Welcome to the MacNN Forums.

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

You are here: MacNN Forums > Community > MacNN Lounge > Need suggestions and comments about the Nikon D50

Need suggestions and comments about the Nikon D50
phantomdragonz
Mac Elite
Feb 18, 2006, 05:23 PM

ok, I am going to my graandmas 70th birthday on thursday and I need some info on a nikon D50... Basically I dont have enough time to do my research because I have to make my decision to order it by monday... so what do you all think about the camera, is it worth it? or should I stick with my good ol 35mm SLR?

any help and suggestions would be awesome

Zach

MrForgetable
Mac Elite
Feb 18, 2006, 05:58 PM

what 35mm SLR system do you have?

i am still learning the nuances of my camera 7 months after i got it. i know my pictures sucked balls the first few weeks.

but if you have a nikon, the control layout may be similar, but there are many more controls on a new dSLR than 35mm SLRs of the past. so you may be thoroughly confused.

what kind of information do you want about the D50? how much money can you spend?
iamwhor3hay

IceEnclosure
Moderator Emeritus
Feb 18, 2006, 06:34 PM

I know that when I have some spare hundred dollar bills I'll be buying one!
ice

plasticman
Feb 18, 2006, 09:24 PM

I have a Nikon D50 and it takes great photos of my family - infinitely better than my point and shoot digital camera. However, you should definitely buy an external flash and diffuser to go with it and use it the flash bounced off the ceiling to take photos indoors. I can't stress this enough!