Welcome to the MacNN Forums.

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

You are here: MacNN Forums > Software - Troubleshooting and Discussion > macOS > Text Selection

Text Selection
alex_kac
Grizzled Veteran
Feb 6, 2007, 12:37 PM

I've been using a Mac since 1992 but I have one major issue in OS X. Text Selection. I can never find the selection when I use Find or what not because its simply not intuitive on the Mac. Here is what I mean. The text has a highlight over it, but the text color itself is still black, blue or whatever its color is everywhere else. As such there is little differentiation when you have many other color hues on a web page, design document, or what not. Its REALLY hard to find on the screen.

Under Windows the text has a highlight color so that its very easy to see. I remember first using the find on WIndows and being overjoyed on this one thing.

To me its such a major thing that I cannot believe I'm the only one. Maybe its because I spend so much in text writing docs and code. If there are others - do you know of a workaround? And btw - I'm not looking for "well you shouldn't like it that way - its not the Mac way" type of BS. As an ex-Apple employee, Mac user for 15 years, and owner of 6 current Macs and about 40 over the last 15 years plus managing another 20 in a business I don't think any of that would be valid. Of course its possible I've missed some setting somewhere - I admit that's possible.

Chuckit
Clinically Insane
Feb 6, 2007, 12:54 PM