Welcome to the MacNN Forums.

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

You are here: MacNN Forums > Hardware - Troubleshooting and Discussion > Mac Notebooks > HELP! My 15" AlBook is only two days old and is already having combodrive issues

HELP! My 15" AlBook is only two days old and is already having combodrive issues
VertigoBob
Fresh-Faced Recruit
Jul 8, 2004, 11:13 PM

Hi guys, first off I'm new here as you can tell, along with a first-time Apple owner (although I have plenty of experience with Apple's from school, FCP editing in TV Productions, etc) so anyway, here's the problem - my Powerbook was delivered in the mail yesterday, seemed to be working like a charm, and after a couple of hours of configuring the Powerbook and then playing around with it, I decided to watch a DVD - no problems, the combodrive simply purred like a kitten and presented no problems.

However, later in the day my mom started bugging me to move out of the den and into my room, so I disconnected all the wires (USB mouse, ethernet, power cable) put the Powerbook to sleep, closed it, then moved it carefully (didn't turn it on its side or anything) into my room, setting it down gently on my desk...so anyway, enough rambling, I went to insert a CD today to load some software for my Elph digicam, and the combodrive was LOUD - I mean you could hear all sorts of clicking, the motor whining like crazy, the whole shebang - I figured maybe I should just let the system cool off, so I shut down the computer, left it off for a good ten minutes, then rebooted and tried again - same problem, same loud combodrive.

I've had other laptops, and NONE have seemed this sensative to one movement (a laptops CD-drive shouldn't be THIS freaking sensitive)