Welcome to the MacNN Forums.

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

You are here: MacNN Forums > Software - Troubleshooting and Discussion > macOS > Need help with 'sudo'

Need help with 'sudo'
dzp111
Senior User
Sep 12, 2010, 11:08 AM

I have an external (cellular) modem that I occasionally need to use. But after upgrading to 10.6 the modem has been rendered useless. The manufacturer has not yet decided to update the device in question.

I did however stumble on a work-around to fix the problem but it entails the use of the Terminal. Thing is I'm not experienced with it.

I do have a solid backup (clone) and am willing to do this. What I need are step by step instructions as to how to proceed.

According to the author I need to do the following:

"Disconnect the u727 and open terminal and run these three commands then reboot — always be careful with sudo and especially rm -rf, they can destroy your data if you aren’t careful."

sudo mount -uw /
sudo rm -rf /System/Library/Extensions/NovatelWireless3G.kext/
sudo rm -rf /System/Library/Extensions/NovatelWirelessFilter.kext/[/I]

One of my questions is, do I enter these commands one at a time?

Can anyone help?
.................................................. .................................................. ..................................www.DNCH.com

.................................................. .................................................. .......................www.daniel.poirier.com

Cold Warrior
Sep 12, 2010, 11:33 AM

yes, one at a time, followed by pressing return.

dzp111  (op)
Senior User
Sep 12, 2010, 11:36 AM

Thanks.

Is there anything in these commands that I should be concerned about, in your opinion?