Welcome to the MacNN Forums.

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

You are here: MacNN Forums > Software - Troubleshooting and Discussion > macOS > So, is the built in Antivirus really there?

So, is the built in Antivirus really there?
Thread Tools
pastusza
Mac Enthusiast
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Bensalem, PA
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Aug 29, 2009, 11:33 AM
 
Has anyone tested to see if the built in Antivirus is there?
Andy Pastuszak
amp68(spammenot)-at-verizon.net
     
tooki
Admin Emeritus
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: Zurich, Switzerland
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Aug 29, 2009, 12:18 PM
 


Why wouldn't it be there if multiple independent sources have confirmed it?
     
Art Vandelay
Professional Poster
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: New York, NY
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Aug 29, 2009, 12:27 PM
 
There isn't an AntiVirus in Snow Leopard. There's just a plist with two entries that Apple programs use to check downloads against.

/System/Library/CoreServices/CoreTypes.bundle/Contents/Resources/XProtect.plist
Vandelay Industries
     
turtle777
Clinically Insane
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: planning a comeback !
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Aug 29, 2009, 12:45 PM
 
Art is right, to call it "virus protection" is giving it way too much credit.
That's why Apple never mentioned it.

However, there's the possibility that Apple will deliver more virus / malware signatures, and make it into a full blown virus scanner.

-t
     
pastusza  (op)
Mac Enthusiast
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Bensalem, PA
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Aug 29, 2009, 12:50 PM
 
Symantec needs to get it's act together and get Norton to work on 10.6, both 32 and 64 bit.

Andy
Andy Pastuszak
amp68(spammenot)-at-verizon.net
     
turtle777
Clinically Insane
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: planning a comeback !
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Aug 29, 2009, 12:52 PM
 
Originally Posted by pastusza View Post
Symantec needs to get it's act together and get Norton to work on 10.6, both 32 and 64 bit.
Well, I don't know about Norton.

IMO, the danger that Norton borks your system is about as high as getting a serious Virus or the Mac.

But Norton costs money, viruses are free

-t
     
pastusza  (op)
Mac Enthusiast
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Bensalem, PA
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Aug 29, 2009, 02:29 PM
 
I just went and installed iAntivirus. I know there are only a handful of harmful things out there, but my big problem is with MS Office viruses. I can't deploy them, but I can pass them on to someone who can.
Andy Pastuszak
amp68(spammenot)-at-verizon.net
     
cgc
Professional Poster
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Down by the river
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Aug 29, 2009, 06:48 PM
 
Norton on Windows is excellent and uses little system resources...
     
   
Thread Tools
 
Forum Links
Forum Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts
BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Top
Privacy Policy
All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:41 PM.
All contents of these forums © 1995-2017 MacNN. All rights reserved.
Branding + Design: www.gesamtbild.com
vBulletin v.3.8.8 © 2000-2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.,