Welcome to the MacNN Forums.

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

You are here: MacNN Forums > Hardware - Troubleshooting and Discussion > Mac Desktops > How much Ram do I buy for a Mac Mini

How much Ram do I buy for a Mac Mini
Thread Tools
bujumbura
Fresh-Faced Recruit
Join Date: Mar 2004
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Sep 29, 2005, 02:37 PM
 
Hi There

I want to buy a top of the line Mac mini and not sure if to go for 512 Mb or 1Gb of Ram. I'll be using the mini as a home computer mainly for iphoto, web, imovie and idvd (ocasionally though will want to use for apps like indesign, dreamweaver and xpress). My gut feeling is that 512 is barely sufficient but I would appreciate any feedback.

Thanks in advance
     
Randman
Posting Junkie
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: MacNN database error. Please refresh your browser.
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Sep 29, 2005, 02:40 PM
 
Get the 1GB. The design apps will love you for it.

This is a computer-generated message and needs no signature.
     
Jacob
Dedicated MacNNer
Join Date: Jul 2005
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Sep 29, 2005, 04:34 PM
 
1GB of ram, upgrade the hdd to 5400rpm. then you're set. 512 isnt enough.
"I cluck, therefor I am."
     
bujumbura  (op)
Fresh-Faced Recruit
Join Date: Mar 2004
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Sep 29, 2005, 04:56 PM
 
Thanks for confirming my hunch. Now just have to wait until the 1.5 officially comes out
     
ajprice
Professional Poster
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: UK
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Sep 29, 2005, 05:15 PM
 
Go for the gig, as far as memory goes. The more the merrier!

It'll be much easier if you just comply.
     
Laurence
Mac Enthusiast
Join Date: Mar 1999
Location: Portland, Oregon, United States
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Sep 29, 2005, 06:41 PM
 
Has anyone tested to see whether the Mini will handle a 2GB DIMM? I know they are kind of expensive right now, but that should change within 6 months or so.
--Laurence
     
bradoesch
Professional Poster
Join Date: Jun 2000
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Sep 29, 2005, 08:17 PM
 
1 GB for sure. Even that isn't a whole lot these days.
     
Agent69
Mac Elite
Join Date: Jun 2000
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Sep 30, 2005, 07:36 AM
 
1GB should be fine. You can buy it cheaper than Apple will sell it to you, however.
Agent69
     
bujumbura  (op)
Fresh-Faced Recruit
Join Date: Mar 2004
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Sep 30, 2005, 12:47 PM
 
I'm convinced will go for the 1gb.

BTW any thoughts on the wireless keyboard and mouse. Is it worth it? Are there any interference issues.
     
Randman
Posting Junkie
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: MacNN database error. Please refresh your browser.
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Sep 30, 2005, 01:09 PM
 
The family mini has Airport and Bluetooth and I use an Apple wireless keyboard. No problems.

This is a computer-generated message and needs no signature.
     
tooki
Admin Emeritus
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: Zurich, Switzerland
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Sep 30, 2005, 06:42 PM
 
Why burden the environment with battery replacements to remove a cumulative 4 feet of cord? I've never seen the point of wireless keyboards and mice in a standard desktop environment.

tooki
     
bujumbura  (op)
Fresh-Faced Recruit
Join Date: Mar 2004
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Sep 30, 2005, 06:46 PM
 
when you put it in that context then you are absolutely right
     
Will C
Mac Enthusiast
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: London, UK
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Oct 1, 2005, 04:05 AM
 
Originally Posted by tooki
Why burden the environment with battery replacements to remove a cumulative 4 feet of cord? I've never seen the point of wireless keyboards and mice in a standard desktop environment.

tooki
How refreshing - an environmental angle! - I read so many posts about leaving macs on 24 hours a day and never a mention of the power they use 'doing nothing'.
     
Titom
Junior Member
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Oct 2, 2005, 10:29 PM
 
When the first mini macs came out.. most said.. not enough ram.. get 512....

Now that the mini macs come with 512.. most say.. get 1 gig...

Is this because Tigar uses more ram?
     
vinster
Senior User
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Denver
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Oct 2, 2005, 10:44 PM
 
I have 512MB RAM in my Mac mini but it's only used as a home-theater computer, so it rarely ever runs more than the OS and a few applications at any given time. If used as an everyday computer with the occasional high-end graphic/design program, then 1GB of RAM makes sense.

The 256MB that originally came with my mini is just about enough to boot the machine. I had an upgrade done by the store before I even picked it up.
     
CanadaRAM
Forum Regular
Join Date: Aug 2005
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Oct 2, 2005, 10:58 PM
 
Originally Posted by Titom
When the first mini macs came out.. most said.. not enough ram.. get 512....

Now that the mini macs come with 512.. most say.. get 1 gig...

Is this because Tigar uses more ram?
Yes.
     
CanadaRAM
Forum Regular
Join Date: Aug 2005
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Oct 2, 2005, 10:59 PM
 
Originally Posted by Laurence
Has anyone tested to see whether the Mini will handle a 2GB DIMM? I know they are kind of expensive right now, but that should change within 6 months or so.
Do you have a source for a non-stacked, non-registered, non-ECC 16-chip PC2700 or PC3200 2 Gb DIMM?
     
Titom
Junior Member
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Oct 2, 2005, 11:12 PM
 
So it's the widgets that use so much ram... as compared to Panthor, that have no widgets....??

Does the old Konfabulator, the paid version, work on Tigar?
     
tooki
Admin Emeritus
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: Zurich, Switzerland
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Oct 2, 2005, 11:21 PM
 
Originally Posted by Will C
How refreshing - an environmental angle! - I read so many posts about leaving macs on 24 hours a day and never a mention of the power they use 'doing nothing'.
Well, a Mac in sleep mode uses minimal power -- and power generated in a power plant should have less overall environmental impact than disposable batteries, which contain all sorts of undesirable things.

tooki
     
iREZ
Professional Poster
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Los Angeles of the East
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Oct 3, 2005, 04:04 PM
 
how bout just using rechargeable batteries? all i know is i love my mx duo...sorry for being a facist non environmentalist
NOW YOU SEE ME! 2.4 MBP and 2.0 MBP (running ubuntu)
     
buggsuperstar
Dedicated MacNNer
Join Date: May 2005
Location: chillin with Billy, James, D'Arcy and Jimmy
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Oct 3, 2005, 09:13 PM
 
Originally Posted by Titom
So it's the widgets that use so much ram... as compared to Panthor, that have no widgets....??

Does the old Konfabulator, the paid version, work on Tigar?
erm... don't mean to derail this thread, but doesn't Panthor and Tigar sounds very Masters Of The Universe-ish?
     
Randman
Posting Junkie
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: MacNN database error. Please refresh your browser.
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Oct 4, 2005, 12:10 AM
 
Originally Posted by tooki
Why burden the environment with battery replacements to remove a cumulative 4 feet of cord? I've never seen the point of wireless keyboards and mice in a standard desktop environment.
Not everyone has a "standard desktop environment".

This is a computer-generated message and needs no signature.
     
icruise
Moderator Emeritus
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Illinois
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Oct 4, 2005, 09:56 AM
 
Originally Posted by Randman
Not everyone has a "standard desktop environment".
I guess I missed the part where he said that...
     
gratisguy
Fresh-Faced Recruit
Join Date: Oct 2005
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Oct 6, 2005, 01:02 AM
 
I would say don't waiste your money upgrading a mini-mac. The purpose of the mini-mac is to be tiny and still do cool computer stuff, not to run high grade video editing applications. Get G-Series computer if you want to do that, if you just want a computer to browse pictures, the internet ad maybe some movies and music, stick to a standardized mac mini, THATS WHAT THEY ARE FOR!!

----~-~-~----
GratGuy
Get your mini-iPod, Photo iPod, and Nano iPods for almost nothing at! http://www.gratisinternetrocks.com
     
iREZ
Professional Poster
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Los Angeles of the East
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Oct 7, 2005, 12:55 PM
 
mac mini can handle more than that, i dont see how a powerbook is considered a photoshop/illy, light final cut machine while the mini is only a browse net n movies machine. its the same effin thing!!!...i use my cuz' mini quite often while photoshopping n it works fantastically as long as i dont apply huge renders, but hey...it works better than my dated PB.
NOW YOU SEE ME! 2.4 MBP and 2.0 MBP (running ubuntu)
     
mduell
Posting Junkie
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Houston, TX
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Oct 7, 2005, 11:53 PM
 
Go for 1GB... too bad Apple doesn't support 2GB DIMMs.
     
moonmonkey
Professional Poster
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Australia, the greatest country in the world, (Australians keep telling me).
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Oct 8, 2005, 12:08 AM
 
you need the 1 Gig!
     
SmileyDude
Dedicated MacNNer
Join Date: Apr 1999
Location: MA
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Nov 1, 2005, 06:29 PM
 
Originally Posted by mduell
Go for 1GB... too bad Apple doesn't support 2GB DIMMs.
Actually, the problem is trying to get 2GB DDR DIMMs that are non-ECC. Crucial doesn't currently offer them -- and, it's looking like they might never offer them.

When the mini came out, there was an unofficial report that the mini would be able to work with a 2GB stick if/when they came out...
dennis
     
mduell
Posting Junkie
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Houston, TX
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Nov 1, 2005, 09:28 PM
 
Originally Posted by SmileyDude
Actually, the problem is trying to get 2GB DDR DIMMs that are non-ECC. Crucial doesn't currently offer them -- and, it's looking like they might never offer them.

When the mini came out, there was an unofficial report that the mini would be able to work with a 2GB stick if/when they came out...
Correct, they need to upgrade the Mac mini to DDR2 to get 2GB non-ECC (and unbuffered) DIMMs. PC2700 will be 4 years old pretty soon.
     
Tuishimi
Forum Regular
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Arizona
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Nov 5, 2005, 01:29 PM
 
I use my macs to host our websites as well as work. I had a mini but switched to the iMac G5 in Sept. for build speeds... But as nice as the iMac is, I really really loved and miss my mini. I already told my wife that when the intel mini comes out I am hopping right on it. When I had my mini, I bought a 1GB crucial stick, and upgraded the internal drive to a 5400 100GB seagate drive. Made a HUGE difference in speed.

But I can picture my Mactel mini when they arrive... 64 MB VRAM and an upgraded ATI chip that will support core image and Quartz 2D Extreme and a zippy pentium M, maybe dual core, who knows ...

You may say I'm a dreamer, but I'm not the only one...
24 inch iMac 2.4, 320GB HD, 4 GB RAM
500 GB Ext FW Drv, 120 GB Ext FW Drv
     
   
Thread Tools
 
Forum Links
Forum Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts
BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Top
Privacy Policy
All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:52 AM.
All contents of these forums © 1995-2017 MacNN. All rights reserved.
Branding + Design: www.gesamtbild.com
vBulletin v.3.8.8 © 2000-2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.,