Welcome to the MacNN Forums.

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

You are here: MacNN Forums > Community > MacNN Lounge > Flash on Mobile - Dead

Flash on Mobile - Dead
Thread Tools
Athens
Addicted to MacNN
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Great White North
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jul 1, 2012, 05:26 AM
 
Steve Would Be Proud: How Apple Won The War Against Flash | TechCrunch

An Update on Flash Player and Android Adobe AIR and Adobe Flash Player Team Blog

Well it would appear that Flash on mobile is dead. Adobe announced that it will be pulling the flash player from Google play and that it would not support 4.1. Nice article on the history of Flash player on Mobile and how Steve was right that the platform never really worked well on mobile. I honestly can't say I miss flash on mobile. I hardly even use it on the desktop since I have a plugin to block flash. I hardly ever need to allow flash to use websites.

Its to bad Steve isn't around to see how right he was about it.
Blandine Bureau 1940 - 2011
Missed 2012 by 3 days, RIP Grandma :-(
     
subego
Clinically Insane
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Chicago, Bang! Bang!
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jul 1, 2012, 05:40 AM
 
Rest in pieces.
     
design219
Professional Poster
Join Date: Oct 2004
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jul 1, 2012, 10:13 AM
 
Long live html5!
__________________________________________________

My stupid iPhone game: Nesen Probe, it's rather old, annoying and pointless, but it's free.
Was free. Now it's gone. Never to be seen again.
Off to join its brother and sister apps that could not
keep up with the ever updating iOS. RIP Nesen Probe.
     
Athens  (op)
Addicted to MacNN
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Great White North
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jul 1, 2012, 11:25 PM
 
Now if h264 would just win out the video standards...
Blandine Bureau 1940 - 2011
Missed 2012 by 3 days, RIP Grandma :-(
     
P
Moderator
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Gothenburg, Sweden
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jul 2, 2012, 03:17 AM
 
Originally Posted by Athens View Post
Now if h264 would just win out the video standards...
It has in effect done that. Youtube is not going WebM only, Chrome is not going WebM only, and Mozilla has already added H.264 support to the mobile version of Firefox and discussing doing so on the desktop. Their problem there is that if they just enable OS codecs, that leaves all Win XP users out in the cold, and XP is still some 40% of their userbase. That is a very different problem from their principled stand against all patent-encumbered codecs.

It has also been interesting to view the reactions to this. Mozilla has been very open about the fact that this was a war they lost, and they're now surrendering. Google has not said a word.
The new Mac Pro has up to 30 MB of cache inside the processor itself. That's more than the HD in my first Mac. Somehow I'm still running out of space.
     
Athens  (op)
Addicted to MacNN
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Great White North
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jul 2, 2012, 03:59 PM
 
A lot of developers are sticking to Flash for video right now because of the possible format war with WebM. Google backing WebM pushed clear adoption of H.264 for the HTML 5 standard back by a couple years at least.
( Last edited by Athens; Jul 2, 2012 at 07:02 PM. )
Blandine Bureau 1940 - 2011
Missed 2012 by 3 days, RIP Grandma :-(
     
Spheric Harlot
Clinically Insane
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: 888500128, C3, 2nd soft.
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jul 2, 2012, 04:14 PM
 
But most Flash video is just a wrapper for h.264!
     
P
Moderator
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Gothenburg, Sweden
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jul 2, 2012, 04:38 PM
 
Originally Posted by Athens View Post
A lot of developers are sticking to Flash for video right now because of the possible format war with WebM. Google backing WebM pushed clear adoption of H.264 back by a couple years at least.
I don't see how. If you already have a Flash infrastructure, it's easy to add HTML5 <video> with H.264. Adding WebM means re-encoding. This is a big reason why H.264 is winning - the transition from Flash is so easy.
The new Mac Pro has up to 30 MB of cache inside the processor itself. That's more than the HD in my first Mac. Somehow I'm still running out of space.
     
andi*pandi
Moderator
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: inside 128, north of 90
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jul 2, 2012, 04:57 PM
 
It isn't one or the other. As a developer you have to have support for all formats, including still having a flash fallback.

I've used MediaElement.js - HTML5 video player and audio player with Flash and Silverlight shims and while not perfect, it accomplishes this.
     
Athens  (op)
Addicted to MacNN
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Great White North
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jul 2, 2012, 07:01 PM
 
Originally Posted by Spheric Harlot View Post
But most Flash video is just a wrapper for h.264!
Yes, but HTML 5 standard does not use h.264 in a flash wrapper....
Blandine Bureau 1940 - 2011
Missed 2012 by 3 days, RIP Grandma :-(
     
Spheric Harlot
Clinically Insane
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: 888500128, C3, 2nd soft.
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jul 2, 2012, 07:08 PM
 
Originally Posted by Athens View Post
Yes, but HTML 5 standard does not use h.264 in a flash wrapper....
So?

IANAD, but it would seem utterly trivial to just leave off the wrapper and serve up the h.264 directly, if needed.
     
P
Moderator
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Gothenburg, Sweden
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jul 3, 2012, 03:40 AM
 
Originally Posted by Spheric Harlot View Post
So?

IANAD, but it would seem utterly trivial to just leave off the wrapper and serve up the h.264 directly, if needed.
Correct - which is what is generally done: try to use <video> with H.264, and use Flash as fallback if that fails.
The new Mac Pro has up to 30 MB of cache inside the processor itself. That's more than the HD in my first Mac. Somehow I'm still running out of space.
     
   
Thread Tools
 
Forum Links
Forum Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts
BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Top
Privacy Policy
All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:59 AM.
All contents of these forums © 1995-2017 MacNN. All rights reserved.
Branding + Design: www.gesamtbild.com
vBulletin v.3.8.8 © 2000-2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.,