Welcome to the MacNN Forums.

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

You are here: MacNN Forums > Community > MacNN Lounge > Rarely talked about feature of Macs

Rarely talked about feature of Macs
file
Dedicated MacNNer
Sep 16, 2002, 11:41 PM

Hi, i'm a recent switcher to the platform, and i want to say the best feature is OSX of course.

Another cool feature is not living in fear of viruses and other security flaws. It really feels good not having to worry at all. feels good to me. i'm new to macs, so i haven't experienced this yet. On my former PC, there was always a cloud hanging over my head even though i was very careful.

My friend is having a problem with the Klez virus now and sent out emails to everybody apologizing to anybody who got emails from him. I just thought: to myself, glad i switched.

And might as well ask this too as i am Mac ignorant. Why is it so important to have so many bays in a PowerMac? Macs have had firewire for years. You can just plug in anything you want into the firewire port and you got it.

macvillage.net
Addicted to MacNN
Sep 16, 2002, 11:52 PM

Firewire isn't quite as fast (always) and it is clutter to have external devices. If you look at Macs, you realize that looks are half the product. A bunch of drives all over the place is PC like.

Mac guys like a slim clean looking desk with one shiny computer.

starman
Clinically Insane
Sep 16, 2002, 11:56 PM

file,
Never ass-u-me that you're free of viruses on any platform. Things could be fine for a year or 5 years, but that day WILL COME I'm sure when someone finds an OS X exploit.

As for Firewire, nothing beats a direct IDE connection (well, maybe SCSI) .

Mike

Home - Twitter - Sig Wall-Retired - Flickr

file  (op)
Dedicated MacNNer
Sep 17, 2002, 12:00 AM