Welcome to the MacNN Forums.

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

You are here: MacNN Forums > Software - Troubleshooting and Discussion > macOS > Nikon D700 NEF thumbs in OS 10.5.5

Nikon D700 NEF thumbs in OS 10.5.5
Thread Tools
Kodachrome_Project
Fresh-Faced Recruit
Join Date: Oct 2008
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Oct 25, 2008, 12:45 AM
 
OK, so now I am pretty confused. My brand new MacBook Pro 2.8 Ghz is rendering Nikon D700 NEF thumbnails with no problem, but my Mac Pro running the same OS 10.5.5 is not doing it....what is going on?
     
mduell
Posting Junkie
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Houston, TX
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Oct 25, 2008, 05:16 PM
 
I don't think it's the same OS build... IIRC the version the new laptops are running also support GPU accelerated video decoding, which isn't available for other Macs.
     
CatOne
Mac Elite
Join Date: Nov 2001
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Oct 26, 2008, 01:00 AM
 
The issue is the Digital Camera RAW 2.2 update. The new MacBook Pro has it integrated into the build, and you likely have not run the update on your Mac Pro. Try running Software Update.
     
Kodachrome_Project  (op)
Fresh-Faced Recruit
Join Date: Oct 2008
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Nov 25, 2008, 03:05 PM
 
Originally Posted by CatOne View Post
The issue is the Digital Camera RAW 2.2 update. The new MacBook Pro has it integrated into the build, and you likely have not run the update on your Mac Pro. Try running Software Update.
Got home yesterday, yep, that was the issue. And of course since I don't run iPhoto or Aperture, the update never happened. So I re-installed iPhoto and then updated to 2.3 and it is now fine.

Thanks, now I can archive...
     
tooki
Admin Emeritus
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: Zurich, Switzerland
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Nov 28, 2008, 06:03 PM
 
The update is presented to you in Software Update regardless of whether you use the apps or not.
     
Art Vandelay
Professional Poster
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: New York, NY
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Nov 28, 2008, 06:39 PM
 
but not if you don't have it installed like the OP.
Vandelay Industries
     
tooki
Admin Emeritus
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: Zurich, Switzerland
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Nov 28, 2008, 06:43 PM
 
No, the Digital Camera Raw updates are presented to all users, since Mac OS X itself, including Finder and Preview, use these updates.
     
Art Vandelay
Professional Poster
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: New York, NY
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Nov 28, 2008, 09:17 PM
 
I don't get the RAW updates on my work Mac which doesn't have iPhoto nor Aperture.
Vandelay Industries
     
ChrisF
Senior User
Join Date: Apr 2002
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Nov 29, 2008, 12:46 AM
 
Originally Posted by Art Vandelay View Post
I don't get the RAW updates on my work Mac which doesn't have iPhoto nor Aperture.
That corresponds with my experience configuring multiple Macs for clients.
     
   
Thread Tools
 
Forum Links
Forum Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts
BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Top
Privacy Policy
All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:41 PM.
All contents of these forums © 1995-2017 MacNN. All rights reserved.
Branding + Design: www.gesamtbild.com
vBulletin v.3.8.8 © 2000-2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.,