Welcome to the MacNN Forums.

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

You are here: MacNN Forums > Software - Troubleshooting and Discussion > GUI Customization > [ANN] DeskShade 2: Desktop Lovers Unite!

[ANN] DeskShade 2: Desktop Lovers Unite!
Thread Tools
haley
Forum Regular
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Nov 27, 2004, 09:09 PM
 
Just saw this over at MacThemes.net...

DeskShade2 was just released from the guys over at MacRabbit.

You can download here.
     
SafariX
Mac Elite
Join Date: May 2003
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Nov 27, 2004, 10:14 PM
 
I'm confused about what it does...dling now.
     
bluevertical
Mac Enthusiast
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: seattle
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Nov 27, 2004, 11:12 PM
 
lookin goooooood!
blueverticalstudio_ boston new york los angeles
www.blueverticalstudio.com
www.theblogproject.com
     
.saNNic.
Forum Regular
Join Date: Oct 2004
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Nov 27, 2004, 11:17 PM
 
I would like the ability to remove the menu item altogether and control app strictly through hot key assignments.......

Nice update.
     
BlueIce
Fresh-Faced Recruit
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Iowa
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Nov 28, 2004, 12:26 AM
 
Interesting application...I also would like the ability to control the app through global hot keys such as changing the desktop on the fly to the next random pic in a folder. Good stuff nonetheless.
     
bluevertical
Mac Enthusiast
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: seattle
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Nov 28, 2004, 01:20 AM
 
Originally posted by .saNNic.:
I would like the ability to remove the menu item altogether and control app strictly through hot key assignments.......

Nice update.
i agree totally. ...and am i blind or is there no way to change the desktop image every minute or so like the apple one? the auto feature?

hmmm...
blueverticalstudio_ boston new york los angeles
www.blueverticalstudio.com
www.theblogproject.com
     
Robert25
Fresh-Faced Recruit
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Westfield, IN
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Nov 28, 2004, 01:35 AM
 
...and am i blind or is there no way to change the desktop image every minute or so like the apple one?

If you choose a transition in DeskShade and then use SystemPrefs to change Desktops automatically, they will change using the chosen transition (even random). This is kinda roundabout, but I hope it helps!
Your Friendly Neighborhood Rob
     
silencedge
Junior Member
Join Date: Aug 2004
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Nov 28, 2004, 01:43 AM
 
Wonderful upgrade. Definitely worth the $$$.
     
mac15
Senior User
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Sydney, Australia
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Nov 28, 2004, 02:03 AM
 
Amazing app, 1.x was great but this blows it away
     
bluevertical
Mac Enthusiast
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: seattle
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Nov 28, 2004, 02:14 AM
 
Originally posted by Robert25:
...and am i blind or is there no way to change the desktop image every minute or so like the apple one?

If you choose a transition in DeskShade and then use SystemPrefs to change Desktops automatically, they will change using the chosen transition (even random). This is kinda roundabout, but I hope it helps!
cool thanks. roundabout is good enough for now.
cheers!
bv.
blueverticalstudio_ boston new york los angeles
www.blueverticalstudio.com
www.theblogproject.com
     
idle
Forum Regular
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Kassel, Germany
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Nov 28, 2004, 07:54 AM
 
err.. don't work for me with two screens/desktops. makes it pretty useless for me. too bad, it's a nice interface.
     
kwyjiboy
Dedicated MacNNer
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Space.
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Nov 28, 2004, 09:24 AM
 
Originally posted by idle:
err.. don't work for me with two screens/desktops. makes it pretty useless for me. too bad, it's a nice interface.
I asked about that. Better multiple-display support is in the works.
Septuple post! Quadruple word score!
     
haley  (op)
Forum Regular
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Nov 28, 2004, 11:23 AM
 
Who knows where it sends your custom desktops? They should automatically put them in a new album... I can't find them anywhere though.
     
Stuphalina
Grizzled Veteran
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Missing, presumed fed.
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Nov 28, 2004, 11:39 AM
 
I also have a question that may be so obvious but I can't figure out now. I have been using an unregistered version, but I'm not sure what the difference is. Will it expire like a demo? Or are there more features to be unlocked?

Smoke me a kipper, I'll be back for breakfast!
     
skellington
Junior Member
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: aichi japan
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Nov 28, 2004, 12:49 PM
 
cuuuuuuuuuuuuuuute looks!!

nice work
kenichi yoshida
www.kenichiyoshida.jp
     
ender2002
Senior User
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: nyc
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Nov 28, 2004, 01:44 PM
 
forget it
     
acronym16
Forum Regular
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: England
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Nov 28, 2004, 03:16 PM
 
this has crashed on me every time i have launched it, I think it is because I have one very large folder with all my desktops in it, but even so this shouldn't happen, it was looking so good untill i actualy tried to use it, what a disapointment.
     
Jan Van Boghout
Mac Elite
Join Date: Sep 2001
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Nov 28, 2004, 06:30 PM
 
A few answers to everyone here

- The unregistered version is a 15 day demo, it is fully functional in that time
- Desktop rotation is coming, probably in 2.1
- The crashers people are experiencing are related to corrupt/peculiar images and I've tracked down and fixed about 4 different circumstances in which this was happening. There should be a 2.0.1 update out soon that fixes the crashing.
     
Stuphalina
Grizzled Veteran
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Missing, presumed fed.
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Nov 28, 2004, 07:16 PM
 
Thanks Jan!

Smoke me a kipper, I'll be back for breakfast!
     
badidea
Professional Poster
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Hamburg
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Nov 29, 2004, 03:08 PM
 
Originally posted by Jan Van Boghout:
- The crashers people are experiencing are related to corrupt/peculiar images and I've tracked down and fixed about 4 different circumstances in which this was happening. There should be a 2.0.1 update out soon that fixes the crashing.
Nope, 2.0.1 is still crashing!
(or is this because I have 2 monitors?)
***
     
Jan Van Boghout
Mac Elite
Join Date: Sep 2001
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Nov 29, 2004, 04:51 PM
 
Originally posted by badidea:
Nope, 2.0.1 is still crashing!
(or is this because I have 2 monitors?)
I've had one other report of someone with 2 monitors experiencing a crash. Could you contact me at [email protected] with the crash log so I can investigate the cause?
     
badidea
Professional Poster
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Hamburg
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Nov 29, 2004, 08:17 PM
 
Originally posted by Jan Van Boghout:
Could you contact me at [email protected] with the crash log so I can investigate the cause?
done
thanks for helping!
***
     
G0Ducks
Grizzled Veteran
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Springfield, Oregon
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Nov 30, 2004, 01:24 AM
 
Originally posted by badidea:
done
thanks for helping!
Um... I really don't understand this app. Why would you want to hide your icons when you could just restructure your directories?

I am not sure how many people would waste the valuable processor speed on putting a movie playing as their desktop.

I totally see the need for the security portion of this app (though it seems that it could hold its own as a stand alone app.)

The desktop transition thing is cool... is this supported by machines that can't do these similar transitions with fast user switching?

Not trying to be negotoryboy, but I just don't get it...

R
     
Caesar2099
Mac Enthusiast
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Bronx, NY
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Nov 30, 2004, 12:03 PM
 
I haven't used deskshade before but now I sorta like it. I had a lot of files on my desktop so this covered it up and thats coo.
     
G0Ducks
Grizzled Veteran
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Springfield, Oregon
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Nov 30, 2004, 02:43 PM
 
Originally posted by Caesar2099:
I haven't used deskshade before but now I sorta like it. I had a lot of files on my desktop so this covered it up and thats coo.
OK, but isn't this like sweeping the dirt under the rug? Why not simply get organized? My desktop is so clean, I could eat off of it
     
acronym16
Forum Regular
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: England
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Nov 30, 2004, 02:45 PM
 
Originally posted by Jan Van Boghout:
A few answers to everyone here

- The unregistered version is a 15 day demo, it is fully functional in that time
- Desktop rotation is coming, probably in 2.1
- The crashers people are experiencing are related to corrupt/peculiar images and I've tracked down and fixed about 4 different circumstances in which this was happening. There should be a 2.0.1 update out soon that fixes the crashing.

2.0.1 all crashes on mine are fixed, thanks
     
Caesar2099
Mac Enthusiast
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Bronx, NY
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Nov 30, 2004, 03:15 PM
 
Originally posted by G0Ducks:
OK, but isn't this like sweeping the dirt under the rug? Why not simply get organized? My desktop is so clean, I could eat off of it
I usually keep everythig very organized. But I just couldn't do it any more and the files just kept piling up.
     
bluevertical
Mac Enthusiast
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: seattle
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Nov 30, 2004, 05:11 PM
 
anyway in the next release we could have a pref to have it dockless and iconless? i would love to just use it via hotkeys and not take up any room in the dock or menu.
thanks!
bv.
blueverticalstudio_ boston new york los angeles
www.blueverticalstudio.com
www.theblogproject.com
     
G0Ducks
Grizzled Veteran
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Springfield, Oregon
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Dec 1, 2004, 03:11 AM
 
Originally posted by bluevertical:
anyway in the next release we could have a pref to have it dockless and iconless? i would love to just use it via hotkeys and not take up any room in the dock or menu.
thanks!
bv.
Add an option to have the menu bar act like the docks show/hide feature

R
     
Banghazi
Mac Enthusiast
Join Date: Jun 2004
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Dec 1, 2004, 03:23 AM
 
Wow, GODucks, you sure are passionate about wanting this menubar thing - have you considered picking up a book about programming and figuring it out yourself?

Originally posted by bluevertical:
anyway in the next release we could have a pref to have it dockless and iconless? i would love to just use it via hotkeys and not take up any room in the dock or menu.
thanks!
bv.
TransparentDock is supposed to be able to make applications function as background processes. Just open TD and drop DeskShade onto TD's icon in the dock. There's also a way to do it by editing the app's .plist - just ask if you need instructions on how to do that if TD desn't work.
     
Jan Van Boghout
Mac Elite
Join Date: Sep 2001
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Dec 1, 2004, 08:03 AM
 
DeskShade is showing up in the Dock? That's wrong, it should be hidden, I'd try downloading again if this is the case.
     
bluevertical
Mac Enthusiast
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: seattle
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Dec 1, 2004, 03:54 PM
 
Originally posted by Jan Van Boghout:
DeskShade is showing up in the Dock? That's wrong, it should be hidden, I'd try downloading again if this is the case.
no, sorry. i was just saying i would love it to run in the background with no need for an icon....
blueverticalstudio_ boston new york los angeles
www.blueverticalstudio.com
www.theblogproject.com
     
BlueIce
Fresh-Faced Recruit
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Iowa
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Dec 1, 2004, 04:46 PM
 
Originally posted by bluevertical:
anyway in the next release we could have a pref to have it dockless and iconless? i would love to just use it via hotkeys and not take up any room in the dock or menu.
thanks!
bv.
Here here! That was what I was talking about earlier. An option to set custom hotkeys for things like going to the next pic and whatnot.
     
Banghazi
Mac Enthusiast
Join Date: Jun 2004
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Dec 2, 2004, 01:32 AM
 
I would use the desktop central (which I think is a great idea) if it did everything Apple's prefpane does. I use a steadily growing folder of desktop backgrounds that change every ime I log in. With DS's d-top central, I can't do this.
     
bluevertical
Mac Enthusiast
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: seattle
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Dec 2, 2004, 02:24 AM
 
Originally posted by Banghazi:
I would use the desktop central (which I think is a great idea) if it did everything Apple's prefpane does. I use a steadily growing folder of desktop backgrounds that change every ime I log in. With DS's d-top central, I can't do this.
yeah, i bet the dev team has this in the plans for future releases(?) i hope!
great start here though.

bv.
blueverticalstudio_ boston new york los angeles
www.blueverticalstudio.com
www.theblogproject.com
     
NetworkShadow
Mac Elite
Join Date: Nov 2002
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Dec 5, 2004, 09:10 PM
 
Originally posted by Jan Van Boghout:
- Desktop rotation is coming, probably in 2.1
I've been demoing it and have decided that I'll register it once desktop rotation and desktop screensaver support are added. Those are the two things that it really should have but doesn't currently.
click one
     
atomic_x
Junior Member
Join Date: Sep 2004
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Dec 6, 2004, 08:15 PM
 
does anyone else get this. i turned on my second screen.. to use dual display and then deskshade 2 showed this .


     
   
Thread Tools
 
Forum Links
Forum Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts
BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Top
Privacy Policy
All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:05 AM.
All contents of these forums © 1995-2017 MacNN. All rights reserved.
Branding + Design: www.gesamtbild.com
vBulletin v.3.8.8 © 2000-2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.,