Welcome to the MacNN Forums.

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

You are here: MacNN Forums > Community > Team MacNN > Snow Leopard/CUDA/SETI

Snow Leopard/CUDA/SETI
Thread Tools
BTBlomberg
Forum Regular
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Chicago Suburbs
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Aug 28, 2009, 12:44 PM
 
Well my copy of Snow Leopard is just about here. I am curious to see if CUDA will:

1. Work out-of-the-box with SETI
2. We will need to install the new Nvidia Driver for Snow Leopard (cudadriver_2.3.1_macos.pkg)
3. (worst option) we will need to wait for an update to the SETI app for mac for GPU crunching (OpenCL version)

I am hoping for 1 or 2, but 3 may be the reality. Anyone know?
     
arkayn
Dedicated MacNNer
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Golden Valley, AZ
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Aug 28, 2009, 01:19 PM
 
As far as I know, there is no app for OSX Cuda yet.
     
BTBlomberg  (op)
Forum Regular
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Chicago Suburbs
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Aug 28, 2009, 01:55 PM
 
Was afraid of that. So at the most the gain will be from the OS if any.
     
zombie67
Senior User
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Dublin, CA
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Sep 3, 2009, 07:49 PM
 
Don't blame BOINC or the projects. The problem is that nvidea has not yet released CUDA drivers for OSX.
     
BTBlomberg  (op)
Forum Regular
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Chicago Suburbs
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Sep 3, 2009, 08:51 PM
 
They have some here, but they may not be what we need.

Download CUDA Code - complete and free toolkit for creating derivative works
     
BTBlomberg  (op)
Forum Regular
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Chicago Suburbs
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Sep 3, 2009, 08:57 PM
 
I installed NVidia CUDA 2.3.1 for Mac Leopard on My iMac (spring 2009) with no Co-proccessoers found. Maybe a restart will get it, but now expecting much.
     
BTBlomberg  (op)
Forum Regular
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Chicago Suburbs
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Sep 3, 2009, 10:27 PM
 
After restart still the same.

Can't load library libcudart
No coprocessors
     
CIA
Mac Elite
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: Utah
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Sep 23, 2009, 05:58 PM
 
While it's possible from a programming perspective, CUDA has not been implemented for the Mac version of the Seti BOINC app yet. I don't think there are any apps under BOINC that support OpenCL or CUDA yet.

-Edit- I mean the Mac versions. Lots of CUDA love on the Windows side.
List of current Seti Apps running under BOINC
Work: 2008 8x3.2 MacPro, 8800GT, 16GB ram, zillions of HDs. (video editing)
Home: 2008 24" 2.8 iMac, 2TB Int, 4GB ram.
Road: 2009 13" 2.26 Macbook Pro, 8GB ram & 640GB WD blue internal
Retired to BOINC only: My trusty never-gonna-die 12" iBook G4 1.25
     
BTBlomberg  (op)
Forum Regular
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Chicago Suburbs
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Sep 23, 2009, 07:45 PM
 
Yep. Hopefully someone with knowledge can get this going. BOINC may be at issue also as it can not see the co-pocessors yet. So there is something missing for it to hook in there. That makes me wonder if it's the projects of the BOINC client that is the issue. Could be both. It almost looks like we will need to see version SETI 6.08 for Mac to get CUDA and then it would likely not have Alex's SSE optimization so someone would need to do that too it. Makes me wonder if I can muster enough brain cells to jump into XCode with it.
     
BTBlomberg  (op)
Forum Regular
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Chicago Suburbs
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Sep 23, 2009, 08:07 PM
 
Well reading more CUDA may be hot, but also too hot for some GPUs. Since only MacPros have removable video cards it may not be something one would want to do to their GPU. At least unless you can throttle it in the software (run xx% of the time like with CPUs). Also, I see you can't run both SETI CPU and GPU at the same time. May be OK if you run one BOINC project CPU and another GPU. BOINC is working on that though.
     
arkayn
Dedicated MacNNer
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Golden Valley, AZ
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Sep 24, 2009, 03:33 AM
 
You can run both if you are running the optimized apps from Lunatics, but I am a ATI person so run SETI on my CPU's and Milkyway/Collatz on my GPU's.
     
MrFixMille
Fresh-Faced Recruit
Join Date: Jun 2003
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jan 16, 2010, 09:01 AM
 
With the CUDA 3.0.1beta and Boinc 6.10.28 it finally happened!

Sa 16 Jan 01:13:22 2010 NVIDIA GPU 0: GeForce 8800 GT (driver version unknown, CUDA version 3000, compute capability 1.1, 512MB, 336 GFLOPS peak)

(MacPro 8x3Ghz, OS X 10.6.2)
     
arkayn
Dedicated MacNNer
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Golden Valley, AZ
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jan 16, 2010, 06:31 PM
 
Originally Posted by MrFixMille View Post
With the CUDA 3.0.1beta and Boinc 6.10.28 it finally happened!

Sa 16 Jan 01:13:22 2010 NVIDIA GPU 0: GeForce 8800 GT (driver version unknown, CUDA version 3000, compute capability 1.1, 512MB, 336 GFLOPS peak)

(MacPro 8x3Ghz, OS X 10.6.2)
There is also a Mac Cuda app for Collatz, being tested at the moment.
Collatz Conjecture
     
thestudio_bob
Fresh-Faced Recruit
Join Date: Jul 2003
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jan 19, 2010, 02:15 PM
 
Originally Posted by MrFixMille View Post
With the CUDA 3.0.1beta and Boinc 6.10.28 it finally happened!

Sa 16 Jan 01:13:22 2010 NVIDIA GPU 0: GeForce 8800 GT (driver version unknown, CUDA version 3000, compute capability 1.1, 512MB, 336 GFLOPS peak)

(MacPro 8x3Ghz, OS X 10.6.2)
Do you mind sharing how you got this to work?
     
arkayn
Dedicated MacNNer
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Golden Valley, AZ
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jan 19, 2010, 10:13 PM
 
Here is what worked at Collatz
Zombie67 wrote:
My process:

I upgraded Leopard to Snow leopard.

I installed the 2.3.1a driver.

I thought I upgraded BOINC to .28, but I really didn't.

I tried to run it, and failed.

I thought it might need the toolkit, so I installed it, 2.3a.

I tried to run it, and failed.

I then realized that I was still at .27. So I upgraded BOINC to .28.

I reinstalled the 2.3.1a driver, just to be sure. (not sure what is in the toolkit, which had a lower version number)

I tried to run it, and everything works.
     
zombie67
Senior User
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Dublin, CA
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jan 23, 2010, 10:09 PM
 
Yep. I have my CT120 iMac running it just fine. Also my Gen 1 MacPro, I replaced the ATI card with a 8800 GT, the fastest CUDA card it supports, and it too works great. Note, If you intend to do this too, make sure you find a Mac version. It is my understanding that the windows version does not work with my machine. They are no longer made, so you need to find them on EBAY or someplace like it. I have a second on the way. Maybe I will be able to run two in the same box.

To make it work, install the latest CUDA toolkit, and then the latest CUDA driver, and then 6.10.29.
     
mimlitchrh
Fresh-Faced Recruit
Join Date: Feb 2010
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Feb 1, 2010, 01:21 PM
 
I got colatz running on my MAC Pro with an NVIDIA FX 4800.

BOINC lists the status as "Running (0.17 CPU's + 1.00 NVIDIA GPUs)". Is this normal? Is it using one GPU core only?
Bob Mimlitch II
     
arkayn
Dedicated MacNNer
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Golden Valley, AZ
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Feb 1, 2010, 04:07 PM
 
I answered on the SETI forums.

The FX 4800 only has one actual GPU core, but 192 Cuda cores.

The 295 has 2 actual GPU cores.
     
Elphidieus
Fresh-Faced Recruit
Join Date: Jun 2006
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Feb 3, 2010, 09:39 AM
 
Originally Posted by mimlitchrh View Post
I got colatz running on my MAC Pro with an NVIDIA FX 4800.

BOINC lists the status as "Running (0.17 CPU's + 1.00 NVIDIA GPUs)". Is this normal? Is it using one GPU core only?
What's your runtime on Collatz with FX 4800...?
     
arkayn
Dedicated MacNNer
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Golden Valley, AZ
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Feb 3, 2010, 10:51 AM
 
Looks like he is doing 2300-2700 seconds.
Computers belonging to Bob Mimlitch
     
mimlitchrh
Fresh-Faced Recruit
Join Date: Feb 2010
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Feb 3, 2010, 11:11 AM
 
Yep. Average of 41.9 minutes. How Does this compare to other cards?
Bob Mimlitch II
     
BTBlomberg  (op)
Forum Regular
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Chicago Suburbs
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Mar 9, 2010, 02:34 PM
 
Was frustrated that 6.10.21 didn't support it and just saw 6.10.36 today. Missed 6.10.28. I already had cudadriver_2.3.1a_macos.pkg loaded.

Now it says:
Tue Mar 9 12:21:51 2010
NVIDIA GPU 0: GeForce 9400 (driver version unknown, CUDA version 2030, compute capability 1.1, 254MB, 37 GFLOPS peak)

Now to figure out if I can get SETI running on it too. Using AK version for my Spring 2009 Core2Duo iMac 2.66 GHz.
     
arkayn
Dedicated MacNNer
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Golden Valley, AZ
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Mar 9, 2010, 06:16 PM
 
There is still no Mac Cuda for SETI, so far I only know of Collatz for sure that has a Mac Cuda.
     
BTBlomberg  (op)
Forum Regular
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Chicago Suburbs
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Mar 9, 2010, 06:45 PM
 
I tried Collatz and it would get set up but would error regarding the CPU RAM. I guess BOINC needs a minimum of 256 MB of Video RAM for CUDA. Maybe because of the integrated nature of the 9400M it is not showing as truly 256MB, but as 254MB. Just a program adjustment of 2 or 3 MB less would have it working. It may be that it needs it though and the GPU needs above that to draw the screen. Not sure.

Here is more from Nvidia CUDA & ATI Stream (CAL) FAQ:
BOINC FAQ Service
     
arkayn
Dedicated MacNNer
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Golden Valley, AZ
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Mar 9, 2010, 09:02 PM
 
I think SETI CUDA wants 256 MB as well.
     
zombie67
Senior User
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Dublin, CA
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Mar 9, 2010, 11:06 PM
 
Originally Posted by arkayn View Post
There is still no Mac Cuda for SETI, so far I only know of Collatz for sure that has a Mac Cuda.
PrimeGrid's AP26 sub-project has a CUDA app for OSX.
     
zombie67
Senior User
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Dublin, CA
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Mar 9, 2010, 11:09 PM
 
Originally Posted by BTBlomberg View Post
I tried Collatz and it would get set up but would error regarding the CPU RAM. I guess BOINC needs a minimum of 256 MB of Video RAM for CUDA. Maybe because of the integrated nature of the 9400M it is not showing as truly 256MB, but as 254MB. Just a program adjustment of 2 or 3 MB less would have it working. It may be that it needs it though and the GPU needs above that to draw the screen. Not sure.

Here is more from Nvidia CUDA & ATI Stream (CAL) FAQ:
BOINC FAQ Service
I had this same problem with the PG AP26 CUDA app, on my iMac with a GT120/256mb.

This can be circumvented by using an app_info.xml. See this thread:

*New, improved* AP26 Mac CUDA app for testing
     
BTBlomberg  (op)
Forum Regular
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Chicago Suburbs
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Mar 10, 2010, 11:35 AM
 
Thanks Guys. Funny thing is I restarted BOINC and nothing seamed to have changed, but by this morning I had a collatz 2.02 (cuda) WU completed at 100% and after 8+ hours and it did not error out. I have a second at just over 10% at 47 minutes. So, something resolved here. I may look at PG, but may do a little Collatz first. Hopefully SETI gets their act together now the Mac App works for GPU.

I have to say I may need to back it off some if I can as the screen show a lag when switching apps and other graphic intensive acts. I guess I will need to upgrade to the my Hackintosh to a decent Nvidia card now. Unfortunately the iMac line is now all ATI at the top end (512MB card) now otherwise a core 7i would be sweet. Well it is anyway.
     
BTBlomberg  (op)
Forum Regular
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Chicago Suburbs
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Mar 10, 2010, 06:52 PM
 
I have PG CUDA running now thanks to Zombie67's link. Have to manually suspend when I am using the computer though as BOINCs solution for not using the GPU when computer in use does not seam to work and makes it like running the old command line clients when you tried to push the nice setting too far. Old guys who have been crunching 10 years+ will get that.
     
The Godfather
Addicted to MacNN
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: Tampa, Florida
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Apr 23, 2010, 01:30 PM
 
what, other than finding prime numbers, can you do with OpenCL/CUDA?

Are the 320M equipped MBPs getting a significant boost in productivity apps?
     
macaddict0001
Mac Elite
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Edmonton, AB
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Apr 23, 2010, 08:11 PM
 
Originally Posted by BTBlomberg View Post
I have PG CUDA running now thanks to Zombie67's link. Have to manually suspend when I am using the computer though as BOINCs solution for not using the GPU when computer in use does not seam to work and makes it like running the old command line clients when you tried to push the nice setting too far. Old guys who have been crunching 10 years+ will get that.
Go to advanced view in Boinc. Then under the activities menu make sure run based on preferences is selected.
     
   
Thread Tools
 
Forum Links
Forum Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts
BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Top
Privacy Policy
All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:04 PM.
All contents of these forums © 1995-2017 MacNN. All rights reserved.
Branding + Design: www.gesamtbild.com
vBulletin v.3.8.8 © 2000-2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.,