Welcome to the MacNN Forums.

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

You are here: MacNN Forums > Software - Troubleshooting and Discussion > macOS > 8A268 In The Wild

8A268 In The Wild (Page 2)
Thread Tools
Horsepoo!!!
Banned
Join Date: Jun 2003
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Oct 29, 2004, 10:54 AM
 
Originally posted by C.J. Moof:
WHY does Apple expect the user to know if they have Quartz Extreme or not before enabling that checkbox? Is it so hard to:
-Check for Quartz Extreme
-If found, allow the toggle for dock playback or not, with no verbage RE QE
-If not found, don't bother the user with an option they're not able to use.

Apple has to think about the interface options from my mom's perspective. She loves her eMac- it keeps her in touch with family, friends, organizes her church documents, and automagically gets pictures of her grandkids for her screen saver. But she couldn't tell you if it had Quartz Extreme or not for a million bucks.

Yeah, it's a little thing. But it's the countless little things that drive me nuts when using Windows.
You're right...it's pretty silly and really bizarre that Apple has allowed something like this to show up as an option.

I think it's time to send Feedback to Apple.
     
Horsepoo!!!
Banned
Join Date: Jun 2003
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Oct 29, 2004, 10:56 AM
 
Originally posted by Landos Mustache:
You're right. Better question why wouldn't you want it on?

they should just make it so if you don't have QE it is grayed out.
It shouldn't even be an option at all. It should always be on for those with QE and not for those without.

Somehow, I think the problem isn't so simple though. I've only seen the DVD Player put Quartz-Extreme options into its app...and it's also one of the few remaining Carbon apps. Is it possible that Carbon apps have to be told to use Quartz Extreme because they can't figure out by themselves if they should use it or not? Or is the DVD Player team just living 3 years in the past.
     
Moose
Senior User
Join Date: May 2001
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Oct 29, 2004, 11:10 AM
 
Originally posted by Horsepoo!!!:
Somehow, I think the problem isn't so simple though. I've only seen the DVD Player put Quartz-Extreme options into its app...and it's also one of the few remaining Carbon apps. Is it possible that Carbon apps have to be told to use Quartz Extreme because they can't figure out by themselves if they should use it or not? Or is the DVD Player team just living 3 years in the past.
Or is it perhaps possible that DVD Player in Tiger is a pre-release application running on a pre-release OS and that dialog boxes can and most certainly will change before the product ships?
     
JKT
Professional Poster
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: London, UK
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Oct 29, 2004, 11:14 AM
 
Hold your horses everyone, how do we know that this option isn't greyed out for non-QE users? I'm going to assume that the screenshot was taken on a QE capable machine. And yes, there will be plenty of people who would like that option to be one they can toggle even if they do have QE (add obligatory comments about worthless eye candy here, blah, blah). I wouldn't be one of them, but that doesn't mean they don't exist.
     
poocat
Mac Elite
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: various
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Oct 29, 2004, 11:17 AM
 
Personally, not only should it be grayed out, but they should stop using EXTREME to signify technical things. Because extreme is determined by video ram, they should just, if they MUST (which here, they shouldn't have to) tell you that it's based on vram, not on some wack apple term + its EXTREME upgrade.

pc.
"The supreme irony of life is that hardly anyone gets out of it alive."
-Robert A. Heinlein, Job
     
SMacTech
Mac Elite
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Trafalmadore
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Oct 29, 2004, 11:19 AM
 
So this 8A268 is just a leaked internal build and is not being distributed to ADC members via software update?

As a select member, I don't see it show up anywhere.
     
Horsepoo!!!
Banned
Join Date: Jun 2003
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Oct 29, 2004, 11:42 AM
 
Originally posted by JKT:
Hold your horses everyone, how do we know that this option isn't greyed out for non-QE users? I'm going to assume that the screenshot was taken on a QE capable machine. And yes, there will be plenty of people who would like that option to be one they can toggle even if they do have QE (add obligatory comments about worthless eye candy here, blah, blah). I wouldn't be one of them, but that doesn't mean they don't exist.
But nobody would know. Why put options like that. The Dock should show updated windows...(although it doesn't and QuickTime relies on a hack to do it so maybe DVD Player also has to rely on such things)...there is *zero* reason to have it as an option.
     
Horsepoo!!!
Banned
Join Date: Jun 2003
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Oct 29, 2004, 11:44 AM
 
Originally posted by Moose:
Or is it perhaps possible that DVD Player in Tiger is a pre-release application running on a pre-release OS and that dialog boxes can and most certainly will change before the product ships?
Nope...DVD Player in Panther ships with Quartz Extreme options. It's not because it's a pre-release application running on a pre-release OS...sorry.

The eye-candy effects shouldn't be options. They should exist or not. Bothering the user with insignificant options like this bloats the Preferences window and takes away precious space that could be used for useful 'functionality' features.

Options like 'Fade controller when hiding' shouldn't exist. Who gives a damn if it fades or if it disappears instantaneously. I betcha only a handful of vocal people would make a big fuss over that option disappearing while 99.9% of the people wouldn't even notice.

Fade if Quartz Extreme is available. No-fade if it isn't. Simple as that. It's hard to imagine people could get their panties in a knot over the fact that they can't control if their controller fades or not. Same with minimizing to the Dock.
     
cpac
Professional Poster
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: New York, NY
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Oct 29, 2004, 12:11 PM
 
Originally posted by Horsepoo!!!:
It's hard to imagine people could get their panties in a knot over the fact that they can't control if their controller fades or not. Same with minimizing to the Dock.
Perhaps it's (poor) marketing then - an attempt to point out to people the benefits they'd get if only they'd upgrade to a newer QE compatible machine.

Annoying and stupid? Yes. But then again, so is requiring a Quicktime Pro license to save movies from the web or watch them full-screen. (ps - yes, I know there are work-arounds for both these things)
cpac
     
ambush
Banned
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: -
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Oct 29, 2004, 12:26 PM
 
Originally posted by CharlesS:
Nice, from the looks of that screenshot, it looks like they're finally using a standard NSToolbar. Nice.
does not look too standard to me.
     
Zimphire
Baninated
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: The Moon
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Oct 29, 2004, 01:07 PM
 
Now that iChat supports Jabber, Can you get online with other IM services like MSN and ICQ and Yahoo?
     
THE MAC GOD
Mac Enthusiast
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: :noitacoL
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Oct 29, 2004, 01:24 PM
 
Originally posted by zachs:

Menu Extras
The battery menu now has Energy Saver presets in the menu, which you can switch between.
[/B]
This is something I've sent to Apple about a million times... I'm VERY glad this is finally happening.

All as artificial as the Matrix itself, although only a human mind could invent something as insipid as Love.
     
ManOfSteal
Addicted to MacNN
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Outfield - #24
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Oct 29, 2004, 01:28 PM
 
Originally posted by Zimphire:
Now that iChat supports Jabber, Can you get online with other IM services like MSN and ICQ and Yahoo?
I doubt it.
     
Chuckit
Clinically Insane
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: San Diego, CA, USA
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Oct 29, 2004, 01:53 PM
 
Originally posted by ambush:
does not look too standard to me.
Specifically what features do you think are different?
Chuck
___
"Instead of either 'multi-talented' or 'multitalented' use 'bisexual'."
     
Angus_D
Addicted to MacNN
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: London, UK
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Oct 29, 2004, 02:35 PM
 
Originally posted by Zimphire:
Now that iChat supports Jabber, Can you get online with other IM services like MSN and ICQ and Yahoo?
http://www.jabber.org/user/userfaq.php#id2780730
     
CharlesS
Posting Junkie
Join Date: Dec 2000
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Oct 29, 2004, 06:16 PM
 
Originally posted by Zimphire:
Now that iChat supports Jabber, Can you get online with other IM services like MSN and ICQ and Yahoo?
I'm able to talk with MSN through Jabber using Fire (yeah, I know, why do this when Fire can do MSN directly. I was doing it to test this very ability), so I don't see any reason why it shouldn't work in iChat 3 when it's released.

Ticking sound coming from a .pkg package? Don't let the .bom go off! Inspect it first with Pacifist. Macworld - five mice!
     
Truepop
Mac Elite
Join Date: Mar 2003
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Oct 30, 2004, 01:14 AM
 
maybe .mac jabber server so iChat can talk with the other protocols?
     
Mac Write
Mac Elite
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Vancouver B.C.
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Oct 30, 2004, 03:21 AM
 
iChat in Panther Already supports ICQ. for the AIM name put in the ICQ number and you can talk to someone on ICQ through iChat. This is due to AOL merging the 2 services to be interchangeable I have tested this and it does work, and is the reason I have stopped using Fire, and now only use iChat.
Get busy living or get busy dying
--Stephen King
     
intake
Junior Member
Join Date: Jan 2003
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Oct 30, 2004, 11:38 AM
 
t
( Last edited by intake; Oct 30, 2004 at 03:46 PM. )
     
Zimphire
Baninated
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: The Moon
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Oct 30, 2004, 12:18 PM
 
Originally posted by CharlesS:
I'm able to talk with MSN through Jabber using Fire (yeah, I know, why do this when Fire can do MSN directly. I was doing it to test this very ability), so I don't see any reason why it shouldn't work in iChat 3 when it's released.
Cool as all get out.. I can't wait. I might be actually replacing Adium if it does.
     
Keiretsu
Dedicated MacNNer
Join Date: Sep 2003
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Oct 30, 2004, 06:03 PM
 
8A294 out?

Think Secret thinks so!
     
Minch_Yoda
Junior Member
Join Date: Jun 2004
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Oct 30, 2004, 06:37 PM
 
i notices in that customize pic for safari theres no RSS search where is it how is it enabled
     
Xeo
Moderator Emeritus
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Austin, MN, USA
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Oct 31, 2004, 03:34 AM
 
Originally posted by Zimphire:
Cool as all get out.. I can't wait. I might be actually replacing Adium if it does.
I was thinking something similar, but the more I use Adium, the more I realize it does everything better as a chat application than iChat, except for AV.

Hard decision...
     
Chris Grande
Senior User
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: CT
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Oct 31, 2004, 04:04 AM
 
Originally posted by Minch_Yoda:
i notices in that customize pic for safari theres no RSS search where is it how is it enabled
They moved the search from the toolbar and into the actual RSS interface.
     
moonmonkey
Professional Poster
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Australia, the greatest country in the world, (Australians keep telling me).
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Oct 31, 2004, 07:29 AM
 
Originally posted by Keiretsu:
8A294 out?

Think Secret thinks so!
Yes it is.

A big improvement over 8A269
     
iOliverC
Grizzled Veteran
Join Date: Jun 2002
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Oct 31, 2004, 07:35 AM
 
Originally posted by moonmonkey:
Yes it is.

A big improvement over 8A269
Any screenshots
     
moonmonkey
Professional Poster
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Australia, the greatest country in the world, (Australians keep telling me).
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Oct 31, 2004, 07:58 AM
 
Originally posted by iOliverC:
Any screenshots
Nothing much visually different from 69, screenshots are still floating around.
     
PrettyBoyClone
Fresh-Faced Recruit
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Oct 31, 2004, 08:10 AM
 
Originally posted by moonmonkey:
Nothing much visually different from 69, screenshots are still floating around.
where, where, where???
     
Krypton
Mac Elite
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Cambridge UK
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Oct 31, 2004, 10:06 AM
 
Are there any performance improvements over Panther, especially with scrolling?
     
Ghoser777
Professional Poster
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Chicago, Illinois
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Oct 31, 2004, 10:28 AM
 
Wait, but is it snappy™?

     
zachs
Mac Elite
Join Date: May 2002
Location: New York City
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Oct 31, 2004, 10:39 AM
 
New in 8A294:

iCal
- Option to show a "Birthday Calendar" in the source list.
- Nested calendars are now supported
- Notifications can now optionally be displayed in the lower left corner (where the mini calendar was)
- Many more searching options
- You can now publish calendars on any kind of server, including FTP

Finder
- There is a new type of folder - a "Burnable Folder." When you create one, it appears in the SideBar, with a burn button next to it to automatically burn just the contents of that folder.

Dock
- You can now add items in the Dock to your login items by choosing "Open at Login" from the Dock menu.

General
- There is an option in the text view contextual menu to Spotlight selected text.

Screenshots coming!
     
zachs
Mac Elite
Join Date: May 2002
Location: New York City
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Oct 31, 2004, 11:00 AM
 
( Last edited by zachs; Oct 31, 2004 at 11:12 AM. )
     
iOliverC
Grizzled Veteran
Join Date: Jun 2002
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Oct 31, 2004, 11:37 AM
 
Originally posted by zachs:
New in 8A294:

iCal
- Option to show a "Birthday Calendar" in the source list.
- Nested calendars are now supported
- Notifications can now optionally be displayed in the lower left corner (where the mini calendar was)
- Many more searching options
- You can now publish calendars on any kind of server, including FTP

Finder
- There is a new type of folder - a "Burnable Folder." When you create one, it appears in the SideBar, with a burn button next to it to automatically burn just the contents of that folder.

Dock
- You can now add items in the Dock to your login items by choosing "Open at Login" from the Dock menu.

General
- There is an option in the text view contextual menu to Spotlight selected text.

Screenshots coming!
Apple never seizes to amaze me, any new app makeovers you can see?

Thanks for the screenshots
     
piracy
Mac Elite
Join Date: Mar 2001
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Oct 31, 2004, 11:40 AM
 
Originally posted by iOliverC:
Apple never seizes to amaze me, any new app makeovers you can see?
...
     
iOliverC
Grizzled Veteran
Join Date: Jun 2002
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Oct 31, 2004, 11:46 AM
 
Originally posted by piracy:
...
...?
     
Chris Grande
Senior User
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: CT
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Oct 31, 2004, 12:21 PM
 
Heres a question on the burnable folders, when you put things into them, are they copied or are pointers just created? So say if I put a 300Mb file in there do I have to wait for it to copy first?
     
zachs
Mac Elite
Join Date: May 2002
Location: New York City
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Oct 31, 2004, 12:28 PM
 
Originally posted by Chris Grande:
Heres a question on the burnable folders, when you put things into them, are they copied or are pointers just created? So say if I put a 300Mb file in there do I have to wait for it to copy first?
You can either move it as an alias, or copy it.

I am not sure if when you make an alias whether it just burns the alias, or copies the original file when you click Burn.
     
iOliverC
Grizzled Veteran
Join Date: Jun 2002
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Oct 31, 2004, 12:31 PM
 
Originally posted by zachs:
You can either move it as an alias, or copy it.

I am not sure if when you make an alias whether it just burns the alias, or copies the original file when you click Burn.
On the topic of burning, does OS X support burning bin/cue files in Tiger?

Thanks
     
zachs
Mac Elite
Join Date: May 2002
Location: New York City
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Oct 31, 2004, 12:33 PM
 
Originally posted by iOliverC:
On the topic of burning, does OS X support burning bin/cue files in Tiger?

Thanks
What do you mean? I'll test it if I can.
     
Macanoid
Senior User
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: macsterdam
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Oct 31, 2004, 12:34 PM
 
wow - very cool features. What I'd love to now is a burnable smart-folder with automatic 'full-and-needs-to-be-burned' notification
     
TETENAL
Addicted to MacNN
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: FFM
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Oct 31, 2004, 12:39 PM
 
Why would I need burnable folders? Why can't I just burn any folder?
     
zachs
Mac Elite
Join Date: May 2002
Location: New York City
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Oct 31, 2004, 12:41 PM
 
Originally posted by TETENAL:
Why would I need burnable folders? Why can't I just burn any folder?
Beats me...seems like that'd be a much better idea.
     
iOliverC
Grizzled Veteran
Join Date: Jun 2002
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Oct 31, 2004, 01:01 PM
 
Originally posted by zachs:
What do you mean? I'll test it if I can.
Its built into Toast, basically you provide the software with a .cue file (which contains information to the file its burning). A lot of *certain* software use this method to distribute files to the *paying* supporters . I don't really have a file you can test. Here is some more information though:

http://www.weethet.nl/english/cdrw_usingnero_bincue.php
     
Minch_Yoda
Junior Member
Join Date: Jun 2004
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Oct 31, 2004, 01:12 PM
 
is this tiger for select ADC members?
cause my friend brags he is a Premier dev and he has 8A269 and has had it sense last tuesday or maybe sooner
but anyways if 8A294 is for select ADC members i can finally update from wwdc build
     
awaspaas
Mac Elite
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Oct 31, 2004, 03:10 PM
 
Hopefully you won't get a seize and desist letter!
     
awaspaas
Mac Elite
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Oct 31, 2004, 03:12 PM
 
Originally posted by iOliverC:
Its built into Toast, basically you provide the software with a .cue file (which contains information to the file its burning). A lot of *certain* software use this method to distribute files to the *paying* supporters . I don't really have a file you can test. Here is some more information though:

http://www.weethet.nl/english/cdrw_usingnero_bincue.php
Yarr, shiver me timbers ye landlubbers!
     
butter71
Forum Regular
Join Date: Mar 2001
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Oct 31, 2004, 03:17 PM
 
anyone running 8a268 or 8a294 as their main system? or do you need to switch back to panther for some reason?
     
dopik
Dedicated MacNNer
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Oct 31, 2004, 03:19 PM
 
What is smart folder? how does it work?

http://www.lightscreamer.com/forums/...foldermenu.png

dopik
I am a Compulsive Software Update Button Clicker
     
zachs
Mac Elite
Join Date: May 2002
Location: New York City
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Oct 31, 2004, 03:23 PM
 
Originally posted by dopik:
What is smart folder? how does it work?

http://www.lightscreamer.com/forums/...foldermenu.png

dopik
Older build, but basically the same:

http://www.lightscreamer.com/forums/...artfolders.mov
     
Horsepoo!!!
Banned
Join Date: Jun 2003
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Oct 31, 2004, 03:32 PM
 
Originally posted by butter71:
anyone running 8a268 or 8a294 as their main system? or do you need to switch back to panther for some reason?
Everyone is running it as their main system...HAHAHA. You're the only one not running it as your main system.
     
 
Thread Tools
 
Forum Links
Forum Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts
BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Top
Privacy Policy
All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:18 PM.
All contents of these forums © 1995-2017 MacNN. All rights reserved.
Branding + Design: www.gesamtbild.com
vBulletin v.3.8.8 © 2000-2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.,