Welcome to the MacNN Forums.

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

You are here: MacNN Forums > Hardware - Troubleshooting and Discussion > Mac Desktops > Sorry guys... 2.7Ghz are out :(

Sorry guys... 2.7Ghz are out :(
Thread Tools
- - e r i k - -
Posting Junkie
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Apr 26, 2005, 09:11 AM
 
Rumors are true. Here's the Amazon (ooops...posted it too soon) listing.

At least it has dual-layer SuperDrive...
( Last edited by - - e r i k - -; Apr 26, 2005 at 10:01 AM. )

[ fb ] [ flickr ] [] [scl] [ last ] [ plaxo ]
     
Randman
Posting Junkie
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: MacNN database error. Please refresh your browser.
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Apr 26, 2005, 09:24 AM
 
Let the whining and complaining begin.

This is a computer-generated message and needs no signature.
     
Eug Wanker
Posting Junkie
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Dangling something in the water… of the Arabian Sea
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Apr 26, 2005, 09:38 AM
 
Originally Posted by - - e r i k - -
Rumors are true. Here's the Amazon (ooops...posted it too soon) listing.

At least it has dual-layer SuperDrive...
I get sent to a 1.8 GHz G5 page.

I was expecting the 2.7 to show up this week though.
     
Randman
Posting Junkie
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: MacNN database error. Please refresh your browser.
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Apr 26, 2005, 09:41 AM
 
They must have changed it. I saw the 2.7 as well. 16X SuperDrive. 512 ram, 250Gb HD.

This is a computer-generated message and needs no signature.
     
Luisc
Junior Member
Join Date: Mar 2005
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Apr 26, 2005, 09:42 AM
 
For how much $$?
     
Simon
Posting Junkie
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: in front of my Mac
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Apr 26, 2005, 09:43 AM
 


AI says (for whatever that's worth) tomorrow could be the day.

If the top is indeed dual 2.7GHz FX, they certainly won't be stealing Tiger's show if they are announced tomorrow.
     
Randman
Posting Junkie
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: MacNN database error. Please refresh your browser.
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Apr 26, 2005, 09:43 AM
 
I couldn't get a price, even when I added it to the cart.

This is a computer-generated message and needs no signature.
     
- - e r i k - -  (op)
Posting Junkie
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Apr 26, 2005, 09:45 AM
 
$1494

[ fb ] [ flickr ] [] [scl] [ last ] [ plaxo ]
     
discotronic
Mac Elite
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Richmond,Va
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Apr 26, 2005, 09:48 AM
 
Well, the low end PowerMac was still shipping same day as of yesterday. I checked the Apple Store this morning and it has changed to a 1-3 day shipping time. The rest of the line changed from 3-5 day shipping to 1-3 days.
     
tonalsickness
Fresh-Faced Recruit
Join Date: Feb 2005
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Apr 26, 2005, 09:49 AM
 
yeah i guess amazon messed up... shows up if you go to the main comp page before selecting apple too... $3000 is the price it says then a $30 rebate if you get the amazon visa...
Dual 2.3 GHz G5, 1.5 GB ram, 19" LCD display, 20 GB 4G iPod
Creative DDTS-100 Dolby Digital Surround sound decoder (hooked to PM via Optical cable), Logitech 6.1 Surround sound speakers
1.6 GHz Dell Laptop w/ XP Pro
     
Big Mac
Clinically Insane
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Los Angeles
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Apr 26, 2005, 09:49 AM
 
Originally Posted by BrunoBruin (over at AI):
Amazon shows the other models as well. All with 512MB of RAM and dual-layer SuperDrives, as predicted. Looks like the dual-2.0 is the same price as the current dual-1.8, but with twice the RAM and HDD. I wonder if they will re-introduce a single-processor model later.
Premature specification, this time by Amazon. . . It's pretty humorous how these details leak out.

"The natural progress of things is for liberty to yield and government to gain ground." TJ
     
- - e r i k - -  (op)
Posting Junkie
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Apr 26, 2005, 09:51 AM
 

[ fb ] [ flickr ] [] [scl] [ last ] [ plaxo ]
     
Randman
Posting Junkie
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: MacNN database error. Please refresh your browser.
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Apr 26, 2005, 09:52 AM
 
That $1,494 is for the current single model.

This is a computer-generated message and needs no signature.
     
- - e r i k - -  (op)
Posting Junkie
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Apr 26, 2005, 09:56 AM
 
This link looks to be still active, even though no specific details are on it:

Technical Specifications

[ fb ] [ flickr ] [] [scl] [ last ] [ plaxo ]
     
Simon
Posting Junkie
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: in front of my Mac
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Apr 26, 2005, 09:57 AM
 
Here we go:

Overview
Dual 2.0 GHz, 512/160/16xDL, $2000
Dual 2.3 GHz, 512/250/16xDL, $2500
Dual 2.7GHz, 512/250/16xDL, $3000

Darn. Not even 1GB memory on the top end.

Interesting. No single FX config. No $1499 config!

[Edit: What the hell happened to the direct link icon that used to be at the bottom of every post in this forum? Do I have to manually create the URL to directly link to a certain post??? ]
     
- - e r i k - -  (op)
Posting Junkie
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Apr 26, 2005, 09:58 AM
 
Sorry. Must have changed the page before I got the link...

[ fb ] [ flickr ] [] [scl] [ last ] [ plaxo ]
     
dav
Mac Elite
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: sic semper tyrannis
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Apr 26, 2005, 09:58 AM
 
Originally Posted by Randman
I couldn't get a price, even when I added it to the cart.

dual 2.0 $2000
dual 2.3 $2500
dual 2.7 $3000

(edit - Simon beat me to it)
     
Randman
Posting Junkie
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: MacNN database error. Please refresh your browser.
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Apr 26, 2005, 10:00 AM
 
If the iMac gets a bump to at least 2.0, that would do for the single model.

This is a computer-generated message and needs no signature.
     
jamil5454
Mac Elite
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Downtown Austin, TX
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Apr 26, 2005, 10:02 AM
 
So we still don't know if they're using the 970MP or not?
     
Simon
Posting Junkie
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: in front of my Mac
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Apr 26, 2005, 10:03 AM
 
Originally Posted by Randman
If the iMac gets a bump to at least 2.0, that would do for the single model.
Well no, because the iMac and the PowerMac cater to entirely different markets. If Apple is really dropping the $1499 single FX config, they are (once again) claiming that people who want headless and expandable computers need to shell out at least 2000 bucks. Not a very wise decision.
     
MallyMal
Grizzled Veteran
Join Date: Aug 2002
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Apr 26, 2005, 10:04 AM
 
Do you think Apple is going to bring back the MegaHertz Myth campaign if they continue to release new chips at this slow rate?

To be honest, I'm not disappointed that Apple didn't hit 3Ghz. I'm disappointed that took 8-10 months just for 200 Mhz. If IBM is hitting the wall shouldn't they have atleast added 1MB of L2 to the G5 like last year?
     
Simon
Posting Junkie
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: in front of my Mac
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Apr 26, 2005, 10:05 AM
 
Originally Posted by jamil5454
So we still don't know if they're using the 970MP or not?
Not for certain. They didn't give the L2 specs which could identify the MP. For all we know and I guess what most will agree on, is that these are probably normal FX. And frankly, it's not very likely that Apple would be offering a quad core box for $1999.
     
- - e r i k - -  (op)
Posting Junkie
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Apr 26, 2005, 10:05 AM
 
Changed the link to a working one now... sorry again

[ fb ] [ flickr ] [] [scl] [ last ] [ plaxo ]
     
eddiecatflap
Baninated
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: http://www.rotharmy.com
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Apr 26, 2005, 10:11 AM
 
is that a dual or a dual dual ??
     
Big Mac
Clinically Insane
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Los Angeles
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Apr 26, 2005, 10:12 AM
 
I hate to break to you, but they are not dual core G5s, guys. If they were, Amazon would have listed that fact prominently.

"The natural progress of things is for liberty to yield and government to gain ground." TJ
     
Simon
Posting Junkie
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: in front of my Mac
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Apr 26, 2005, 10:12 AM
 
IMHO it would completely suck to see them do away with the single CPU PowerMac option at $1499 regardless of the iMac reaching 2.0GHz or not.

But, apart from that, doesn't it bug anybody else here, that other than increasing the clock by 200MHz and adding the DL drive, Apple didn't feel the need to lower the price by a single dollar? I mean, 8 months later, 200MHz higher and they give us the same $1999 price tag? They're really nuts sometimes.
     
BrunoBruin
Mac Elite
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Northampton, MA USA
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Apr 26, 2005, 10:20 AM
 
I haven't been keeping up with G5 progress like I used to watch the (glacial) development of the G4, but is it possible these Power Macs, while not sporting the dual-core processor, might be using the rumored lower-power G5? That might allow Apple to eliminate the liquid cooling system, and might explain the relatively low clock speeds.
"I'm an award-winning creative, the rules of society no longer apply to me."
     
Eug Wanker
Posting Junkie
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Dangling something in the water… of the Arabian Sea
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Apr 26, 2005, 10:31 AM
 
I guess we'll see if the 2.7 is liquid cooled or not.
     
osxisfun
Registered User
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: The Internets
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Apr 26, 2005, 10:43 AM
 
>IMHO it would completely suck to see them do away with the single CPU PowerMac option at $1499 regardless of the iMac reaching 2.0GHz or not.

I think they will have enough stock of 1.8s to keep it around for a while. and when they run out change it to dual 1.8s maybe...i would expect a single 2.0 but not for a couple of months.(read once apple's backlog has been sold.)
     
Goldfinger
Professional Poster
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Belgium
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Apr 26, 2005, 10:47 AM
 
I'm writing a letter to Steve, not an email, a real letter.
I don't care about 3Ghz or Dual Core but I do care about things like PCIe.

iMac 20" C2D 2.16 | Acer Aspire One | Flickr
     
Gator Lager
Senior User
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Florida
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Apr 26, 2005, 10:50 AM
 
.2 gig boost. WOW
Scotty, GIG FACTOR 2.5 plus .2 gig NOW.
naw I'll continue to wait for the next major boost in speed.
     
Luisc
Junior Member
Join Date: Mar 2005
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Apr 26, 2005, 11:03 AM
 
What is PCle?

I'm a Mac newbie, I'm switing to a new PowerMac!
     
Eug Wanker
Posting Junkie
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Dangling something in the water… of the Arabian Sea
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Apr 26, 2005, 11:12 AM
 
Originally Posted by Goldfinger
I'm writing a letter to Steve, not an email, a real letter.
I don't care about 3Ghz or Dual Core but I do care about things like PCIe.
Personally, I think such a letter is a waste of time. It's not as if Apple's engineers haven't heard of PCIe before.

I'd be very surprised if Apple didn't introduce PCIe in the next revision. I'd also expect 970MP. I'm not convinced they'll use DDR2 though.
     
Agent69
Mac Elite
Join Date: Jun 2000
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Apr 26, 2005, 11:14 AM
 
The timing of this works out really well for me, as I just got my tax return back from Uncle Sam and have been itching to upgrade from my single processor 1.25ghz G4.

Instead of the dual 1.8ghz model, I will be getting the dual 2.0ghz model for the same price. Even better, I will not have to "build to order" to get an ATI video card.

I'm sorry this sucks for some of you out there, but for me, its good news!
( Last edited by Agent69; Apr 26, 2005 at 11:48 AM. )
Agent69
     
Eug Wanker
Posting Junkie
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Dangling something in the water… of the Arabian Sea
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Apr 26, 2005, 11:19 AM
 
Originally Posted by Agent69
The timing of this works out really well for me, as I just got my tax return back from Uncle Sam and have been itching to upgrade from my single processor 1.25ghz G4.

Instead of the dual 1.8ghz model, I will be getting the dual 2.0ghz model for the same price. Even better, I will not have to "build to order" to get an ATI video card.

I'm sorry this sucks some of you out there, but for me, its good news!
Yup, the dual 2.0 is a very nice deal now. Congrats on your imminent purchase!

I'm not interested in a Power Mac myself (as I'm looking more at the iMacs, although maybe not at this revision I'm not sure). However, if I were getting a Power Mac, I'd be considering the dual 2.0 or maybe the dual 2.3. That seems like a reasonable deal too.
     
nickw311
Senior User
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Nevada (Not Las Vegas)
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Apr 26, 2005, 11:27 AM
 
To be fair, it is really a .4 ghz upgrade since it is dual processor
27" iMac C2D
     
E's Lil Theorem
Mac Elite
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Theory - everything works in theory
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Apr 26, 2005, 11:27 AM
 
Well, this sort of blows, but I guess I expected it after I read it at Thinksecret. Does this mean we have to wait until MWSF for a 3GHz machine? Or maybe around September during MW Paris?

Originally Posted by Simon
....

[Edit: What the hell happened to the direct link icon that used to be at the bottom of every post in this forum? Do I have to manually create the URL to directly link to a certain post??? ]
[Off topic]

I've asked for it here. However, in the meantime it looks like you do have to do it manually with the new "[post]" tag. If you mouseover the "reply" button of the post you want to directly link to, you'll notice that it ends with a "p=XXXXXXX," where "p" stands for post and the Xs are the number of the post. Anyway, copy that link (right click if you have it, or option click) then link to the post by stripping out the XXXXXXs and using the following code:
Code:
[post]XXXXXXX[/post] or [post=XXXXXX]Look, a direct link!
[/post]
Code:
.

You can also do the same with threads using the "[thread]" tag.

[/off topic]
     
osxisfun
Registered User
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: The Internets
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Apr 26, 2005, 11:32 AM
 
Originally Posted by Eug Wanker
Yup, the dual 2.0 is a very nice deal now. Congrats on your imminent purchase!

I'm not interested in a Power Mac myself (as I'm looking more at the iMacs, although maybe not at this revision I'm not sure). However, if I were getting a Power Mac, I'd be considering the dual 2.0 or maybe the dual 2.3. That seems like a reasonable deal too.
the 2.0 is the sweet spot. the 2.3s are not going to give you that much more (real world) bang for the buck IMO.
     
gururafiki
Grizzled Veteran
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Good question...
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Apr 26, 2005, 11:40 AM
 
maybe these changes will show on the apple store around 9am pacific time...
     
adios
Fresh-Faced Recruit
Join Date: Apr 2005
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Apr 26, 2005, 11:47 AM
 
I'm not thrilled that the kept the same price with only a .2ghz speed bump.
     
scaught
Addicted to MacNN
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: detroit,mi,usa
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Apr 26, 2005, 11:52 AM
 
3Ghz by the end of the year...did he specify the year?
     
Bigfoot
Forum Regular
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Connecticut
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Apr 26, 2005, 11:55 AM
 
I was chomping at the bit to by a new G5 and give my daughter my current dual G4 1.25 However, no G5 for me this time around (again). I will be getting a mini for my daughter and hang on to my dual G4 1.25 for now and hope the next update brings something more to the table. My dual 1.25 is still getting it done... oh well. Guess I'll go buy that new guitar I was thinking about
MacPro 2.8/8-core Xeon/10.5.8/8GB ram. MacBook Pro 2.26/10.6.2/4GB ram/250GB drive. Airport Extreme 802.11n
     
Eriamjh
Addicted to MacNN
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: BFE
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Apr 26, 2005, 11:57 AM
 
So now I have to wait for the price drop on refurbed dual 2.5s. Currently, $2599 at the Apple Store, with the Dual 2.3 at $2499, I wonder if it will drop another $200 or $300?

It is also no wonder the Amazon rebate ends today.
http://images.amazon.com/images/P/B0...5.LZZZZZZZ.jpg

Update: The refurbed Dual 2.5 dropped to $2299, less than the price of a new Dual 2.3... Tempting, tempting...
( Last edited by Eriamjh; Apr 27, 2005 at 11:13 AM. )

I'm a bird. I am the 1% (of pets).
     
Zimphire
Baninated
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: The Moon
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Apr 26, 2005, 12:16 PM
 
You guys act like a dual 1.25 ghz G4 is slow.
     
booboo
Mac Elite
Join Date: Oct 2000
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Apr 26, 2005, 12:53 PM
 
Do we think the dual 2.0 is the same mobo as the old 1.8 GHz? i.e. 4 RAM slots, PCI?
( Last edited by booboo; Apr 26, 2005 at 04:22 PM. )
     
booboo
Mac Elite
Join Date: Oct 2000
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Apr 26, 2005, 12:54 PM
 
Originally Posted by Zimphire
You guys act like a dual 1.25 ghz G4 is slow.
My dual 1GHz is too slow for what I need it to do - Logic Pro + plenty of plugs + mLAN . . .
     
willed
Professional Poster
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: USA at the moment
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Apr 26, 2005, 12:58 PM
 
Originally Posted by Zimphire
You guys act like a dual 1.25 ghz G4 is slow.
Yeah! I'd kill for a dual 1.25 G4! I have to put up with a 500MHz G3 day in day out!
     
The Ancient One
Mac Enthusiast
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: My mind (sorry, I'm out right now)
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Apr 26, 2005, 01:13 PM
 
Originally Posted by Randman
Let the whining and complaining begin.
No whining. No complaining. No purchase. It looks like MacWorld 06 to this old guy.
The first commandment of ALL religions is to provide a comfortable living for the priesthood.
     
threestain
Mac Elite
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: London/Plymouth, England
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Apr 26, 2005, 01:30 PM
 
So what do people reckon is the cause for the delay in ramping up significantly faster chips? The apple chip supplier curse? Or merely the fact it might be tricky to keep gaining ground with this particular chip?
     
eddiecatflap
Baninated
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: http://www.rotharmy.com
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Apr 26, 2005, 01:35 PM
 
good lord , i thought we'd got over all this with the G5

the G4 dragged on for AGES with it's pathetic speed 'bump's

god , i'm so depressed
     
 
Thread Tools
 
Forum Links
Forum Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts
BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Top
Privacy Policy
All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:24 AM.
All contents of these forums © 1995-2017 MacNN. All rights reserved.
Branding + Design: www.gesamtbild.com
vBulletin v.3.8.8 © 2000-2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.,