Welcome to the MacNN Forums.

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

You are here: MacNN Forums > Software - Troubleshooting and Discussion > Applications > Time machine, refresher needed

Time machine, refresher needed
Thread Tools
jeff k
Mac Elite
Join Date: May 2001
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Aug 28, 2011, 07:14 PM
 
I have never ever used time machine. I back up once a day with Super Duper. But there is one excel file driving me crazy. Its very important and screws up sorting. So a daily backup would be nice. Only thing -- with Time Machine, I just cant back up a file or two correct? All My work is on an expensive 2 terabyte Drive. I have tons of spare smaller hard drive, but to play this game, I'd have to fork out for another 2 TB correct?
     
mduell
Posting Junkie
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Houston, TX
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Aug 29, 2011, 01:47 PM
 
You could exclude everything else from the TM backup. It's not elegant, but it works.

I'd also suggest moving to a real backup, instead of daily cloning. 2-3TB drives are cheap.
     
jeff k  (op)
Mac Elite
Join Date: May 2001
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Aug 29, 2011, 07:32 PM
 
M,
did not understand the 2nd part. I bought three 3TB drives, ONe is main, one is backup, and one is offsite. They are $600 each.

I have 10 older 250 GB drives in the closet. I would love to use one of these. I only want to back up a few text folders.

How do you do time machine and exclude things? I've been told for TM to get going, your drive has to back up first everything from another drive. not true?
     
ibook_steve
Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: San Jose, CA
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Aug 29, 2011, 08:17 PM
 
Originally Posted by jeff k View Post
How do you do time machine and exclude things? I've been told for TM to get going, your drive has to back up first everything from another drive. not true?
Time Machine preferences -> Options

Steve
Celebrating 10 years and 4000 posts on MacNN!
     
Uncle Skeleton
Addicted to MacNN
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Rockville, MD
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Aug 29, 2011, 09:49 PM
 
Originally Posted by jeff k View Post
M,
did not understand the 2nd part. I bought three 3TB drives, ONe is main, one is backup, and one is offsite. They are $600 each.
Now they're $110 each:

Newegg.com - HITACHI Deskstar 0S03230 3TB 5400 RPM 32MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s 3.5" Internal Hard Drive -Bare Drive

For USB version, $130:

Newegg.com - Seagate FreeAgent GoFlex 3TB USB 2.0 Black External Hard Drive STAC3000100
     
jeff k  (op)
Mac Elite
Join Date: May 2001
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Aug 30, 2011, 01:11 PM
 
Steve, ok, just set up my 500GB old drive.
I excluded all the other hard drives on my desktop.

But the folder I want to use with Time Machine is on a 3TB hard rive. PIty there is currently no way to tell exclude parts of that Hardrive.

Out of luck here correct?
     
turtle777
Clinically Insane
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: planning a comeback !
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Aug 30, 2011, 01:25 PM
 
Originally Posted by jeff k View Post
But the folder I want to use with Time Machine is on a 3TB hard rive. PIty there is currently no way to tell exclude parts of that Hardrive.

Out of luck here correct?
No, you can exclude as many folders from the Source as you wish.
Just exclude the majority of the folders on your Source 3TB HD.
However, I'm not sure if you can exclude all system folders, and be confined to a "data" only TM backup.

Time Machine preferences -> Options

-t
     
ibook_steve
Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: San Jose, CA
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Aug 30, 2011, 01:48 PM
 
I think the confusion here is that you can exclude individual folders, not just entire drives.

Steve
Celebrating 10 years and 4000 posts on MacNN!
     
jeff k  (op)
Mac Elite
Join Date: May 2001
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Aug 30, 2011, 02:30 PM
 
Interesting, is this new? is does seem to be able to exclude folders. A year or two ago, I asked on a forum and I don't think it could do that.

Of course it's really a mess as I've now got a list of 5 hard drives and 10 folders to exclude. Would be a lot nicer if I just saw the 1-2 folders I want to include.
also, I deleted the last back up folder. started over, but nothing is happening. How do I tell TM to try again?
     
mduell
Posting Junkie
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Houston, TX
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Aug 30, 2011, 05:08 PM
 
Flip the TM switch to On and wait a couple minutes.

You massively overpaid for your 3TB drives. Where did you buy them from, Apple?
     
ibook_steve
Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: San Jose, CA
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Aug 30, 2011, 06:27 PM
 
You've always been able to select individual files or folders.

Steve
Celebrating 10 years and 4000 posts on MacNN!
     
jeff k  (op)
Mac Elite
Join Date: May 2001
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Aug 30, 2011, 06:45 PM
 
M, maybe it was $600 for all three!

Steve, How can I select an individual folder to backup, that would be nice than excluding 15 things.

Is this fairly new ability to do that?

thanks
     
Waragainstsleep
Posting Junkie
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: UK
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Aug 30, 2011, 06:57 PM
 
Do Apple ship 3TB drives? They didn't last I looked.
I have plenty of more important things to do, if only I could bring myself to do them....
     
jeff k  (op)
Mac Elite
Join Date: May 2001
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Aug 30, 2011, 07:54 PM
 
no it was Seagate I think external. but anyway, waiting on Steve -- how to add just certain folders, not exclude others thanks!
     
ibook_steve
Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: San Jose, CA
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Aug 31, 2011, 02:08 AM
 
You can only exclude, not include. I never said include.

Just go to the top level of your drive and exclude all folders except the one that contains what you want to back up. This really is not that hard.

Steve
Celebrating 10 years and 4000 posts on MacNN!
     
Waragainstsleep
Posting Junkie
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: UK
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Aug 31, 2011, 11:54 AM
 
I have a Leoapard server which runs an iSCSI RAID unit for a small company. Can anyone think of a reason why I shouldn't use TM to backup the boot drive to the RAID unit?

It seems like the simplest way to do it but I can't help have a feeling its not a great idea for some reason.
I have plenty of more important things to do, if only I could bring myself to do them....
     
cgc
Professional Poster
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Down by the river
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Aug 31, 2011, 12:14 PM
 
Originally Posted by Waragainstsleep View Post
Do Apple ship 3TB drives? They didn't last I looked.
3TB drives are way too new for Apple to include them, maybe in a few more years they will
     
jeff k  (op)
Mac Elite
Join Date: May 2001
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Aug 31, 2011, 12:38 PM
 
THANKS Steve,
will test, and report back if/ have questions, appreciate it!
     
jeff k  (op)
Mac Elite
Join Date: May 2001
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Sep 4, 2011, 11:49 PM
 
Ok, it's working good, so I'm pleased. Only thing is it's a 500gb drive. I'm backing up about 140GB of that.
TM only goes back about 2 days. So If I come to the realization I need something from a week ago I'm screwed. Why only two days?
     
turtle777
Clinically Insane
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: planning a comeback !
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Sep 4, 2011, 11:53 PM
 
Originally Posted by jeff k View Post
Ok, it's working good, so I'm pleased. Only thing is it's a 500gb drive. I'm backing up about 140GB of that.
TM only goes back about 2 days. So If I come to the realization I need something from a week ago I'm screwed. Why only two days?
Because you just started backing up two days ago ?

-t
     
Andy8
Mac Elite
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Hong Kong
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Sep 5, 2011, 12:44 AM
 
Originally Posted by turtle777 View Post
Because you just started backing up two days ago ?

-t
Exactly.
     
jeff k  (op)
Mac Elite
Join Date: May 2001
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Sep 5, 2011, 01:04 PM
 
No, I am 5 days now.
     
jeff k  (op)
Mac Elite
Join Date: May 2001
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Sep 5, 2011, 01:06 PM
 
Just tested that new button, and say 2 for the disk cache, it does not clear it fully like web developer does.
     
turtle777
Clinically Insane
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: planning a comeback !
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Sep 5, 2011, 04:03 PM
 
Originally Posted by jeff k View Post
Just tested that new button, and say 2 for the disk cache, it does not clear it fully like web developer does.


-t
     
jeff k  (op)
Mac Elite
Join Date: May 2001
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Sep 5, 2011, 07:27 PM
 
Sorry, I accidentally posted in wrong forum on that one!

Back to this one, why do cut off after 2 days. How many days do you guys get with TM?
     
Andy8
Mac Elite
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Hong Kong
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Sep 5, 2011, 07:41 PM
 
Originally Posted by jeff k View Post
Sorry, I accidentally posted in wrong forum on that one!

Back to this one, why do cut off after 2 days. How many days do you guys get with TM?
Time Machine - hourly, daily, weekly and monthly backups.

Your TM target drive is not connected always?
     
jeff k  (op)
Mac Elite
Join Date: May 2001
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Sep 5, 2011, 11:15 PM
 
Yes, it's always connected. So TM does hourly backups?
     
turtle777
Clinically Insane
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: planning a comeback !
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Sep 5, 2011, 11:19 PM
 
Time Machine saves hourly backups for the past 24 hours, daily backups for the past month, and weekly backups for everything older than a month until the volume runs out of space. At that point, Time Machine deletes the oldest weekly backup.

-t
     
jeff k  (op)
Mac Elite
Join Date: May 2001
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Sep 6, 2011, 12:12 AM
 
Thanks T, based on my drive and what I'm backing up, how far back would I get you suspect? a week, two weeks?
if you are backing up 100GB on a 500GB drive. how does it work?
each hour slot represent a full 100GB?
     
turtle777
Clinically Insane
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: planning a comeback !
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Sep 6, 2011, 05:42 AM
 
Originally Posted by jeff k View Post
Thanks T, based on my drive and what I'm backing up, how far back would I get you suspect? a week, two weeks?
if you are backing up 100GB on a 500GB drive. how does it work?
each hour slot represent a full 100GB?

No, TM is intelligent. Only CHANGES are backed up. If your only change is 1MB from one hour to the next, that TM backup for the next hour will take only 1MB in space.

Therefore, backing up 100GB on 500GB should last you a long time (many months), unless you do something weird like changing the modification date on all files of the 100GB.

-t
     
Spheric Harlot
Clinically Insane
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: 888500128, C3, 2nd soft.
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Sep 6, 2011, 06:11 AM
 
...or renaming folders, or moving them.
     
turtle777
Clinically Insane
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: planning a comeback !
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Sep 6, 2011, 06:12 AM
 
Originally Posted by Spheric Harlot View Post
...or renaming folders, or moving them.
Really ?

I thought renaming a folder would not backup all the content again.

-t
     
Spheric Harlot
Clinically Insane
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: 888500128, C3, 2nd soft.
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Sep 6, 2011, 07:43 AM
 
Moving it to a different location definitely does.
     
jeff k  (op)
Mac Elite
Join Date: May 2001
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Sep 6, 2011, 11:30 AM
 
thanks Turtle, ok, then curious look:
ImageShack® - Online Photo and Video Hosting

So, every folder also says main hardrive, and has document and website, these are 100GB folders. Obviously it's not recreating all 100GB, it's just pointing to the present drive and then showing what changed back in time/ or really how that file was back then??

Also, notice a lot of entries for 9/5, but only 9/2, 9/3, 9/4 only 1 entry, what the deal on that?
     
Spheric Harlot
Clinically Insane
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: 888500128, C3, 2nd soft.
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Sep 6, 2011, 12:26 PM
 
Hourly backups get condensed into daily backups after a while, which then get condensed into weekly, and then monthly backups eventually.

The file system was extended to accomodate Time Machine: It allows a disk to have a single file live in several locations, even though it only exists once on the drive physically.
     
jeff k  (op)
Mac Elite
Join Date: May 2001
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Sep 6, 2011, 01:20 PM
 
S,
thanks, but which hourly gets condensed, does it choose the one with the most changes?

You second sentence, you are trying to say that all those entries are indeed not new versions of 100GB of info. The stuff that is the same all points to the same place?
     
Spheric Harlot
Clinically Insane
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: 888500128, C3, 2nd soft.
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Sep 6, 2011, 02:50 PM
 
Originally Posted by jeff k View Post
S,
thanks, but which hourly gets condensed, does it choose the one with the most changes?
According to this link, it's the first backup of each day/week/month:
Time Machine - Frequently Asked Questions 12. Should I delete old backups? If so, How?

So it's not actually condensed, but thinned. Apologies for the confusion.

Originally Posted by jeff k View Post
You second sentence, you are trying to say that all those entries are indeed not new versions of 100GB of info. The stuff that is the same all points to the same place?
Exactly.

Files which have never been changed reside on the backup disk exactly once, physically. You're just seeing them linked into multiple locations (i.e. into the folders for every backup that happened when the files existed on your disk).

Multiple copies only exist of files which have been changed over time.
     
jeff k  (op)
Mac Elite
Join Date: May 2001
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Sep 6, 2011, 04:51 PM
 
S,
thanks for that lucid reply. that helps. I'll keep an eye on this and report back on how many backup remain in a week or two...
     
   
Thread Tools
 
Forum Links
Forum Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts
BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Top
Privacy Policy
All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:07 AM.
All contents of these forums © 1995-2017 MacNN. All rights reserved.
Branding + Design: www.gesamtbild.com
vBulletin v.3.8.8 © 2000-2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.,