Welcome to the MacNN Forums.

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

You are here: MacNN Forums > Community > MacNN Lounge > Blu-ray/HD DVD... Who is winning?

View Poll Results: Which do you have? (Choose only ONE. Includes stand-alones and game consoles.)
Poll Options:
HD DVD 34 votes (17.09%)
Blu-ray 87 votes (43.72%)
Both 14 votes (7.04%)
Neither 70 votes (35.18%)
Multiple Choice Poll. Voters: 199. You may not vote on this poll
Blu-ray/HD DVD... Who is winning? (Page 160)
Thread Tools
jokell82
Professional Poster
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Oct 16, 2008, 01:07 PM
 
Originally Posted by mrtew View Post
How about making it an option so the customer can decide to burden himself or not? And how much is the cost? Windows computers have them. right? It must be known.
The problem is that simply making them an option would mean Apple selling gimped machines - because those drives would be able to read and burn data discs but *NOT* movies. We've been over this a billion times in this thread on why Apple can't simply throw in a drive and have it work. There needs to be some lower level system changes for Blu-Ray Discs to play in Macs.

If you need the storage space, buy an external.

All glory to the hypnotoad.
     
mrtew
Professional Poster
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: South Detroit
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Oct 16, 2008, 10:10 PM
 
Originally Posted by jokell82 View Post
The problem is that simply making them an option would mean Apple selling gimped machines - because those drives would be able to read and burn data discs but *NOT* movies.
Yeah right. They just can't do it. I forgot. And Steve just can't admit it. And you found out and told us.

I love the U.S., but we need some time apart.
     
goMac
Posting Junkie
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Portland, OR
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Oct 16, 2008, 10:27 PM
 
The problem is Bluray support conflicts with their kernel license, it conflicts with iTunes, and Apple really doesn't care. They're not going to implement Bluray until consumer demand reaches a roar. Bluray simply doesn't fit in their product strategy.

What I think is more likely is that Apple is likely internally working on a format optimized for downloads of feature length movies. It might support extended attributes like menus and extras, and it might have a video codec that would be paired with a decoder chip designed in house for the AppleTV and iPod. I see them investing more in downloads, not Bluray.

I would be surprised if Jobs even owns a Bluray player.
8 Core 2.8 ghz Mac Pro/GF8800/2 23" Cinema Displays, 3.06 ghz Macbook Pro
Once you wanted revolution, now you're the institution, how's it feel to be the man?
     
Eug
Clinically Insane
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Caught in a web of deceit.
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Oct 16, 2008, 11:53 PM
 
I'd be surprised if Jobs doesn't own a Blu-ray player. Disney is one of Blu-ray's biggest backers, and Apple sits on the BDA board.
     
brassplayersrock²
Addicted to MacNN
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: California
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Oct 17, 2008, 02:14 AM
 
Nah, Jobs is an HD fan. The color of the logo was right for him.
     
Eug
Clinically Insane
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Caught in a web of deceit.
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Oct 17, 2008, 03:02 AM
 
Transformers on HD DVD now $3.99.

http://www.inetvideo.com/Items/N01-0117297
     
jokell82
Professional Poster
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Oct 17, 2008, 06:45 AM
 
Originally Posted by mrtew View Post
Yeah right. They just can't do it. I forgot. And Steve just can't admit it. And you found out and told us.
Never said can't. But it's way too much of a bitch with licensing issues and changes needed to the OS that there's plenty of incentive for them to not do it until the demand is high enough.

All glory to the hypnotoad.
     
Mrjinglesusa
Professional Poster
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Why do you care?
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Oct 17, 2008, 10:13 AM
 
Playing Blu-ray movies on a 13.3", 15", or 17" screen (even a 24" screen) would be pointless. And if you need Blu-ray burning capability, there are plenty of internal and external burners out there that will work on the Mac.

http://www.mcetech.com/blu-ray/

http://www.lacie.com/products/product.htm?pid=11054

You can even play Blu-ray movies (no point, but you can) using boot camp.
2.3GHz i7 15" Retina Macbook Pro (Late 2013)
     
Eug
Clinically Insane
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Caught in a web of deceit.
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Oct 17, 2008, 10:15 AM
 
Originally Posted by Mrjinglesusa View Post
Playing Blu-ray movies on a 13.3", 15", or 17" screen (even a 24" screen) would be pointless.
Yeah, cuz everyone loves buying their movies twice.
     
olePigeon
Clinically Insane
Join Date: Dec 1999
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Oct 17, 2008, 11:28 AM
 
Originally Posted by Eug View Post
Yeah, cuz everyone loves buying their movies twice.
Which wouldn't have been a problem with HD-DVD.
"…I contend that we are both atheists. I just believe in one fewer god than
you do. When you understand why you dismiss all the other possible gods,
you will understand why I dismiss yours." - Stephen F. Roberts
     
goMac
Posting Junkie
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Portland, OR
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Oct 17, 2008, 01:36 PM
 
Originally Posted by Eug View Post
I'd be surprised if Jobs doesn't own a Blu-ray player. Disney is one of Blu-ray's biggest backers, and Apple sits on the BDA board.
Jobs owned a ThinkPad for the longest time while he worked for Apple.

Historically, Jobs' ideology will override his product choices.
8 Core 2.8 ghz Mac Pro/GF8800/2 23" Cinema Displays, 3.06 ghz Macbook Pro
Once you wanted revolution, now you're the institution, how's it feel to be the man?
     
Eug
Clinically Insane
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Caught in a web of deceit.
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Oct 17, 2008, 02:34 PM
 
Originally Posted by goMac View Post
Jobs owned a ThinkPad for the longest time while he worked for Apple.

Historically, Jobs' ideology will override his product choices.
Are you really trying to suggest Jobs owns only one machine at a time?
     
Person Man
Professional Poster
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Northwest Ohio
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Oct 17, 2008, 02:56 PM
 
Originally Posted by olePigeon View Post
Which wouldn't have been a problem with HD-DVD.
Only if the studio made hybrid DVD/HD-DVD discs. And not every studio did.
     
brassplayersrock²
Addicted to MacNN
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: California
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Oct 17, 2008, 03:10 PM
 
and most of the time (take bourne identity for instance) only the dvd portion was detectable in most players.
     
Eug
Clinically Insane
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Caught in a web of deceit.
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Oct 17, 2008, 04:45 PM
 
Originally Posted by brassplayersrock² View Post
and most of the time (take bourne identity for instance) only the dvd portion was detectable in most players.
That statement is not at all accurate. There were some issues with QA with some batches of those combo discs but other than that they work fine.

In fact I prefer them because they work anywhere... including in my Macs.
     
residentEvil
Professional Poster
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Detroit
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Oct 17, 2008, 06:38 PM
 
Originally Posted by Eug View Post
That statement is not at all accurate. There were some issues with QA with some batches of those combo discs but other than that they work fine.

In fact I prefer them because they work anywhere... including in my Macs.
exactly
     
brassplayersrock²
Addicted to MacNN
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: California
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Oct 17, 2008, 07:47 PM
 
guess I should have tried another one after the first 4 replacements. perhaps the 5th would have worked. guess i'll never know now.
     
mrtew
Professional Poster
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: South Detroit
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Oct 17, 2008, 08:27 PM
 
Originally Posted by jokell82 View Post
... Apple can't simply throw in a drive and have it work
Originally Posted by jokell82 View Post
...Never said can't.
I bet they can.

Originally Posted by Mrjinglesusa View Post
Playing Blu-ray movies on a 13.3", 15", or 17" screen (even a 24" screen) would be pointless.
Obviously you've never watched 1920x1200 HD movie trailers on a 24" iMac. It's awesome. http://movie-list.com/
Actually they're better than Blu-ray because compressing the best parts of a whole movie into 3 minutes is much more entertaining than wearing yourself down for 2 hours just to get a cheap visual thrill. And they're free.

I love the U.S., but we need some time apart.
     
Eug
Clinically Insane
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Caught in a web of deceit.
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Oct 17, 2008, 11:23 PM
 
Originally Posted by brassplayersrock² View Post
guess I should have tried another one after the first 4 replacements. perhaps the 5th would have worked. guess i'll never know now.
Maybe your player is a lemon. Bourne works fine.
     
jokell82
Professional Poster
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Oct 18, 2008, 06:52 PM
 
Originally Posted by mrtew View Post
I bet they can.
You can test that now - hook up an external blu-ray player. THAT is what I meant about being able to throw in a player and having it just work.

That doesn't mean they can't add a drive at all. It just means a hell of a lot of work, and some questions about their open source software licenses that aren't easily answered.

All glory to the hypnotoad.
     
olePigeon
Clinically Insane
Join Date: Dec 1999
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Oct 18, 2008, 07:00 PM
 
Would Apple have to integrate HDCP crap into everything to play Blu-Ray?
"…I contend that we are both atheists. I just believe in one fewer god than
you do. When you understand why you dismiss all the other possible gods,
you will understand why I dismiss yours." - Stephen F. Roberts
     
goMac
Posting Junkie
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Portland, OR
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Oct 18, 2008, 07:19 PM
 
Originally Posted by olePigeon View Post
Would Apple have to integrate HDCP crap into everything to play Blu-Ray?
Yes. The old Cinema Displays weren't HDCP. I wouldn't be surprised if the new ones were.
8 Core 2.8 ghz Mac Pro/GF8800/2 23" Cinema Displays, 3.06 ghz Macbook Pro
Once you wanted revolution, now you're the institution, how's it feel to be the man?
     
Eug
Clinically Insane
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Caught in a web of deceit.
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Oct 18, 2008, 09:33 PM
 
Lame. I was considering returning my Sony STR-DG520 receiver and getting an STR-DG820, because there is a killer deal right now on the 820. It's going for CAD$299, which is about US$250, locally and at a large electronics chain. (None of the mail-order to a fly-by-night shop crap.)

However, I thought I previously read a report that the 720 and 820 has this lame bug, which is that the receiver deactivates optical if HDMI video is used. Well, I finally have confirmation from a real review that it is true.

---

Sky HD usability issues

It also has to be noted that early versions of this receiver have had compatibility issues with Sky HD, which does not carry surround sound via its HDMI connection.

When you hook the Sky HD box's HDMI feed into the Sony and the Sky HD surround sound in via an optical input, the receiver over-rides the optical so you only hear the stereo feed supplied via HDMI.

Sony is working on a fix that will be applied to all existing and future STR-DG820 models. In the meantime, you can get round the issue by connecting your Sky HD via HDMI directly to your TV or projector, and via optical through the receiver - in this way you'll get both HD pictures and full surround sound.


---

I have not yet seen any report that states this has been fixed.

Basically this means that Blu-ray (or HD DVD) will work fine, but if you have a DVI cable box, or even some HDMI cable boxes, audio won't work properly. And multichannel sound output from a Mac won't work either.

So, I'll stick with my uber cheap 520, which cannot extract audio from HDMI anyway, so I don't have this issue.

Ironically, I also don't have this problem with my older STR-DG800, because like the 520, it doesn't extract audio from HDMI.
     
analogue SPRINKLES
Professional Poster
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: T •
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Oct 18, 2008, 09:44 PM
 
Apparently a ROM update is coming but I don't need it as I got HDMI specifically to use it for audio and video or else I would just use component anyway.
     
Eug
Clinically Insane
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Caught in a web of deceit.
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Oct 18, 2008, 09:58 PM
 
Originally Posted by analogue SPRINKLES View Post
Apparently a ROM update is coming but I don't need it as I got HDMI specifically to use it for audio and video or else I would just use component anyway.
Do you have a link?

Is this update going to specifically address this issue?

You already sold your Mac mini right? Cuz this would be a big problem with the Mac mini.
     
Peter
Addicted to MacNN
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: England | San Francisco
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Oct 19, 2008, 06:13 AM
 
how would you connect your mini to the reciever?
my mini is connected via a DVI->HDMI connector for video and just a 3.5mm aux audio cable for audio. Is there a nicer way?
we don't have time to stop for gas
     
Eug
Clinically Insane
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Caught in a web of deceit.
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Oct 19, 2008, 08:04 AM
 
Originally Posted by Peter View Post
how would you connect your mini to the reciever?
my mini is connected via a DVI->HDMI connector for video and just a 3.5mm aux audio cable for audio. Is there a nicer way?
Do you have the Sony 820?

Yeah that would work but would only give you stereo sound. I'd use optical to get full surround sound support, but that's not supported on the 820 with hdmi and dvi.
     
analogue SPRINKLES
Professional Poster
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: T •
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Oct 20, 2008, 07:17 PM
 
Originally Posted by Eug View Post
Do you have a link?

Is this update going to specifically address this issue?

You already sold your Mac mini right? Cuz this would be a big problem with the Mac mini.
I forget the link but it was just in the forums.

I still got the mini but I don't hook it right up to the TV as it never fully filled the screen over DVI which was retarded. Now I use the PS3 or XBox to play video's off the Mini which is the server.
     
Eug
Clinically Insane
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Caught in a web of deceit.
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Oct 20, 2008, 08:06 PM
 
You can set custom resolutions for the mini.
     
analogue SPRINKLES
Professional Poster
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: T •
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Oct 20, 2008, 09:00 PM
 
Originally Posted by Eug View Post
You can set custom resolutions for the mini.
They all didn't work.
     
cjrivera
Professional Poster
Join Date: Aug 2001
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Oct 20, 2008, 10:16 PM
 
They've been looking at solving this problem on various threads at avsforums...

There's a thread that talks about using SwitchResX for Mini to LCD problems.

http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showt...ght=switchresx
"It's weird the way 'finger puppets' sounds ok as a noun..."
     
analogue SPRINKLES
Professional Poster
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: T •
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Oct 21, 2008, 12:16 AM
 
Ya tried that too, no dice.

No matter, the 360 and PS3 do a good enough job anyway.
     
Peter
Addicted to MacNN
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: England | San Francisco
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Nov 6, 2008, 08:58 AM
 
I got a Sony DA1200ES - really pleased with it, sounds gorgeous.
Huge though.
we don't have time to stop for gas
     
The Godfather
Addicted to MacNN
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: Tampa, Florida
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Nov 6, 2008, 09:04 AM
 
The solution is to rip your BD in Windows using AnyDVD HD, then play it in VLC in OSX.
     
43skidoo
Fresh-Faced Recruit
Join Date: Nov 2008
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Nov 9, 2008, 07:14 PM
 
[email protected]'s suggestion. Not at you, but at the fact that you'd need to rip it in Windows. Just humorous.

"Suppose he's got a pointed stick?"
     
goMac
Posting Junkie
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Portland, OR
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Nov 9, 2008, 10:55 PM
 
Ripping should work in OS X too, someone just needs to port the source code over.
8 Core 2.8 ghz Mac Pro/GF8800/2 23" Cinema Displays, 3.06 ghz Macbook Pro
Once you wanted revolution, now you're the institution, how's it feel to be the man?
     
The Godfather
Addicted to MacNN
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: Tampa, Florida
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Nov 9, 2008, 11:09 PM
 
Originally Posted by goMac View Post
Ripping should work in OS X too, someone just needs to port the source code over.
AnyDVD is closed source, therefore impossible to port by anyone outside that company.
     
goMac
Posting Junkie
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Portland, OR
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Nov 9, 2008, 11:20 PM
 
Originally Posted by The Godfather View Post
AnyDVD is closed source, therefore impossible to port by anyone outside that company.
Which is lame. But honestly I'm surprised people can get away with commercially selling a ripping product. I suppose over the internet you can sell anything.
8 Core 2.8 ghz Mac Pro/GF8800/2 23" Cinema Displays, 3.06 ghz Macbook Pro
Once you wanted revolution, now you're the institution, how's it feel to be the man?
     
Railroader
Banned
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Indy.
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Nov 17, 2008, 02:13 AM
 
Woot! $139.99 blu-ray player.

http://www.woot.com/
     
jokell82
Professional Poster
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Nov 17, 2008, 09:40 PM
 
HDCP comes to the latest MacBooks: http://tinyurl.com/6p55t5

This could be the first step to Blu-Ray playback on the Mac...

All glory to the hypnotoad.
     
goMac
Posting Junkie
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Portland, OR
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Nov 17, 2008, 10:48 PM
 
Originally Posted by jokell82 View Post
HDCP comes to the latest MacBooks: http://tinyurl.com/6p55t5

This could be the first step to Blu-Ray playback on the Mac...
The iMac and Macbook Pro have been HDCP compatible for a while. Not sure about the vanilla Macbook, but I don't see why the old one wouldn't be.
8 Core 2.8 ghz Mac Pro/GF8800/2 23" Cinema Displays, 3.06 ghz Macbook Pro
Once you wanted revolution, now you're the institution, how's it feel to be the man?
     
Jolt21
Dedicated MacNNer
Join Date: May 2004
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Nov 18, 2008, 04:39 PM
 
Wall-E comes out today, and i can't decide whether to get it now, or if i should just wait b/c i might get a blu-ray player during the holidays.....arrgghhh. i know the ps3 is the best player, but after that, what is the best? and do people feel as though blu-ray is here to stay?
blah
     
Person Man
Professional Poster
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Northwest Ohio
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Nov 18, 2008, 09:04 PM
 
Originally Posted by goMac View Post
But honestly I'm surprised people can get away with commercially selling a ripping product. I suppose over the internet you can sell anything.
It helps when your company is located in Antigua, which is not party to any international Copyright agreement.

It also allows them to change how the product is priced, depending on what the currency market looks like. Their products used to be priced in US Dollars, then went to Euros (as in $29 --> €29) when the Euro was worth so much more. If the situation becomes reversed and stays that way, they'll switch back to US Dollars (or Yen or whatever gives them the advantage).
     
Eug
Clinically Insane
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Caught in a web of deceit.
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Nov 18, 2008, 11:01 PM
 
Originally Posted by Jolt21 View Post
Wall-E comes out today, and i can't decide whether to get it now, or if i should just wait b/c i might get a blu-ray player during the holidays.....arrgghhh. i know the ps3 is the best player, but after that, what is the best? and do people feel as though blu-ray is here to stay?
BR is here to stay. However, "here to stay" isn't the same thing as "it will be ubiquitous soon".

P.S. I want to buy Wall-E, but there's no way I'm paying over CAD$30 for it. Ripoff.
     
Big Mac
Clinically Insane
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Los Angeles
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Nov 19, 2008, 02:57 AM
 
I just bought a PS3. Yay Blu-ray.

"The natural progress of things is for liberty to yield and government to gain ground." TJ
     
brassplayersrock²
Addicted to MacNN
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: California
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Nov 19, 2008, 03:04 AM
 
     
olePigeon
Clinically Insane
Join Date: Dec 1999
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Nov 19, 2008, 04:42 PM
 
Originally Posted by brassplayersrock² View Post
Why is it on 3 discs? They couldn't fit it on 1?
"…I contend that we are both atheists. I just believe in one fewer god than
you do. When you understand why you dismiss all the other possible gods,
you will understand why I dismiss yours." - Stephen F. Roberts
     
Dakar V
Addicted to MacNN
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: The New Posts Button
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Nov 19, 2008, 04:47 PM
 
Extras seems like a safe assumption.
     
Brien
Professional Poster
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Southern California
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Nov 20, 2008, 12:07 AM
 
I'm itching to get Wall-E, but the local Target was sold out. Might just have to grab it off Amazon.
     
cjrivera
Professional Poster
Join Date: Aug 2001
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Nov 20, 2008, 12:10 AM
 
I just got it. Don't have time to watch it now, but I love the digital copy feature.
The 3rd disc is for the digital copy version.
"It's weird the way 'finger puppets' sounds ok as a noun..."
     
 
Thread Tools
 
Forum Links
Forum Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts
BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Top
Privacy Policy
All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:06 AM.
All contents of these forums © 1995-2017 MacNN. All rights reserved.
Branding + Design: www.gesamtbild.com
vBulletin v.3.8.8 © 2000-2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.,