Welcome to the MacNN Forums.

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

You are here: MacNN Forums > Enthusiast Zone > Art & Graphic Design > Audio Solutions, Please!!!!

Audio Solutions, Please!!!!
Ogden
Fresh-Faced Recruit
May 4, 2001, 07:37 PM

Hey everybody!

I am a public speaker by trade. I use my trusty little iBook SE everywhere I go for PowerPoint and the like.

Lately I have wanted to put together some sort of a CD sample of my speaking engagments for potential clients. I have cassette tape recordings of all of my speeches, but Im not sure how to go about getting them on a CD.

My question to all you Macheads is this: What software and/or hardware would I need to pull this off. I also have a lot of my stuff on minidisc, but I am unsure as to how to plug it into my iBook to make an MP3 or something that I can burn to a CD. Any help?

Is there a way to use iMovie to do this - maybe audio with no video or something? I don't know - I'm grasping at straws here!!

Thanks!

Ogden
---- ogden ----

BLU
May 5, 2001, 02:50 PM

Do iBooks have an audio in port? I record my cassettes in through that using a sound recording app, then change them over to MP3 with iTunes. But you need a lot of temporary disk space to initialy record.

Targon
Grizzled Veteran
May 6, 2001, 09:23 AM

You will first need a USB device that provides Audio I/O

Example:
http://www.griffintechnology.com/audio/imic_main.html

Will then need some software to record from your source.

The u will a CD-R drive, (Firewire) with some software, Toast, iTunes etc to burn to a disk.

Targon

Ogden  (op)
Fresh-Faced Recruit
May 6, 2001, 03:40 PM