Welcome to the MacNN Forums.

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

You are here: MacNN Forums > Community > MacNN Lounge > Drunk guy hit my parked car.

Drunk guy hit my parked car.
tightsocks
Mac Enthusiast
Nov 25, 2011, 01:41 PM

A drunk guy hit my car while it was parked in the parking lot of my apartment building.
He stumbled away and hid in his apartment.
The police towed his car and took down my info, but I don't have any of his specifics (name, plate).

I realize that this is not the crime of the century and that stuff like this happens a thousand times a day.
But, I have very little life experience and I just muddle through.

How to I handle this?

My main concerns are: (if anybody cares)
-How do I make sure it is ok for me to drive the car? It looks like probably just body damage above the drivers side tire, but I don't want to drive it and then have someone say that I made things worse by driving it around.

-The guy might have been driving a random car from the dealership where he works (not sure about this, just a rumor amongst the neighbors.) That seems like it could potentially make the insurance more complicated.

-I'm worried I will be stuck with a deductible even though this is totally not my fault.

-My car has a slight 'pre-existing condition' that I was planning to have fixed in the coming days. (the hood is stuck closed/hood release doesn't work).

Waragainstsleep
Posting Junkie
Nov 25, 2011, 01:52 PM

If you are unsure about causing more damage, then you need to get an expert to look at it. A friend is cheaper than a mechanic you don't know.