Welcome to the MacNN Forums.

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

You are here: MacNN Forums > Software - Troubleshooting and Discussion > GUI Customization > So let's see some Konfab-ulous desktop shots

So let's see some Konfab-ulous desktop shots
Thread Tools
rgoer
Mac Enthusiast
Join Date: Sep 2000
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Feb 13, 2003, 02:25 PM
 
Post your Konfabulator screengrabs, showing off your widg-alicious new desktop environments...
Even Einstein feared the power of "spooky action at a distance"
     
MacAgent
Senior User
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Manticore
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Feb 13, 2003, 03:21 PM
 


Currently displaying: Calendar, To Do, News Ticker, Homeland Status, Stopwatch v0.2 (My widget, in development), and System Monitor v0.1 (Also mine, also in development).
     
Dace
Mac Elite
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Montreal, Qc
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Feb 13, 2003, 03:46 PM
 



I don't use Konfabulator....everything I need I already have in my menubar...as for the iTunes Remote, iTunes minimized will do. I just used Konfabulator for this screenshot.


Data Bytes Computers - Montreal, QC
Ventes & Services / Sales & Services
     
Macanoid
Senior User
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: macsterdam
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Feb 13, 2003, 04:05 PM
 
Could you please tell me where you got that wonderful desktop picture??
     
Dace
Mac Elite
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Montreal, Qc
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Feb 13, 2003, 04:37 PM
 
Originally posted by Macanoid:
Could you please tell me where you got that wonderful desktop picture??
My desktop is a modification of Macalicious' "Play" desktop:



If you want my version...email me.


Data Bytes Computers - Montreal, QC
Ventes & Services / Sales & Services
     
Macanoid
Senior User
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: macsterdam
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Feb 13, 2003, 04:42 PM
 
Thanks for the quick reply dace! I'm going for the original graphite version.
     
SwarmyCurve
Grizzled Veteran
Join Date: May 2002
Location: USA
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Feb 13, 2003, 05:06 PM
 
Originally posted by MacAgent:


Currently displaying: Calendar, To Do, News Ticker, Homeland Status, Stopwatch v0.2 (My widget, in development), and System Monitor v0.1 (Also mine, also in development).
I can't believe someone would want to have a "Homeland Security" widget on their desktop . . .
     
MacAgent
Senior User
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Manticore
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Feb 13, 2003, 06:01 PM
 
Heh, I don't keep it there, I just had it there at the moment. Mostly downloaded it to see how it works.
     
fetopher
Dedicated MacNNer
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Vancouver, WA
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Feb 13, 2003, 06:20 PM
 
How do you grab a screen shot in JPG format? I can only seem to do it as a PDF. I know this is new in 10.2, but I'd rather have the JPG. Any help?
Me
Dual 2.6GHz Intel Xeon | 23" Apple Cinema Display | 13" MacBook | 15" AluBook 1.67 GHz | 1.42 GHz Mac mini | 50" NEC Plasma | Tiger | 80GB iPod Video | 60GB iPod photo | 4GB iPod mini | 1GB iPod shuffle | 4GB iPod nano
     
Hi I'm Mike
Mac Enthusiast
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Michigan
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Feb 13, 2003, 07:23 PM
 
     
Nebagakid
Mac Elite
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: 'round the corner
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Feb 13, 2003, 10:04 PM
 
Originally posted by Dace:
My desktop is a modification of Macalicious' "Play" desktop:



If you want my version...email me.
Oh man, I must be out of it. I thought that was a really really big KONFABULATOR iTunes remote...that would be really nifty if someone made a widget that big....
     
fireside
Professional Poster
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Floreeda
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Feb 14, 2003, 12:24 AM
 
Originally posted by Nebagakid:
Oh man, I must be out of it. I thought that was a really really big KONFABULATOR iTunes remote...that would be really nifty if someone made a widget that big....
rofl!
     
SomeToast
Senior User
Join Date: Jan 1999
Location: California - Bay Area
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Feb 14, 2003, 02:44 AM
 


I'm glad I can keep Audion and the Terminal hidden now. Space is getting cleaner!
     
Brooks Seymore
Fresh-Faced Recruit
Join Date: Mar 2002
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Feb 14, 2003, 03:57 AM
 
Originally posted by SomeToast:


I'm glad I can keep Audion and the Terminal hidden now. Space is getting cleaner!
The little dots underneath your Audion widget, what are those from?

Also, where did you score the desktop image?

B.
     
SomeToast
Senior User
Join Date: Jan 1999
Location: California - Bay Area
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Feb 14, 2003, 05:14 AM
 
Originally posted by Brooks Seymore:
The little dots underneath your Audion widget, what are those from?

Also, where did you score the desktop image?
The dots show the number of people connected to the SHOUTcast server on the machine. When the widget's launched, it gets the max listener count from the server and creates instances of the graphic on the fly. Every time the track changes, it gets the current listener count from the server and lights up the appropriate number. (it's only a hobbyist server running off my cable modem, which is why the listener max is so abysmally low )

The dot graphics themselves were made in Photoshop. The desktop is a PDF file I made in Illustrator.
( Last edited by SomeToast; Feb 14, 2003 at 05:21 AM. )
     
sweatervest
Forum Regular
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: New York
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Feb 14, 2003, 09:08 AM
 
Hi I'm Mike,

What theme are you using in your screen shot?

Thanks,
Liz
     
iamnotmad
Senior User
Join Date: Mar 2001
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Feb 14, 2003, 12:34 PM
 
why does one want a clock on thier desktop as well as in the menubar?
     
xyber233
Mac Elite
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Chicago
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Feb 14, 2003, 04:47 PM
 
Originally posted by fetopher:
How do you grab a screen shot in JPG format? I can only seem to do it as a PDF. I know this is new in 10.2, but I'd rather have the JPG. Any help?
You can open up the screenshot in Preview and export it as a jpg.
     
starman
Clinically Insane
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Union County, NJ
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Feb 14, 2003, 05:06 PM
 
Originally posted by iamnotmad:
why does one want a clock on thier desktop as well as in the menubar?
I'm wondering that myself. Too much real estate lost for something redundant.

Mike

Home - Twitter - Sig Wall-Retired - Flickr
     
Hi I'm Mike
Mac Enthusiast
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Michigan
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Feb 14, 2003, 07:03 PM
 
Originally posted by sweatervest:
Hi I'm Mike,

What theme are you using in your screen shot?

Thanks,
Liz
Hi Liz,
It is called Monk and I don't think I will ever finish it cause I have no ambition. but you should see the buttons wow! awesome! alrighty thanks for asking.
     
sweatervest
Forum Regular
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: New York
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Feb 15, 2003, 12:28 AM
 
Originally posted by Hi I'm Mike:
Hi Liz,
It is called Monk and I don't think I will ever finish it cause I have no ambition. but you should see the buttons wow! awesome! alrighty thanks for asking.
hehe that is so not fair, you have to finish it!
     
Hi I'm Mike
Mac Enthusiast
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Michigan
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Feb 15, 2003, 03:51 PM
 
it's ugly. i'm working on and off on like 3 themes right now and i just don't have the push to do them. they will sit until i feel like i would like to do them. i hate doing things that make me feel like i have to do it. i want to do them but dont.
     
Mac Guru
Mac Elite
Join Date: Nov 1999
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Feb 16, 2003, 01:55 AM
 


Mac Guru
     
Nebagakid
Mac Elite
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: 'round the corner
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Feb 16, 2003, 01:59 AM
 
MGuru: What is the Mac OS X style disk widget in the bottom left corner?
     
Mac Guru
Mac Elite
Join Date: Nov 1999
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Feb 16, 2003, 02:11 AM
 
That's my Airport widget, it's brand new in the Konfab Gallery, it's called AirPort Platters.

Mac Guru
     
Nebagakid
Mac Elite
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: 'round the corner
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Feb 16, 2003, 02:29 AM
 
Heh, my new widget, the Keychain one, is just out as well,

I like the silver coin platters (sorta look like watch batteries)....
I like the look, too bad I do not have an active AirPort card....

Oh yeah, check out my new widget, Keychain, at http://konfabulator.deskmod.com/?sho...&skin_id=25968"
     
Mac Guru
Mac Elite
Join Date: Nov 1999
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Feb 16, 2003, 02:34 AM
 
They're ACTUALLY the same platters used under several OS X Server icons. I redrew it to use with other stuff like this.

Mac Guru
     
Nebagakid
Mac Elite
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: 'round the corner
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Feb 16, 2003, 02:38 AM
 
Originally posted by Mac Guru:
They're ACTUALLY the same platters used under several OS X Server icons. I redrew it to use with other stuff like this.

Mac Guru
well, they are spiffy... i hope to see more KONFABULATOR widgets from you, but no clocks... too many clocks already
     
CarbonG4
Mac Enthusiast
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: C'dale, IL
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Feb 16, 2003, 04:48 AM
 
my screenshot
http://www.deskmod.com/core.mod?show...&skin_id=25982

displaying a couple of my custom modifications to some existing widgets...

pending permission from Arlo my custom Memory.widget will be posted soon (permission already granted from the original creator of the Memory.widget, Jorge Salvador Caffarena).

//Carbon


:: Carbon Themes v1.5 ::
     
mrtew
Professional Poster
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: South Detroit
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Feb 16, 2003, 10:48 AM
 
Originally posted by fetopher:
How do you grab a screen shot in JPG format? I can only seem to do it as a PDF. I know this is new in 10.2, but I'd rather have the JPG. Any help?

You have to covert the pdf after the grab. I drop it on 'Drop JPEG' which is always in my dock and instantly have a jpg copy of my latest grab.


Originally posted by iamnotmad:
why does one want a clock on thier desktop as well as in the menubar?
The menubar clock is for when I am working at my computer and everything on the desktop is covered up, and the Kondesktopwidgetfabulatorclock is for when I am crashing my HP at work and am just listening to iTunes on my Mac and can see the clock from 3 feet away. Basically my Mac is a $3000 iPod/Clock when I am getting paid.

I love the U.S., but we need some time apart.
     
eevyl
Grizzled Veteran
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Málaga, Spain, Europe, Earth, Solar System
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Feb 16, 2003, 12:50 PM
 
Originally posted by CarbonG4:
pending permission from Arlo my custom Memory.widget will be posted soon (permission already granted from the original creator of the Memory.widget, Jorge Salvador Caffarena).
Hey man I am Jorge Salvador Caffarena!

BTW I just posted an update to my Memory widget, go to the Konfabulator Gallery and search for it.

So, here is my Konfabulous screenshot using the following widgets:
  • Calendario, a personal tweaked version of the original Calendar, in Spanish
  • Picture Frame Plus, another personal modification, this time for selecting a subfolder inside the Pictures folder
  • The Weather
  • Uptime
  • Memory
  • OnlyFinder
  • MiniTunes
( Last edited by eevyl; Feb 16, 2003 at 12:56 PM. )
     
Nebagakid
Mac Elite
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: 'round the corner
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Feb 16, 2003, 02:21 PM
 
Originally posted by fireside:
rofl!
You laughed then, but how about now:

     
Cerbero
Dedicated MacNNer
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Sweden
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Feb 16, 2003, 02:41 PM
 
Originally posted by Mac Guru:


Mac Guru
Hehe, cool. Someone's using my redrawn RedHat icons
I went through a shitload of work with them, and 2 days after I was finnished, I got tired of the whole look, and haven't used them since

I'd post my screenshot here, but I don't use Kon, so..
     
SomeToast
Senior User
Join Date: Jan 1999
Location: California - Bay Area
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Feb 16, 2003, 03:08 PM
 
Originally posted by Nebagakid:
You laughed then, but how about now:
PNG! For the love of god, use PNG!
     
Nebagakid
Mac Elite
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: 'round the corner
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Feb 16, 2003, 03:33 PM
 
why do you want a PNG? It was originally a PNG, but more people (those who use IE) can view JPGs, meh, wait!
     
CarbonG4
Mac Enthusiast
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: C'dale, IL
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Feb 16, 2003, 03:54 PM
 
eevyl -- very nice update to your Memory.widget... I've actually lost interest in my LCD mod for it as I like the Graphite RAM module now available in the skin prefs.

Sooo.... I'm thinking about just dropping the idea since other's are already working on similiar LCD-look system monitors and what not.

//Carbon


:: Carbon Themes v1.5 ::
     
SomeToast
Senior User
Join Date: Jan 1999
Location: California - Bay Area
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Feb 16, 2003, 08:05 PM
 
Originally posted by Nebagakid:
why do you want a PNG? It was originally a PNG, but more people (those who use IE) can view JPGs, meh, wait!
No, no... I meant PNG for the play button in the widget. Something to antialias that wicked jagged edge.
     
janitor
Fresh-Faced Recruit
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Isla Vista
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Feb 17, 2003, 04:09 AM
 




Mandatory image link.
     
tonton
Grizzled Veteran
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Hong Kong
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Feb 17, 2003, 08:30 AM
 
Here's mine:

n+N

Got Vurt? Jeff Noon
     
starman
Clinically Insane
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Union County, NJ
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Feb 17, 2003, 10:56 AM
 
tonton,
Link to that wallpaper, please?

Mike

Home - Twitter - Sig Wall-Retired - Flickr
     
dark3lf
Mac Elite
Join Date: May 2000
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Feb 17, 2003, 12:57 PM
 
     
codywalton
Grizzled Veteran
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Houston, TX
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Feb 17, 2003, 01:02 PM
 
Jeez... maybe its just me, but i can't stand to have all that stuff on my desktop. i like it CLEAN.

to me, Konfabulator just feels like some kid who refuses to clean up his room. I like things nice and organized....

that's just me...
     
spiky_dog
Mac Elite
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: Plainview, NY
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Feb 17, 2003, 02:03 PM
 
Originally posted by codywalton:
Jeez... maybe its just me, but i can't stand to have all that stuff on my desktop. i like it CLEAN.

to me, Konfabulator just feels like some kid who refuses to clean up his room. I like things nice and organized....

that's just me...
how's this for clean?



(nb: i have the homeland security widget for the purpose of irony. )
     
SwarmyCurve
Grizzled Veteran
Join Date: May 2002
Location: USA
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Feb 17, 2003, 03:45 PM
 
My turn!



Click here for a larger view (300k).

I just read today that I need to buy a dell laptop for the college I'm going to be attending, come August. My parents aren't going to be happy,. They though my $3k Powerbook I got in December as an Xmas gift would be fine... coming from a school with half imacs and powermacs this is rather odd. Oh well! Another toy.
     
fetopher
Dedicated MacNNer
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Vancouver, WA
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Feb 17, 2003, 05:51 PM
 
Here's mine:
Click Here
Me
Dual 2.6GHz Intel Xeon | 23" Apple Cinema Display | 13" MacBook | 15" AluBook 1.67 GHz | 1.42 GHz Mac mini | 50" NEC Plasma | Tiger | 80GB iPod Video | 60GB iPod photo | 4GB iPod mini | 1GB iPod shuffle | 4GB iPod nano
     
tonton
Grizzled Veteran
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Hong Kong
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Feb 18, 2003, 05:20 AM
 
Originally posted by starman:
tonton,
Link to that wallpaper, please?
Mike
I used my 2 megpixel digital camera to reproduce part of an ad for a Lancme skincare product, then gave it an artistic quality with Photoshop's Median filter.

1152x768

I have a 1st gen TiBook. You'll probably need to resize the image yourself.
n+N

Got Vurt? Jeff Noon
     
Silky Voice of The Gorn
Mac Elite
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Some dust-bowl of a planet
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Feb 18, 2003, 11:16 AM
 
Originally posted by SwarmyCurve:
My turn!
I just read today that I need to buy a dell laptop for the college I'm going to be attending, come August. My parents aren't going to be happy,. They though my $3k Powerbook I got in December as an Xmas gift would be fine... coming from a school with half imacs and powermacs this is rather odd. Oh well! Another toy.
A bit off topic, but I read that webpage of your college, and I call BULL$HIT. The "requirement" seems predicated on "custom software" for the college...wtf could that be? Do some research; I bet you can do 90% of what you need to with the tbook. And the penalty for not buing a Dell seems only to be that they won't support your Mac...which is a plus, in my book
     
blackmacx
Fresh-Faced Recruit
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: The far northern expanses... Canada
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Feb 18, 2003, 03:06 PM
 
I like what I see of your background image; where did you get it and could you post a link?

Cheers,

BlackMacX
     
[APi]TheMan
Mac Elite
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Chico, CA and Carlsbad, CA.
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Feb 18, 2003, 03:35 PM
 
woot:


Click for bigger screenie. I'm not sure if I am going to keep the DiskSpace widget... eh. The weather widget is just gorgeous, though, now I wish it would snow so here so I could get that lovely snow image.

Post #1000... woohoo
"In Nomine Patris, Et Fili, Et Spiritus Sancti"

     
codywalton
Grizzled Veteran
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Houston, TX
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Feb 18, 2003, 03:47 PM
 
Originally posted by SwarmyCurve:


I just read today that I need to buy a dell laptop for the college I'm going to be attending, come August. My parents aren't going to be happy,. They though my $3k Powerbook I got in December as an Xmas gift would be fine... coming from a school with half imacs and powermacs this is rather odd. Oh well! Another toy.


Two words: Virtual PC
     
 
Thread Tools
 
Forum Links
Forum Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts
BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Top
Privacy Policy
All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:16 PM.
All contents of these forums © 1995-2017 MacNN. All rights reserved.
Branding + Design: www.gesamtbild.com
vBulletin v.3.8.8 © 2000-2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.,