Welcome to the MacNN Forums.

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

You are here: MacNN Forums > Software - Troubleshooting and Discussion > macOS > Is Aqua too "Cute" for corporate use?

Is Aqua too "Cute" for corporate use?
file
Dedicated MacNNer
Oct 9, 2002, 07:33 PM

I like aqua and dont mind it. I am a web designer though and all i see is code and etc all day.

Do you think aqua is appropriate for like a accountant's computer? I mean, i hate to say it but sometimes it feels inapproriate. I am not trumpeting boring design, but i think they need to make a second interface in which it can be not...boring...but more simplistic...

Anybody agree?

tell your kid i challenge him to a beer drinking contest anytime anywhere! :mad:

cpac
Professional Poster
Oct 9, 2002, 07:42 PM

flame bait or???

Not sure what you think is so "cute."

If it's the fact that there's colors in the menu buttons, you can always switch to graphite...
cpac

Awimoway
Dedicated MacNNer
Oct 9, 2002, 07:47 PM

Originally posted by cpac:
flame bait or???

If it's the fact that there's colors in the menu buttons, you can always switch to graphite...
Yeah, waht's wrong with graphite? Actually, I think the pinstriping of Mac OS X has something of a high-quality bond paper look to it. I think it's vastly more professional than Windows. Although, even in graphite, the scroll bars look a little funky for professional environs.

dawho9
Senior User
Oct 9, 2002, 07:52 PM

No more than WinXP is too cute for professional use. Business does not care what a computer looks like. They want three things:

Low cost of ownership
High uptime
Does the job get done

niner
- Intel iMac 20' Core Duo - 1GB RAM
- Technology Blog) http://portalxp.org/Web/blogs/rbrynteson/

mitchell_pgh