Welcome to the MacNN Forums.

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

You are here: MacNN Forums > Community > MacNN Lounge > It's here, it's finally here!

It's here, it's finally here! (Page 2)
Thread Tools
@pplejaxkz
Senior User
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: NY
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jun 25, 2008, 11:56 AM
 
Originally Posted by sek929 View Post
I took another one

Nothing there but a tasty burger, must've been a lens flare or something.
From the words of Sam Jackson. "Mmm this is a tasty burger."
----
Nice iMac by the way.
     
sek929  (op)
Posting Junkie
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Cape Cod, MA
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jun 25, 2008, 12:01 PM
 
I used to know this, but how long do I have until the ability to buy the AppleCare warranty runs out? I thought it would be up until the regular warranty expires (1-year) but now I'm not so sure.

Edit: Thanks @pplejaxkz
     
Dakar the Fourth
Addicted to MacNN
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: In the hearts and minds of MacNNers
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jun 25, 2008, 12:02 PM
 
You have to purchase/extend before the current AppleCare expires, IIRC.
     
sek929  (op)
Posting Junkie
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Cape Cod, MA
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jun 25, 2008, 12:09 PM
 
OK that's what I thought. I'm certainly getting it, now at least I can wait until I pool some more cash together.
     
Dakar the Fourth
Addicted to MacNN
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: In the hearts and minds of MacNNers
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jun 25, 2008, 12:10 PM
 
So does this mean you're postponing the iPhone 3G purchase?
     
slpdLoad
Mac Elite
Join Date: Jun 2006
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jun 25, 2008, 12:11 PM
 
I believe Apple will send you a notice that your warranty is about to run out at around 11 months, and will ask if you want to buy AppleCare.
     
sek929  (op)
Posting Junkie
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Cape Cod, MA
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jun 25, 2008, 12:27 PM
 
Originally Posted by Dakar the Fourth View Post
So does this mean you're postponing the iPhone 3G purchase?
Well, if the rumors are true of me being screwed and having to pay the full price (I'm an [email protected] customer, but only for 8 months) then I doubt I can justify full price on the iPhone AND 70 bucks a month.

In all truth I think I was better suited with a faster Mac than a slick phone.
     
sek929  (op)
Posting Junkie
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Cape Cod, MA
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jun 25, 2008, 12:28 PM
 
Originally Posted by slpdLoad View Post
I believe Apple will send you a notice that your warranty is about to run out at around 11 months, and will ask if you want to buy AppleCare.
Sweet, thanks.
     
sek929  (op)
Posting Junkie
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Cape Cod, MA
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jun 25, 2008, 07:05 PM
 
Well I failed twice at Boot Camp installs.

The only thing I can think of is that I burned the XP SP2.iso to a DVD instead of a CD.

The installation process goes right through copying installer files, then it quits to the prompt and says "a drive error occurred."

I am out of blank CDs at the momemt, but this sound like a plausible reason?

Other than Boot Camp problems everything has been super. Got my Mini DVi-VGA adapter today and set up my 17" WS Compaq LCD in a snap (wicked easy to do BTW)


The only thing that is disappointing is I can't run a fullscreen iTunes visualization on the second monitor without it blacking out my main screen. So far I've been at a loss with what to do with the second screen.
( Last edited by sek929; Jun 25, 2008 at 07:17 PM. )
     
Dakar the Fourth
Addicted to MacNN
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: In the hearts and minds of MacNNers
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jun 25, 2008, 09:49 PM
 
My So-called life? Excellent curveball.
Is that Spaceballs?
     
sek929  (op)
Posting Junkie
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Cape Cod, MA
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jun 25, 2008, 10:04 PM
 
Hehe, my g/f was/is obsessed with that show.

Yes, that is Spaceballs. One of the first DVDs I bought.
     
64stang06
Mac Elite
Join Date: Aug 2007
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jun 25, 2008, 11:02 PM
 
Get rid of AOL software and use Adium!
MacBook Pro 13" 2.8GHz Core i7/8GB RAM/750GB Hard Drive - Mac OS X 10.7.3
     
Rumor
Moderator
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: on the verge of insanity
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jun 25, 2008, 11:14 PM
 
Or try to get access to the Trillian Astra beta.
I like my water with hops, malt, hops, yeast, and hops.
     
Dakar the Fourth
Addicted to MacNN
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: In the hearts and minds of MacNNers
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jun 26, 2008, 08:42 AM
 
Originally Posted by 64stang06 View Post
Get rid of AOL software and use Adium!
I told him already. He proceeded to punch me in the face and burn down my house.
(Or gave no reply. I forget which)
( Last edited by Dakar the Fourth; Jun 26, 2008 at 09:22 AM. )
     
Andrew Stephens
Mac Elite
Join Date: Jan 2004
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jun 26, 2008, 09:16 AM
 
Originally Posted by lavar78 View Post
Why not just "spill" it directly into the toilet paper?
damn, now I need to grab some toilet paper to wipe up all the coffee I just hacked over my Wacom tablet!!!
     
64stang06
Mac Elite
Join Date: Aug 2007
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jun 26, 2008, 09:27 AM
 
Originally Posted by Dakar the Fourth View Post
I told him already. He proceeded to punch me in the face and burn down my house.
(Or gave no reply. I forget which)
Maybe having someone else yell at him might start a fire over there
MacBook Pro 13" 2.8GHz Core i7/8GB RAM/750GB Hard Drive - Mac OS X 10.7.3
     
ShotgunEd
Mac Elite
Join Date: Nov 2001
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jun 26, 2008, 09:46 AM
 
Originally Posted by sek929 View Post
Well I failed twice at Boot Camp installs.

The only thing I can think of is that I burned the XP SP2.iso to a DVD instead of a CD.

The installation process goes right through copying installer files, then it quits to the prompt and says "a drive error occurred."

I am out of blank CDs at the momemt, but this sound like a plausible reason?
Definitely not, my Windows disc is a DVD and works fine.

Could be a bad burn, have you checked it in a Windows machine?
     
sek929  (op)
Posting Junkie
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Cape Cod, MA
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jun 26, 2008, 11:07 AM
 
Don't have one on-hand.

No matter, Stang to the rescue!
     
sek929  (op)
Posting Junkie
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Cape Cod, MA
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jul 1, 2008, 07:24 PM
 
Updates:

Boot Camp is awesome and I've been watching the original Battlestar Galactica on Netflix 'watch now' like a madman. Pretty good for it's age.

IE 7 is as terrible as I've heard. How on earth does it manage to be so slow? Also, why do XP browsers render pages so ugly?

My Dock woes are solved thanks to this little app which takes the place of cleardock and supports all version of Leopard.
     
Dakar the Fourth
Addicted to MacNN
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: In the hearts and minds of MacNNers
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jul 2, 2008, 11:15 AM
 
Originally Posted by sek929 View Post
My Dock woes are solved thanks to this little app which takes the place of cleardock and supports all version of Leopard.
How does this work exactly? I installed it, but then what?
     
64stang06
Mac Elite
Join Date: Aug 2007
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jul 2, 2008, 01:25 PM
 
Glad to hear you got Windows working
MacBook Pro 13" 2.8GHz Core i7/8GB RAM/750GB Hard Drive - Mac OS X 10.7.3
     
sek929  (op)
Posting Junkie
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Cape Cod, MA
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jul 2, 2008, 05:45 PM
 
Originally Posted by Dakar the Fourth View Post
How does this work exactly? I installed it, but then what?
You've got to killall dock in the terminal.

In fact, in the readme there is a rather long terminal command with killall dock at the end. I entered it in and my dock is clear right now.
     
sek929  (op)
Posting Junkie
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Cape Cod, MA
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jul 2, 2008, 05:46 PM
 
Originally Posted by 64stang06 View Post
Glad to hear you got Windows working
Worked like a charm! Of course now I'm thinking parallels might be the way to go for my brand of Windows usage. No matter, I'm happy as a clam right now.
     
64stang06
Mac Elite
Join Date: Aug 2007
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jul 2, 2008, 07:12 PM
 
Originally Posted by sek929 View Post
Worked like a charm! Of course now I'm thinking parallels might be the way to go for my brand of Windows usage. No matter, I'm happy as a clam right now.
Fusion
MacBook Pro 13" 2.8GHz Core i7/8GB RAM/750GB Hard Drive - Mac OS X 10.7.3
     
sek929  (op)
Posting Junkie
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Cape Cod, MA
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jul 2, 2008, 07:24 PM
 
See, I have COD4 and Command and Conquer 3 on XP right now and I've heard the virtualization software doesn't exactly work well with games.

Is it possible to have Fusion (or Parallels) AND Boot Camp at the same time? Boot Camp for when I want to game out, and one of the others for 90% of my other XP usage?
     
64stang06
Mac Elite
Join Date: Aug 2007
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jul 2, 2008, 10:26 PM
 
Sure can, I use Fusion with my Boot Camp partition for my light work, then start in Windows to play my games
MacBook Pro 13" 2.8GHz Core i7/8GB RAM/750GB Hard Drive - Mac OS X 10.7.3
     
sek929  (op)
Posting Junkie
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Cape Cod, MA
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jul 2, 2008, 10:28 PM
 
That's the bees knees!

Why would anyone not buy a Mac these days?

Edit: Fusion is pricier than Parallels, but is it better? I know, I know, I should wade through the threads in the Alt. OS forum for that answer.

Editx2: Now I'm kicking myself for not coughing up 100 bucks for the 4GB Crucial upgrade. Soon enough I'll max this machine out.
     
- - e r i k - -
Posting Junkie
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jul 2, 2008, 10:38 PM
 
Fusion and Parallels is about the same last I checked. Parallels long had an edge over Fusion in its integration and transparency, but I think that's gone now. I use parallels nonetheless. Meaning I hardly ever use it. I have no need for Windows.

I do sometimes boot into Boot Camp (which is shared with parallels) to play some Bioshock or COD4. C&C3 runs fine without rebooting

[ fb ] [ flickr ] [] [scl] [ last ] [ plaxo ]
     
sek929  (op)
Posting Junkie
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Cape Cod, MA
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jul 2, 2008, 10:40 PM
 
Yeah C&C3 can run at almost max settings for me. I hear the Mac version suffers from some anti-aliasing issues.

I guess I'll probably opt for the cheap route (duh) but I'm worried running two OSes and a handful of apps at the same time will eat through my 2 GB RAM.
     
OldManMac
Addicted to MacNN
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: I don't know anymore!
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jul 2, 2008, 11:13 PM
 
One of the first things I did when I got mine was to upgrade the RAM. I got 4GB for a little over $100, from Other World Computing (macsales.com).
Why is there always money for war, but none for education?
     
Ratm
Mac Elite
Join Date: Dec 2001
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jul 3, 2008, 12:40 AM
 
Dude, I'm not even going to player-hate on you Wish you congrats and enjoy that beauty of a machine. I am looking forward to a mac mini and in the not to distant future my very own iMac 24" that could possibly......maybe....dare I say it?.....maxed out to 3Ghz??. We'll see..... ... .. .
     
turtle777
Clinically Insane
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: planning a comeback !
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jul 3, 2008, 12:46 AM
 
The new Fusion 2 (currently in public beta) is better than Parallels.

-t
     
sek929  (op)
Posting Junkie
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Cape Cod, MA
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jul 3, 2008, 02:30 AM
 
That's 2 for Fusion, 1 for either.
     
hokie17
Junior Member
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Winston-Salem, NC
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jul 3, 2008, 06:55 AM
 
Just one point to make, bro. You mentioned on the first page you wish you'd gotten matte. The aluminum iMacs are only available in glossy. To get a matte, you'd have had to have gotten a refurb white iMac.

And good call on Spaceballs, THE funniest film of all time!

Originally Posted by Dark Helmet
"CAREFUL you idiot! I said across her nose, not UP it!"
Al MB 2.4GHz 2GB DDR3
     
SirCastor
Professional Poster
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Salt Lake City, UT USA
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jul 3, 2008, 09:56 AM
 
Congrats. This is a dream that I've long had too, and it's coming in the near future. My wife said if I can scrape together half the price, we'll cover the other half. I'm sitting on my 8 year old G4. It's been through a few upgrades, but I can't wait to get my hands on an Intel chip, a faster bus, a better video card, a bigger screen... just a new mac.
2008 iMac 3.06 Ghz, 2GB Memory, GeForce 8800, 500GB HD, SuperDrive
8gb iPhone on Tmobile
     
Dakar the Fourth
Addicted to MacNN
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: In the hearts and minds of MacNNers
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jul 3, 2008, 09:58 AM
 
Originally Posted by sek929 View Post
You've got to killall dock in the terminal.

In fact, in the readme there is a rather long terminal command with killall dock at the end. I entered it in and my dock is clear right now.
I figured as much, but I glanced at the read me a few times and didn't spot anything mentioning killing the dock after install.
     
Uncle Doof
Senior User
Join Date: Jun 2008
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jul 3, 2008, 10:18 AM
 
Congrats on the new beast, Sek.

I still reckon you need to black Hammerite the silver bits out though.
     
sek929  (op)
Posting Junkie
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Cape Cod, MA
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jul 3, 2008, 11:17 AM
 
Heresy!
     
macdude
Junior Member
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Location:
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jul 3, 2008, 11:31 AM
 
Nice! Great setup.
     
sek929  (op)
Posting Junkie
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Cape Cod, MA
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jul 3, 2008, 11:36 AM
 
New desktop:



In XP:

     
Dakar the Fourth
Addicted to MacNN
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: In the hearts and minds of MacNNers
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jul 3, 2008, 11:42 AM
 
Nice. Time to recalibrate the monitors to match better though.
     
sek929  (op)
Posting Junkie
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Cape Cod, MA
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jul 3, 2008, 11:46 AM
 
Ugh, they are, trust me.

That 17" LCD really shows it's crappiness next to this glorious 20" beast.

I spent so much time in the Expert Mode calibrator and that's the closest it gets. I was able to screw around enough to get the desktops to match, but then everything else was WAY outta whack.
     
Dakar the Fourth
Addicted to MacNN
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: In the hearts and minds of MacNNers
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jul 3, 2008, 11:47 AM
 
Turn down the brightness on the iMac down or up on the standalone.
     
sek929  (op)
Posting Junkie
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Cape Cod, MA
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jul 3, 2008, 11:48 AM
 
Brightness is maxed on the 17", and I like the iMac the way it is.

It's an el-cheapo Compaq LCD, it looked alright when it was by itself. The UI looks really damn close on both, but anything with lots of color looks dark and washed out on the 17"
     
Dakar the Fourth
Addicted to MacNN
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: In the hearts and minds of MacNNers
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jul 3, 2008, 11:52 AM
 
Originally Posted by sek929 View Post
I like the iMac the way it is.
It's all about you, is it? No wonder I hate you.
     
design219
Professional Poster
Join Date: Oct 2004
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jul 3, 2008, 12:56 PM
 
My office has no close windows and I find the brightness of the 24" too bright. I actually turn it down all the way. I work with print as well as web, and it is easier to judge color, as well as match my second LaCie monitor that way.
__________________________________________________

My stupid iPhone game: Nesen Probe, it's rather old, annoying and pointless, but it's free.
Was free. Now it's gone. Never to be seen again.
Off to join its brother and sister apps that could not
keep up with the ever updating iOS. RIP Nesen Probe.
     
Dakar the Fourth
Addicted to MacNN
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: In the hearts and minds of MacNNers
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jul 3, 2008, 12:57 PM
 
Yeah, I very rarely like using brightness past half, and usually I keep it lower.
     
Oisín
Moderator Emeritus
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Copenhagen
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jul 3, 2008, 01:20 PM
 
I hate to be predictable (though, to be truthful, when am I not?), but I’m reading this thread and all I can think is … sek—now with webcam!
     
Dakar the Fourth
Addicted to MacNN
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: In the hearts and minds of MacNNers
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jul 3, 2008, 01:38 PM
 
What has he alluded to that he'd use it for?
     
lavar78
Professional Poster
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Yorktown, VA
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jul 3, 2008, 02:13 PM
 
Originally Posted by Oisín View Post
I hate to be predictable (though, to be truthful, when am I not?), but I’m reading this thread and all I can think is … sek—now with webcam!

"I'm virtually bursting with adequatulence!" - Bill McNeal, NewsRadio
     
 
Thread Tools
 
Forum Links
Forum Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts
BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Top
Privacy Policy
All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:43 PM.
All contents of these forums © 1995-2017 MacNN. All rights reserved.
Branding + Design: www.gesamtbild.com
vBulletin v.3.8.8 © 2000-2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.,