Welcome to the MacNN Forums.

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

You are here: MacNN Forums > Community > Team MacNN > Is my PBG3 worth it?

Is my PBG3 worth it?
Tuoder
Mac Elite
Oct 24, 2006, 10:42 AM

I have a Powerbook G3 (Lombard). Is it worth putting linux on it to run BOINC? Do you think I would be better off just selling it? Should I try to put Panther on it?
( Last edited by Tuoder; Oct 24, 2006 at 11:53 AM. )

reader50
Administrator
Oct 24, 2006, 07:50 PM

G3s are really getting iffy for DC work. They can run the clients, but the results/electricity ratio is low compared to modern boxes.

Tuoder  (op)
Mac Elite
Oct 24, 2006, 09:02 PM

Originally Posted by reader50 View Post
G3s are really getting iffy for DC work. They can run the clients, but the results/electricity ratio is low compared to modern boxes.
I don't pay the bill, my parents do. I was just wonder if it was a total waste of time as it doesn't actually meet the requirements. It has 192MB of RAM and a 333Mhz CPU.

beadman
Dedicated MacNNer
Oct 24, 2006, 09:55 PM

My old tray loader 333MHz iMac is running panther on 256M RAM, and it cranks out an Einstein unit at around 2.5 or so WU per day for around 30 credits average. SETI gives me about the same rate. None of the optimized clients run any faster on the old G3 (at least that I've found. I keep it to run my wireless router, printer, and scanner, so I just let it crank out 30 or so credits per day and it contributes to elevating the cold basement temperature just a bit

beadman

Gecko_r7
Forum Regular
Oct 25, 2006, 01:13 AM

Just my 2 cents.
Depends on your goal.... but if it runs fine and you can use it for other things, go for it.
Check out Yellow Dog Linux.