Welcome to the MacNN Forums.

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

You are here: MacNN Forums > Community > MacNN Lounge > The $8000 question...

The $8000 question...
AlfaMunky
Forum Regular
Nov 5, 2002, 01:48 AM

Ok here's my situation.

I currently own a lovely automobile that I've enjoyed the hell out of yet I have to come to grips with a very real and certain problem. I can not and will not be able to afford my pimp ride.

Here's my current soon to be former ride.

'93 BMW 325is
189hp inline 6
rear wheel drive
5 speed
2 door coupe
M3 front bumper

yet I'm a college student and I drive everywhere through horrid Miami traffic (anyone gets a licence here),
I'm getting like 19.6 mpg, and I learned the hard way that BMW repair bills aren't pretty. I've spent $1500 buck in repair bill in the last 10 months (clutch/flywheel/starter motor).

So it's got to go...

Now I need a nice "sporty" college car.
I need suggestions big time.

I hate domestics (save the neon crap).
I need the following ::

'96 or newer
60,000 miles or less
good gas mileage
sporty
cheap to own
all under $8000

I have car dealer hook ups but they're real jaded. So please help?!

PorscheBunny
Mac Elite
Nov 5, 2002, 02:06 AM

First of all, "sporty" = higher repair costs + higher probability of speeding tickets (regardless of how you drive) + higher price to purchase + lower fuel efficiency. In other words, "sporty" pretty well deep-sixes everything else you seek. Drop "sporty" and finding one should be easier.

Since you're in south Florida, have you tried searching the obituaries and estate auctions?
*LADIES AND GENTLEMEN: THE BITCH HAS LEFT TEH BUILDING*

DaKiwi2788
Senior User
Nov 5, 2002, 02:07 AM