Welcome to the MacNN Forums.

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

You are here: MacNN Forums > Software - Troubleshooting and Discussion > macOS > funny minimizing bug in 10.4!

funny minimizing bug in 10.4!
Thread Tools
Peabo
Senior User
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: London, England
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jun 3, 2005, 04:59 PM
 
Try this:

bring up a finder window, hold down ctrl+shift to minimize it in super slow mo, then hold shift and maximize it.


LC 16Mhz • LC 475 25Mhz • Centris 650 25Mhz • Performa 6200/75Mhz • G3 266Mhz • Snow iMac DVSE 500Mhz
G4 QS 733Mhz • 17" Powerbook 1.33Ghz • 15" MacBook Pro Core Duo 2.16Ghz • Mac Pro 8-Core 3.0 Ghz
     
sandman
Mac Enthusiast
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: FL
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jun 3, 2005, 05:26 PM
 
Originally Posted by z0ne81
Try this:

bring up a finder window, hold down ctrl+shift to minimize it in super slow mo, then hold shift and maximize it.


que?
sandman
17" PowerBook/OS X.4.2/60GB/1G/Airport Express/iPod 20GB (Click Wheel)
     
brapper
Professional Poster
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Canada
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jun 3, 2005, 05:47 PM
 
ain't nothing new...
     
Chuckit
Clinically Insane
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: San Diego, CA, USA
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jun 3, 2005, 06:10 PM
 
It's not a bug, either.
Chuck
___
"Instead of either 'multi-talented' or 'multitalented' use 'bisexual'."
     
Peabo  (op)
Senior User
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: London, England
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jun 3, 2005, 06:11 PM
 
when I do it, the window maximizes to a white block. My girlfriend was able to replicate it on her MDD G4. Make sure you do EXACTLY what i described.
LC 16Mhz • LC 475 25Mhz • Centris 650 25Mhz • Performa 6200/75Mhz • G3 266Mhz • Snow iMac DVSE 500Mhz
G4 QS 733Mhz • 17" Powerbook 1.33Ghz • 15" MacBook Pro Core Duo 2.16Ghz • Mac Pro 8-Core 3.0 Ghz
     
Taipan
Dedicated MacNNer
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Germany
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jun 3, 2005, 06:14 PM
 
Hi!

Hm, this gives me a finder window in pure white. I'd say this IS a bug.
     
Peabo  (op)
Senior User
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: London, England
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jun 3, 2005, 06:16 PM
 
I wasn't implying that the slow motion effect was the bug!
LC 16Mhz • LC 475 25Mhz • Centris 650 25Mhz • Performa 6200/75Mhz • G3 266Mhz • Snow iMac DVSE 500Mhz
G4 QS 733Mhz • 17" Powerbook 1.33Ghz • 15" MacBook Pro Core Duo 2.16Ghz • Mac Pro 8-Core 3.0 Ghz
     
Peabo  (op)
Senior User
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: London, England
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jun 3, 2005, 06:17 PM
 
Originally Posted by Taipan
Hi!

Hm, this gives me a finder window in pure white. I'd say this IS a bug.
Yep, that's what I saw. It's not a bug that anyone's going to see during daily use of the OS, but a bug nonetheless!
LC 16Mhz • LC 475 25Mhz • Centris 650 25Mhz • Performa 6200/75Mhz • G3 266Mhz • Snow iMac DVSE 500Mhz
G4 QS 733Mhz • 17" Powerbook 1.33Ghz • 15" MacBook Pro Core Duo 2.16Ghz • Mac Pro 8-Core 3.0 Ghz
     
Chuckit
Clinically Insane
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: San Diego, CA, USA
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jun 3, 2005, 06:17 PM
 
Oh, a Finder window. Yeah, I see it now.
Chuck
___
"Instead of either 'multi-talented' or 'multitalented' use 'bisexual'."
     
ManOfSteal
Addicted to MacNN
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Outfield - #24
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jun 3, 2005, 06:34 PM
 
I do this combo of moves every day...

     
OAW
Addicted to MacNN
Join Date: May 2001
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jun 3, 2005, 06:51 PM
 
Plain white Finder window for me too. An "obscure" but for me since I'd never run into in my normal work patterns. For one ... I never minimize windows. Prior to Expose I'd just hide them and with Expose I just leave them there. Second, I definitely don't minimize windows in slow motion. Third, why minimize with CTRL-Shift when Shift is all that's needed? The bug doesn't present itself unless you do that.

OAW
     
Chuckit
Clinically Insane
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: San Diego, CA, USA
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jun 3, 2005, 06:58 PM
 
I believe ctrl-shift is even slower.
Chuck
___
"Instead of either 'multi-talented' or 'multitalented' use 'bisexual'."
     
Peabo  (op)
Senior User
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: London, England
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jun 3, 2005, 07:01 PM
 
Originally Posted by Chuckit
I believe ctrl-shift is even slower.
yep, there are 4 minimization types:

normal
ctrl
shift
ctrl+shift

dunno why they need that many!
LC 16Mhz • LC 475 25Mhz • Centris 650 25Mhz • Performa 6200/75Mhz • G3 266Mhz • Snow iMac DVSE 500Mhz
G4 QS 733Mhz • 17" Powerbook 1.33Ghz • 15" MacBook Pro Core Duo 2.16Ghz • Mac Pro 8-Core 3.0 Ghz
     
Appleman
Mac Elite
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: France
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jun 3, 2005, 07:14 PM
 
Strange. But when you mouse over the white block, piece by piece will come back, strange.
Indeed, this is something I never do.
     
Apfhex
Mac Elite
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Northern California
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jun 3, 2005, 07:39 PM
 
I don't see a white Finder window when I do this. It just returns the same as it was.
Mac OS X 10.5.0, Mac Pro 2.66GHz/2 GB RAM/X1900 XT, 23" ACD
esdesign
     
Peabo  (op)
Senior User
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: London, England
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jun 3, 2005, 07:40 PM
 
I know no one will ever do this, and that's why it hasn't been discovered until now. Even so, it's something that's not functioning correctly within the OS. Regardless of its importance, it's still a bug! :]
LC 16Mhz • LC 475 25Mhz • Centris 650 25Mhz • Performa 6200/75Mhz • G3 266Mhz • Snow iMac DVSE 500Mhz
G4 QS 733Mhz • 17" Powerbook 1.33Ghz • 15" MacBook Pro Core Duo 2.16Ghz • Mac Pro 8-Core 3.0 Ghz
     
Chuckit
Clinically Insane
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: San Diego, CA, USA
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jun 3, 2005, 07:41 PM
 
Originally Posted by Apfhex
I don't see a white Finder window when I do this. It just returns the same as it was
Are you sure you're following the directions exactly? 10.4, use control and shift to minimize a Finder window, and then shift to bring it back from the Dock?
Chuck
___
"Instead of either 'multi-talented' or 'multitalented' use 'bisexual'."
     
Kristoff
Mac Elite
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: in front of the keyboard
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jun 3, 2005, 07:49 PM
 
I see it on my Dual 2.0 G5 w/9600
signatures are a waste of bandwidth
especially ones with political tripe in them.
     
ginoledesma
Mac Elite
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jun 3, 2005, 07:58 PM
 
Can't replicate this on 10.4.1 / PowerBook G4/12". Must've been fixed?

1. CTRL+SHIFT "Macintosh HD" --> SHIFT "Macintosh HD" --> OK
2. SHIFT "Macintosh HD" --> SHIFT "Macintosh HD" --> OK
3. CTRL "Macintosh HD" --> SHIFT "Macintosh HD" --> OK
4. CTRL+SHIFT "Macintosh HD" --> CTRL+SHIFT "Macintosh HD" --> OK
     
Peabo  (op)
Senior User
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: London, England
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jun 3, 2005, 08:05 PM
 
I'm running 10.4.1 too
LC 16Mhz • LC 475 25Mhz • Centris 650 25Mhz • Performa 6200/75Mhz • G3 266Mhz • Snow iMac DVSE 500Mhz
G4 QS 733Mhz • 17" Powerbook 1.33Ghz • 15" MacBook Pro Core Duo 2.16Ghz • Mac Pro 8-Core 3.0 Ghz
     
Chuckit
Clinically Insane
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: San Diego, CA, USA
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jun 3, 2005, 08:08 PM
 
It happens on my 15" with 10.4.1. I wonder if it's video card-dependent. So far we have two confirmed ATI cards that it appears on and one confirmed NVIDIA that it doesn't.
( Last edited by Chuckit; Jun 3, 2005 at 08:14 PM. )
Chuck
___
"Instead of either 'multi-talented' or 'multitalented' use 'bisexual'."
     
Peabo  (op)
Senior User
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: London, England
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jun 3, 2005, 08:16 PM
 
my girlfriend's MDD G4 has a Geforce in it and she sees the same issue.
LC 16Mhz • LC 475 25Mhz • Centris 650 25Mhz • Performa 6200/75Mhz • G3 266Mhz • Snow iMac DVSE 500Mhz
G4 QS 733Mhz • 17" Powerbook 1.33Ghz • 15" MacBook Pro Core Duo 2.16Ghz • Mac Pro 8-Core 3.0 Ghz
     
Nai no Kami
Senior User
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Buenos Aires
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jun 3, 2005, 09:17 PM
 
I can confirm the bug in a PB 12" (1.5 GHz)

Y no entienden nada... ¡y cómo se divierten!...
     
MrNo
Dedicated MacNNer
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Chicago
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jun 3, 2005, 11:30 PM
 
It works only if you minimize using the genie effect, if you use scale it will work fine.
     
Chuckit
Clinically Insane
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: San Diego, CA, USA
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jun 3, 2005, 11:43 PM
 
Of course! The scale effect. D'oh.

So, just to confirm: Are y'all who aren't seeing it using scale?
Chuck
___
"Instead of either 'multi-talented' or 'multitalented' use 'bisexual'."
     
Severed Hand of Skywalker
Addicted to MacNN
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: The bottom of Cloud City
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jun 3, 2005, 11:52 PM
 
We get a thread like this every week for the past 5 years.

"Ahhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh"
     
Chuckit
Clinically Insane
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: San Diego, CA, USA
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jun 4, 2005, 12:02 AM
 
...about a Tiger bug?
Chuck
___
"Instead of either 'multi-talented' or 'multitalented' use 'bisexual'."
     
ginoledesma
Mac Elite
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jun 4, 2005, 12:13 AM
 
Tried it again (after waking from sleep) and this time the bug bit me. For those curious to know, here's what it looks like (Quicktime movie - 36KB).

Since it affects both my PowerBook 12"/1.5GHz and eMac 1.42GHz, both running Mac OS 10.4.1, I'd say its not a specific video card problem.
     
vinster
Senior User
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Denver
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jun 4, 2005, 12:17 AM
 
Originally Posted by z0ne81
Try this:

bring up a finder window, hold down ctrl+shift to minimize it in super slow mo, then hold shift and maximize it.


Nice bug, Doug!
     
Apfhex
Mac Elite
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Northern California
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jun 4, 2005, 12:34 AM
 
Originally Posted by Chuckit
Of course! The scale effect. D'oh.

So, just to confirm: Are y'all who aren't seeing it using scale?
Confirmed, once I switched to the Genie effect, I saw the bug. I've always used Scale.
Mac OS X 10.5.0, Mac Pro 2.66GHz/2 GB RAM/X1900 XT, 23" ACD
esdesign
     
Dog Like Nature
Dedicated MacNNer
Join Date: May 2004
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jun 4, 2005, 12:47 AM
 
Bug happens as advertised on 10.4.1 on my PB (see sig).
Don't need to hold any keys while maximizing though... just click it.
╭1.5GHz G4 15" PB, 2.0GB RAM, 128MB VRAM, 100GB 7200rpm HD, AEBS, BT kbd
╰2.0GHz T2500 20" iMac, 1.5GB RAM, 128MB VRAM, 250GB 7200rpm HD

http://www.DogLikeNature.com/
     
fartguru
Fresh-Faced Recruit
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Mobile, AL
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jun 4, 2005, 02:37 AM
 
Bug confirmed in a rev D 12" pb, however on the first try you can move the window around and the regular display will come back, and on the second it will go white for good.
     
MindFad
Posting Junkie
Join Date: Sep 2001
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jun 4, 2005, 02:45 AM
 
Bug confirmed. Genie only, though.
     
funkboy
Professional Poster
Join Date: May 2001
Location: North Dakota, USA
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jun 4, 2005, 02:45 AM
 
Confirmed on Mac mini.
     
Appleman
Mac Elite
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: France
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jun 4, 2005, 04:06 AM
 
Originally Posted by Chuckit
It happens on my 15" with 10.4.1. I wonder if it's video card-dependent. So far we have two confirmed ATI cards that it appears on and one confirmed NVIDIA that it doesn't.
It happens on my iMac SE DV 400 MHz (ATI) and on my PowerMac Dual 2 GHz with NVIDIA 6800 Ultra 256.
Mouse over the white block brings back the corners. Clicking on one of these corners brings back the total window.
     
d.fine
Mac Elite
Join Date: May 2004
Location: on 650 cc's
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jun 4, 2005, 05:13 AM
 
Got it on a DP2.0RevB with ATI 9600XT, 10.4.1

stuffing feathers up your b*tt doesn't make you a chicken.
     
TheSpaz
Grizzled Veteran
Join Date: Nov 2003
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jun 4, 2005, 09:01 AM
 
Confirmed on a PowerBook G4 10.4.1 only on Geine Effect. I don't know how people can use the Geine Effect or the super slo-mo effect. What a waste of time. If all you do all day is sit around at your Mac and go Oooooh... Ahhhhh... at your flashy slow motion windows... you deserve to have bugs.

I like the Scale Effect because it's quick and out of the way. When I work, I wanna move fast... I don't wanna watch a window gently ease into my Dock, I want it gone and onto another task.

As far as I'm concerned, this bug is at the very bottom of the important fixes needed for Tiger.

HOW ABOUT THE PERFORMANCE ISSUES!
     
Appleman
Mac Elite
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: France
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jun 4, 2005, 09:10 AM
 
Originally Posted by TheSpaz
As far as I'm concerned, this bug is at the very bottom of the important fixes needed for Tiger.

HOW ABOUT THE PERFORMANCE ISSUES!
No performance issues whatsoever on a PowerMac G5 Dual 2 GHz with 2.5 GB RAM
     
THE MAC GOD
Mac Enthusiast
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: :noitacoL
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jun 5, 2005, 02:39 PM
 
Originally Posted by z0ne81
when I do it, the window maximizes to a white block. My girlfriend was able to replicate it on her MDD G4. Make sure you do EXACTLY what i described.
Worked for me... on my iBook.
Big ol white space on my screen.

All as artificial as the Matrix itself, although only a human mind could invent something as insipid as Love.
     
alphasubzero949
Mac Elite
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: 127.0.0.1
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jun 5, 2005, 02:52 PM
 
Switched to genie effect and saw the bug.
     
Luca Rescigno
Professional Poster
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jun 5, 2005, 03:29 PM
 
2000 called, they want their nifty OS X trick back.

"That's Mama Luigi to you, Mario!" *wheeze*
     
Photo678
Dedicated MacNNer
Join Date: Dec 2003
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jun 5, 2005, 03:46 PM
 
if you read the thread luca, its not the slow mo minimize effect hes talking about
     
Randman
Posting Junkie
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: MacNN database error. Please refresh your browser.
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jun 5, 2005, 03:52 PM
 
If you do cntr-shift to maximize, select "Open", you get the white box as well. However, once you click on the window, it reverts back.

This is a computer-generated message and needs no signature.
     
Chuckit
Clinically Insane
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: San Diego, CA, USA
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jun 5, 2005, 03:58 PM
 
Originally Posted by TheSpaz
I like the Scale Effect because it's quick and out of the way. When I work, I wanna move fast... I don't wanna watch a window gently ease into my Dock, I want it gone and onto another task.

As far as I'm concerned, this bug is at the very bottom of the important fixes needed for Tiger.

HOW ABOUT THE PERFORMANCE ISSUES!
Genie isn't slow on my computer. Nor are most other things, for that matter, so I don't know what performance issues you're talking about.
Chuck
___
"Instead of either 'multi-talented' or 'multitalented' use 'bisexual'."
     
dpfenninger
Forum Regular
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Lombard, IL
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jun 5, 2005, 04:05 PM
 
This bug appears on my rev. A iMac G5 (1.8GHz 20")...using 10.4.1.

Weird glitch...
     
Randman
Posting Junkie
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: MacNN database error. Please refresh your browser.
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jun 5, 2005, 04:06 PM
 
The slow-mo is slow on my Macs, but that's the point, isn't it?

This is a computer-generated message and needs no signature.
     
   
Thread Tools
 
Forum Links
Forum Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts
BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Top
Privacy Policy
All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:09 AM.
All contents of these forums © 1995-2017 MacNN. All rights reserved.
Branding + Design: www.gesamtbild.com
vBulletin v.3.8.8 © 2000-2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.,