Welcome to the MacNN Forums.

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

You are here: MacNN Forums > Hardware - Troubleshooting and Discussion > Mac Desktops > What games can I play in iMac rev A?

What games can I play in iMac rev A?
Thread Tools
The Godfather
Addicted to MacNN
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: Tampa, Florida
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Mar 20, 2000, 03:47 AM
 
Help!

I have just upgraded my RAM to 160MB in my 2 year-old iMac/A. I was excited to see all the games that used to crash my computer happily running and shooting.

The outcome was discouraging, however.

Unreal Tournament Demo ran, for the first time, without crashing, but it was HELL SLOW! I could only play it at 320x240!
Quake Three Arena (demo too) ran for the first time, but it seems that my V. card doesn't support OpenGL.
Everything I could get a decent FPS rate from was Quake I.

What games are out there for a two year old iMac/A?

The Godfather
     
Ca$h68
Banned
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Madison, WI
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Mar 20, 2000, 04:17 AM
 
did you upgrade your video ram yet? Those 1st gen iMacs only come with 2 megs... you can bump it up to 6 I think. that should help out a LOT....

Ca$h
     
The Godfather  (op)
Addicted to MacNN
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: Tampa, Florida
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Mar 20, 2000, 05:32 AM
 
Yes, my VRAM is bumped up to 6MB. I am reinstalling Quake III Arena Point Release v1.16n. I have already installed OpenGL 1.1.2 and GameSprockets 1.7.3 succesfully. When I try to launch Quake3, I get:

Quake 3 error:
Couldn't load default.cfg.

Such file was never created by the installer.
I can't start the program, but the good thing is that it doesn't crash my iMac
How do I fix this????

[This message has been edited by The Godfather (edited 03-20-2000).]
     
Misha
Professional Poster
Join Date: Oct 1999
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Mar 20, 2000, 10:22 AM
 
The Rage IIc in your iMac doesn't support OpenGL (I believe).

With that kind of video card you're basically limited to 2D games, or 2.5D games (like Marathon).
     
The Godfather  (op)
Addicted to MacNN
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: Tampa, Florida
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Mar 20, 2000, 12:15 PM
 
Now I am starting to believe I can't play Quake 3 because the installer up on the servers is busted.

Can I get a copy of default.cfg from any of you? My address is [email protected] (yes, we beat St. John on Saturday)

The Godfather
     
blizaine
Mac Enthusiast
Join Date: Jan 1999
Location: Inside your computer!!!!
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Mar 20, 2000, 12:28 PM
 
If you want to have any hope playing Q3 then get a Voodoo2 card for your Rev.A.


my $.02
     
sine -''-..-
Grizzled Veteran
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: meow meow meow meow, meow meow meow meow, meow meow meow meow meow meow meow meo
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Mar 20, 2000, 07:06 PM
 
He's rite...
u may feel unlucky that ur rev A has a crappy card,
but u got a Mezzane slot!
get a VooDoo II Game Wizard, and u'll be scremin with that 160MB ram!

i shure as hell wish i had a rev A or B.... i buy that card in a minute
Iv got a rev D, not slot or irDA for me

.._-happi fraggin-_..
sine -''-..-

now known as pillowcase

     
DoctorGonzo
Grizzled Veteran
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: Jamaica Plain, MA
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Mar 21, 2000, 02:48 AM
 
I have one, well worth it. Get 'em before there gone forever. Mac-O-Rama had a few the last time I checked.
     
shmerek
Professional Poster
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: south
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Mar 26, 2000, 09:06 AM
 
other world computing still has the voodoo II listed on special for $139
http://shop.macsales.com/MacSales/Sp...GWIMAC-4&set=1
     
ThinkInsane
Moderator Emeritus
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: Night's Plutonian shore...
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Mar 26, 2000, 01:32 PM
 
It's the best $139 you will spend. You will not be disappointed.
Nemo me impune lacesset
     
sek929
Posting Junkie
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Cape Cod, MA
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Mar 26, 2000, 02:07 PM
 
Hello, i also have an iMac Rev. D (160 megs), and Unreal Tourney + Quake III. Is there any way i can upgrade my iMac's 6MB of VRAM? I tested my framerate in Unreal and i had a top of 32fps but a low of (gasp!!) 2fps. Having more VRAM would help out but i am not sure if i can do this, thanks for any help.

------------------
--->
--->[email protected]
--->
     
keyser_soze
Dedicated MacNNer
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: park city, ut usa
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Mar 27, 2000, 02:08 AM
 
Anyone know if you'll be able to install a newer voodoo graphics card when they come out on the gamewizard, or are u stuck with the voodoo II?

Ok posters time to let them have it. MacNN Staff It's our duty to let MacNN know we hate intelliTXT!
     
smiz93
Fresh-Faced Recruit
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: Galesburg, IL USA
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Mar 27, 2000, 09:27 AM
 
I also have a Rev A w/ 96Mb of RAM and I bought a Gamewizard (Voodoo II) so I could play flight sims. I happened to find a company that was selling them on ebay and got lucky and got it for $115. The boys (and gals) are right; buy a Gamewizard. A few of the sims that I had wouldn't even run with the Rage card and the ones that did looked really bad. After installing the Gamewizard, EVERYONE of the sims works beautifully and the 3-D looks great!! Don't feel bad cause you have one of the "original" iMacs. In some ways you are better off having a Rev A over any of the later models. Lord knows that there are alot more upgrades availible for the Bondi wonder than any of the later "flavored" models.
     
smiz93
Fresh-Faced Recruit
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: Galesburg, IL USA
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Mar 27, 2000, 09:28 AM
 
Oops....

[This message has been edited by smiz93 (edited 03-27-2000).]
     
keyser_soze
Dedicated MacNNer
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: park city, ut usa
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Apr 3, 2000, 07:49 AM
 
Hey shmerek,
thx for that link. I couldn't decide whether to save money or to buy it. Just checked the link again, and $100 for the gamewizard with 2-3 day shipping and handling. Exactly $100. Should be here in 2-3 days.

PS this site and only this site causes ie5 to crash
but oh well, good video card on the way i'm happy

[This message has been edited by keyser_soze (edited 04-03-2000).]

Ok posters time to let them have it. MacNN Staff It's our duty to let MacNN know we hate intelliTXT!
     
   
Thread Tools
 
Forum Links
Forum Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts
BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Top
Privacy Policy
All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:47 PM.
All contents of these forums © 1995-2017 MacNN. All rights reserved.
Branding + Design: www.gesamtbild.com
vBulletin v.3.8.8 © 2000-2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.,