Welcome to the MacNN Forums.

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

You are here: MacNN Forums > Enthusiast Zone > Networking > 2 of 4 ports not working. Any way to fix this?

2 of 4 ports not working. Any way to fix this?
Thread Tools
15appletree
Fresh-Faced Recruit
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Philadelphia
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Nov 7, 2005, 07:54 PM
 
My D-Link DI-740 works OK on ports 1 and 2, but ports 3 and 4 flash rapidly and don't connect. All 4 worked OK in the past. I recently moved to another house and the router may have been knocked around a bit. Is there any way to restore it -- or is it trash? (I want to network a PC and 2 Macs, one of which is an old G4 that cannot support Airport -- hence I need a wired router.) I use a cable modem.
     
ghporter
Administrator
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: San Antonio TX USA
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Nov 7, 2005, 08:38 PM
 
Alas, just about any consumer router that has ports fail is, as far as those bad ports go, hosed. It isn't worth anyone's time to open them up and say "Yep, those ports are fried."

A consumer router is made up of two parts: a router that examines the data and determines where it should go, and a full duplex high speed switch. The part of your router you're having problems with is the switch. Now for the good news: if you don't want to buy a new router, you can buy JUST A SWITCH for not too much money, hook it to either of the working ports, and hook all the computers to the switch. Ta DA! All will work! Even better, most "SOHO" switches don't even need your attention to configure them!

Glenn -----OTR/L, MOT, Tx
     
15appletree  (op)
Fresh-Faced Recruit
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Philadelphia
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Nov 8, 2005, 11:13 AM
 
Hello, Glenn
Many thanks for your reply and encouraging words. Can you suggest where I can buy a duplex switch? Is it a device that fits into my present router? I looked on the web, but "router switch" brings up routers. The price of a new 4-port router is around $50, which is OK with me. So unless I can find a duplex switch somewhere, maybe a new router may be my best choise. What to you advise?
     
15appletree  (op)
Fresh-Faced Recruit
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Philadelphia
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Nov 8, 2005, 04:20 PM
 
Hello, again
Well, I'm back to answer my own question. (I seem to do that frequently). I bought a switch at Radio Shack for $29, plugged it all in -- and ta-da -- you are right. No conguration needed.
Thanks again. This forum never fails.
     
   
Thread Tools
 
Forum Links
Forum Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts
BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Top
Privacy Policy
All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:45 PM.
All contents of these forums © 1995-2017 MacNN. All rights reserved.
Branding + Design: www.gesamtbild.com
vBulletin v.3.8.8 © 2000-2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.,