Welcome to the MacNN Forums.

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

You are here: MacNN Forums > Hardware - Troubleshooting and Discussion > Consumer Hardware & Components > Opinions needed - Digital Camera

Opinions needed - Digital Camera
///Milien
Mac Enthusiast
Dec 5, 2003, 12:09 AM

I currently have a Canon PowerShot G5 as my digital camera. I replaced my Nikon Coolpix 5400 with the Canon. I am not a professional photographer, but love snapping photos as a hobby. I am interested in refining my skills though.

Here's a photo I took while in Vegas:

The delimma I having is which camera should I choose. I have the chance of returning my PowerShot G5 and getting the Canon Digital EOS. I know they are two different cameras and price range. Which one would you choose and why?

Thanks.
 Mac Pro 8-Core 2.26GHz Xeon | 12GB RAM | 2.5TB HDD | ATI Radeon HD 4870 | 24" LED Cinema Display
 Mac mini [Unibody] 2.4GHz Core 2 Duo | 8GB RAM | 500GB Seagate Momentus XT Hybrid HDD | 24" LED Cinema Display
 MacBook Air 1.6GHz Core 2 Duo | 4GB RAM | 256GB SDD
Too many accessories to list...

anaphora68
Dedicated MacNNer
Dec 5, 2003, 12:25 AM

I upgraded from a digital point and shoot to an EOS 10D, which is a slightly beefed up version of the rebel. There are a lot of considerations before upgrading to a D-SLR.

First off, how serious are you about photography and about learning? You need to invest some serious time into learning how to use the camera and photographic theory to get the most out of the camera.

Second, how much are you willing to spend on lenses? The kit lens is OK, but it's not great. For a few hundred dollars more you can buy some really nice lenses, like the 50/1.8 or the 24-135 IS.