Welcome to the MacNN Forums.

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

You are here: MacNN Forums > Software - Troubleshooting and Discussion > macOS > Mac Help maxing out processor

Mac Help maxing out processor
Thread Tools
AlaskaBoy
Fresh-Faced Recruit
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Fairbanks, Alaska
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Dec 3, 2004, 08:46 PM
 
I've asked this in the Apple forums and never really gotten a good answer....

When i start Mac Help my processor maxes out.. and stays maxed out until I quit Mac Help.

Sometimes I just get the spinning beachball of death & nothing happens until I manually select a Help Library.

Other times nothing at all happens & i have to force quit it.

This is just the start of my Mac Help problems..

Thanks!
John

PS I run 10.3.6 with all current updates. I am on a 26.4 dialup (No, broadband is NOT available on the north side of Fairbanks, Alaska.)
---
I was up all night wondering where the sun went. Then it dawned on me.

1.6 G5, Gig-o-RAM, 80HD, DVD, 80 external FW, 15g iPod. (Old Beige G3(running 10.2.8 very nicely) w/tons of accessories)
     
brapper
Professional Poster
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Canada
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Dec 3, 2004, 11:32 PM
 
ugh...26.4kbps? I feel for you...
I can't help you much with you issue though, but I know that it's notoriously slow and prone to beachballs on every system I've used it on.
     
Dr. Smoke
Forum Regular
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Earth
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Dec 5, 2004, 10:14 PM
 
See my Troubleshooting Help Viewer FAQ for comprehensive advice on fixing issues with Help Viewer.
Good Luck!

Dr. Smoke
Author: Troubleshooting Mac OS X
     
macintologist
Professional Poster
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Smallish town in Ohio
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Dec 6, 2004, 06:12 PM
 
Originally posted by AlaskaBoy:
[snip]
(No, broadband is NOT available on the north side of Fairbanks, Alaska.) [/B]
Now that's some place I wouldn't mind being!
     
   
Thread Tools
 
Forum Links
Forum Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts
BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Top
Privacy Policy
All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:34 PM.
All contents of these forums © 1995-2017 MacNN. All rights reserved.
Branding + Design: www.gesamtbild.com
vBulletin v.3.8.8 © 2000-2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.,