Welcome to the MacNN Forums.

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

You are here: MacNN Forums > Software - Troubleshooting and Discussion > macOS > Mountain Lion, migration assistant and a smaller destination disk

Mountain Lion, migration assistant and a smaller destination disk
Thread Tools
seanc
Moderator Emeritus
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Cambridge, UK
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Oct 29, 2012, 02:42 PM
 
I've moved from a 500GB HDD to a 256GB SSD.
Installed Mountain Lion and run migration assistant to try and restore my data from my time machine backup. It shows me my data, but wants me to restore all of it. I can't uncheck the selection boxes and of course I'm -81GB of available space to restore all of my stuff to.

I want my settings, but not a lot of my data.
I'm giving 'everyone' permission on the time machine drive right now, but I'm not hopeful.

What am I missing in migration assistant?
     
reader50
Administrator
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: California
Status: Online
Reply With Quote
Oct 29, 2012, 03:08 PM
 
Can you put the old drive in an external case? If so, boot from the old drive (TM disconnected) and clean out. Then boot into ML Installer, and use the old drive as the source.
     
seanc  (op)
Moderator Emeritus
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Cambridge, UK
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Oct 29, 2012, 03:48 PM
 
I'll try migrating custom data from the installer now

I tried plugging the old disk in as an external drive, same problem.
     
seanc  (op)
Moderator Emeritus
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Cambridge, UK
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Oct 29, 2012, 03:59 PM
 
Migrating TM backup from the ML installer says the destination disk is too small.
I'll investigate the old disk from ML tomorrow.

Otherwise I guess I just need most of my preferences and keychain.
     
Waragainstsleep
Posting Junkie
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: UK
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Oct 29, 2012, 04:11 PM
 
Normally you can choose to exclude the apps or whichever users you like. Since you have a backup anyway, could you just delete the excess from the old drive and then migrate.
I have plenty of more important things to do, if only I could bring myself to do them....
     
seanc  (op)
Moderator Emeritus
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Cambridge, UK
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Oct 30, 2012, 02:02 PM
 
Originally Posted by Waragainstsleep View Post
Normally you can choose to exclude the apps or whichever users you like. Since you have a backup anyway, could you just delete the excess from the old drive and then migrate.
Normally yes, in my case, no.

I deleted a load of crap from my old hard drive so I actually would have had space left if I had done a full import.
I still couldn't uncheck any items!

I copied my login.keychain, a few folders from ~/Library/Application Support, some apps and got on with my life.

Clearly Migration Assistant is broken in 10.8.2.

My MacBook Pro feels properly snappy and should last another couple of years, nVidia 8 series graphics chip permitting.
     
   
Thread Tools
 
Forum Links
Forum Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts
BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Top
Privacy Policy
All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:53 AM.
All contents of these forums © 1995-2017 MacNN. All rights reserved.
Branding + Design: www.gesamtbild.com
vBulletin v.3.8.8 © 2000-2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.,