Welcome to the MacNN Forums.

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

You are here: MacNN Forums > Hardware - Troubleshooting and Discussion > Mac Desktops > 2.5 ghz G5 and OS 9 System Installed

2.5 ghz G5 and OS 9 System Installed
Thread Tools
Green Leaf
Forum Regular
Join Date: Jun 2002
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Oct 6, 2004, 10:40 PM
 
I just received a 2.5 ghz in the mail (and i love it)!

I transfered all my programs and files from my old computer to the new G5 using the firewire connection program that starts on the new machines.

My OS 9 folder was copied onto the G5 and the OS 9 system preference was copied too.

Is OS9 suppose to run on these new G5's?
Any perceivable danger in doing so?

I thought the new computers didn't support OS 9, but maybe i was wrong.

Anyone have experience with this?

-Green Leaf
     
mac freak
Mac Elite
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Highland Park, IL / Santa Monica, CA
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Oct 6, 2004, 10:47 PM
 
The last set of G4 towers and all of the G5s do not support OS 9 booting. If you found some way to get it to work, I'm sure a lot of people would be interested!
Be happy.
     
littlegreenspud
Senior User
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: The Sunny Isle of Wight
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Oct 7, 2004, 10:02 AM
 
You need the OS9 stuff for when you run classic.
     
Skip Breakfast
Mac Enthusiast
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Seattle
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Oct 7, 2004, 11:39 AM
 
*snip*
PowerMac G4 Gigabit 1.2GHz, 896MB, 2x 80GB WD SE, Pioneer 107, Radeon 9000 Pro 128MB

Macintosh TV
     
Big Mac
Clinically Insane
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Los Angeles
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Oct 7, 2004, 11:56 AM
 
Originally posted by littlegreenspud:
You need the OS9 stuff for when you run classic.
Right. New Macs do not support OS 9 booting, but they can still run OS 9 as the "Classic" environment inside of OS X. If you launch an OS 9 application it will load Classic, and your old applications will run alongside your OS X applications.

"The natural progress of things is for liberty to yield and government to gain ground." TJ
     
OreoCookie
Moderator
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Hilbert space
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Oct 7, 2004, 03:36 PM
 
Actually one special version of OS9 still does run on all Macs, including the latest G5s _the Apple Hardware Test is based on OS9 technology
I don't suffer from insanity, I enjoy every minute of it.
     
Superchicken
Addicted to MacNN
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Winnipeg
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Oct 7, 2004, 03:56 PM
 
Originally posted by OreoCookie:
Actually one special version of OS9 still does run on all Macs, including the latest G5s _the Apple Hardware Test is based on OS9 technology
GASP! Lets HaX0r it and rebuild OS 9 for the G5xor...

Haha actually you know, it'd be cool if they open sourced OS 9
     
Catfish_Man
Mac Elite
Join Date: Aug 2001
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Oct 7, 2004, 04:15 PM
 
Originally posted by OreoCookie:
Actually one special version of OS9 still does run on all Macs, including the latest G5s _the Apple Hardware Test is based on OS9 technology
I wonder when they're going to change that... it seems like a waste of development effort to continue to support the latest systems with both OS9 (even modified) and OSX.
     
Detrius
Professional Poster
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Asheville, NC
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Oct 7, 2004, 07:41 PM
 
Originally posted by OreoCookie:
Actually one special version of OS9 still does run on all Macs, including the latest G5s _the Apple Hardware Test is based on OS9 technology
I'm curious where you are getting this information, as Apple Service Diagnostics is a beefed up version of the Apple Hardware Test, and it looks like a complicated open firmware script to me--since seriously fubar'ed hardware drops me back into an open firmware prompt. Also, these discs will start running even on machines that they don't support--as long as they support a roughly similar version of open firmware.
ACSA 10.4/10.3, ACTC 10.3, ACHDS 10.3
     
GoGoReggieXPowars
Mac Elite
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Tronna
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Oct 8, 2004, 12:02 PM
 
Originally posted by OreoCookie:
Actually one special version of OS9 still does run on all Macs, including the latest G5s _the Apple Hardware Test is based on OS9 technology
That's not OS 9, it's native Open Firmware code, Forth.
     
   
Thread Tools
 
Forum Links
Forum Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts
BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Top
Privacy Policy
All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:03 AM.
All contents of these forums © 1995-2017 MacNN. All rights reserved.
Branding + Design: www.gesamtbild.com
vBulletin v.3.8.8 © 2000-2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.,