Welcome to the MacNN Forums.

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

You are here: MacNN Forums > Hardware - Troubleshooting and Discussion > Mac Notebooks > Cannot install iLlife 06

Cannot install iLlife 06
Thread Tools
GILBERT948
Fresh-Faced Recruit
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Mesquite, TX
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Feb 13, 2006, 12:54 AM
 
I bought iLife 06 this weekend, but when I put the DVD in to run the install program I get a blank page icon where the iLife 06 install icon should be in the DVD window. I get the correct icon for installing the iWork trial on the iWork DVD, but it bounces a couple of times and then returns to the desktop.

I am running 10.4.4 and have the lower slot memory defect. I have 512 megs memory in both slots. I don't know if that is causing the problem. I have rebuilt the desktop, repaired and verified permissions.

Any ideas?

Gilbert948
iBook 800 G4 640MB 10.3
iBook 600 G3 256MB 10.2.8

15" 1.5 ghz 1gig mem, 80 gig 5400 HD, 128 vram POWERBOOK.
     
Detrius
Professional Poster
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Asheville, NC
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Feb 14, 2006, 12:28 AM
 
You have a known-defective slot with memory in it? Are you insane?
ACSA 10.4/10.3, ACTC 10.3, ACHDS 10.3
     
OreoCookie
Moderator
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Hilbert space
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Feb 14, 2006, 07:47 AM
 
Eeeeeh, this seems like a hardware problem. Either remove the one RAM module from the defective slot or, even better, have your PowerBook fixed! Oh, and moving … 
I don't suffer from insanity, I enjoy every minute of it.
     
GILBERT948  (op)
Fresh-Faced Recruit
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Mesquite, TX
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Feb 15, 2006, 01:06 AM
 
Originally Posted by Detrius
You have a known-defective slot with memory in it? Are you insane?
I was not aware that leaving the memory in the "dead" slot would cause problems. Will it?

Joe
iBook 800 G4 640MB 10.3
iBook 600 G3 256MB 10.2.8

15" 1.5 ghz 1gig mem, 80 gig 5400 HD, 128 vram POWERBOOK.
     
ibook_steve
Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: San Jose, CA
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Feb 15, 2006, 02:12 PM
 
Uh, yeah! The computer doesn't know it has a bad slot. All it knows is that you have memory in there it is trying to access. If it can't access memory that it thinks is there, you're going to have problems. If you have a known bad memory slot, remove the RAM and get it fixed.

Steve
     
tooki
Admin Emeritus
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: Zurich, Switzerland
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Feb 15, 2006, 06:26 PM
 
Uh, no! The RAM slot problem manifests itself by the system NOT RECOGNIZING the RAM in the slot. That is, it is detecting an error in the RAM (even though the error is actually in the slot) and thus deactivates the slot.

If it is, in fact, the RAM slot problem, the computer should only show 512MB total RAM in this case. And it'll work fine, it'll just be slow because of the missing RAM.

tooki
     
   
Thread Tools
 
Forum Links
Forum Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts
BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Top
Privacy Policy
All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:53 PM.
All contents of these forums © 1995-2017 MacNN. All rights reserved.
Branding + Design: www.gesamtbild.com
vBulletin v.3.8.8 © 2000-2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.,