Welcome to the MacNN Forums.

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

You are here: MacNN Forums > Software - Troubleshooting and Discussion > Applications > No sound in Windows Media Player and Realplayer

No sound in Windows Media Player and Realplayer
Thread Tools
yota
Fresh-Faced Recruit
Join Date: Mar 2005
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Mar 25, 2005, 11:21 PM
 
Hi! I would like to ask questions to Mac experts! I have installed Windows Media Player 9 for MacOS X and also Reaplayer 10 (the free version) in order to player their files (.asf and .rm, etc).

BUT! I have to sound on both of them! On Windows Media Player, it says that the codecs are not appropriate / found, and on RealPlayer, it doesn't say anything, just no sound.

I also want to say that on VLC (for other movies, not real or media player), no problem, there is sound, as there is also sound for System sounds...

I have a Powerbook G4 17" and I don't understand why those 2 applications don't work.

Thanks a lot for your help!!!
     
grobbins
Junior Member
Join Date: Sep 2000
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Mar 27, 2005, 04:40 PM
 
Which model (speed) of PowerBook do you have?

Try launching Apple's GarageBand software, then try RealPlayer and WMP again.
     
yota  (op)
Fresh-Faced Recruit
Join Date: Mar 2005
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Mar 28, 2005, 04:22 AM
 
I have a Powerbook G4 17" (the new one).

It's very weird problem actually. I notice that even Quicktime doesn't play sound! For example, if I connect to Apple's homepage and then go to Quicktime and try to see trailers, they display video, but no sound.

But VLC does!!!

I'll try to run Garageband... Do you think that could be the source of the problem? Why?
     
yota  (op)
Fresh-Faced Recruit
Join Date: Mar 2005
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Mar 28, 2005, 08:36 AM
 
IT WORKED!!! After I opened Garage Band and closed, I opened Windows Media Player and it worked! Quicktime also!!! Why Garage band made problem??? Do you know!?
     
Tsilou B.
Senior User
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Austria
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Mar 28, 2005, 10:57 AM
 
Originally posted by yota:
IT WORKED!!! After I opened Garage Band and closed, I opened Windows Media Player and it worked! Quicktime also!!! Why Garage band made problem??? Do you know!?
Interesting question... I would like to know about this, too
I've never heard of that behaviour before (or at least I can't remember it).
     
Krusty
Professional Poster
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: Always within bluetooth range
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Mar 28, 2005, 05:58 PM
 
Read this thread.
     
   
Thread Tools
 
Forum Links
Forum Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts
BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Top
Privacy Policy
All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:33 AM.
All contents of these forums © 1995-2017 MacNN. All rights reserved.
Branding + Design: www.gesamtbild.com
vBulletin v.3.8.8 © 2000-2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.,