full signal but not connecting to the internet.
     
Applefreak01
Senior User
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Nebraska
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Apr 24, 2004, 02:25 PM
 
I guess you could backup your data from your Mac and reinstall Mac OS X and don't upgrade to 3.4.
[Riding a circus elephant]
Peter: Look Lois, the two smybols of the Republican Party: an elephant, and a fat white guy who is threatened by change. - Family Guy
     
ghporter
Administrator
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: San Antonio TX USA
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Apr 24, 2004, 06:27 PM
 
Your Mac should default to using an automatic address through DHCP, but that begs the question "what's supplying the DHCP address?" It would be smart to let the router do that, so I have to ask how your router is set up, and, of course, which model you have.

Another angle is whether or not you have any security features running. When getting things started, it's often good to turn off all security features until you get the basic connection working, then add security features one at a time. I usually start with a wide open access point until I get a reliable connection, then add encryption at both ends (which usually takes a little fiddling to get going), and then finally enable and configure MAC address filtering.

Finally, how is your browser set up? Is it looking for the right information, such as DNS server and so on? Is your AirPort card getting anything from the router? Just because you have a good signal doesn't mean that the computer is actually talking to the access point.

Glenn -----OTR/L, MOT, Tx
     
   
Thread Tools
 
Forum Links
Forum Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts
BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Top
Privacy Policy
All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:22 AM.
All contents of these forums © 1995-2017 MacNN. All rights reserved.
Branding + Design: www.gesamtbild.com
vBulletin v.3.8.8 © 2000-2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.,