Welcome to the MacNN Forums.

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

You are here: MacNN Forums > Software - Troubleshooting and Discussion > Applications > Audio Missing on Older Video Clips in FCPX 10.2.1

Audio Missing on Older Video Clips in FCPX 10.2.1
Anto39x
Jul 16, 2015, 08:36 AM

Hi there....

I have been using FCP for only a few years now... I only ever use it for home videos... summer vacations... so I moved my entire iMovie library over a few years back and I have been using it to create my home movies ever since. But recently after I updated to the very latest release 10.2.1 I noticed that my older clips taken on my Sony MiniDV camera aren't playing the audio at all.... but if I visit the imported file folder and play the original file in Quicktime it plays perfectly.

I'm really starting to panic as I have years of old video that is in that format and now I can't create a project and export these if the audio isn't working.

I'm running Yosemite 10.10.4, and I tried re-installing an older version of FCP X 10.1.4 but it's having problems with the newly updated FCP Events library files... so that doesn't seem to be a fix either.... I now have two folders... an older named folder "Creative Media Old Final Cut Projects and Events" and a newly created FCP folder "Creative Media's projects and events" which after intensive review has my complete and most up to date video content.

Has anyone got any ideas as to how I could fix this... or if this has happened to them also.