Welcome to the MacNN Forums.

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

You are here: MacNN Forums > Software - Troubleshooting and Discussion > macOS > Time Machine Full

Time Machine Full
Harvey
Forum Regular
Jul 28, 2010, 10:57 AM

Hello,
I am using a 500 GB drive to house time machine which is currently full. I could be misusing the program and would like to ask a question or 2. Once my iphotos have been backed-up can I then tell TM to exclude the file in future backups? Is this causing my TM drive to fill up? Also can I simply delete the files I have been Backing up for 2 yrs and start over.

Thanks,
Harvey

ibook_steve
Jul 28, 2010, 11:57 AM

Time Machine automatically removes the oldest backups when the volume is full. You don't have to manage that yourself.

In Time Machine options, you can can of course omit any items from the backup that you want. Just click the Options button and add item(s) to the list. Eventually, though, as the backup of those photos gets older and older, the backup will be removed.

The only things that I feel should be excluded from a TM backup are large files that change a lot, such as my Parallels virtual hard drive and large database files like those created by Office Entourage. These large files can fill up your TM volume much faster.

Steve
Celebrating 10 years and 4000 posts on MacNN!

FireWire
Mac Elite
Jul 28, 2010, 12:42 PM

Originally Posted by ibook_steve View Post
Time Machine automatically removes the oldest backups when the volume is full. You don't have to manage that yourself.
That's what I thought, but the other day TM wouldn't backup because my drive was too full and it didn't offer to delete old backup... great

Atheist
Mac Elite
Jul 28, 2010, 01:00 PM

Originally Posted by FireWire View Post