Welcome to the MacNN Forums.

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

You are here: MacNN Forums > Enthusiast Zone > Networking > Strange...

Strange...
Thread Tools
drillerkiller
Fresh-Faced Recruit
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Carborro, NC USA
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Aug 23, 2003, 12:25 PM
 
Yesterday I came home from work and my wife told me that she couldn't get online (roadrunner cable). I tried and was also denied. We are running a linksys wireless router so I shut it off, rebooted the modem and hooked her ibook up straight to the cable modem and it worked fine. I then tried mine and got nothing. No matter what config I try, I get nothing on my machine. The router seems to be dead as well. I took my ibook to the office this morning and it got online just fine.

I can't figure out:

1. Why the router won't work
2. Why she can get on fine hooked-up to the modem
3. Why I CAN'T get on when hooked-up straight to the modem.

Any thoughts?
     
meem
Forum Regular
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Boston, Ma
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Aug 23, 2003, 12:46 PM
 
I know that with what used to be att (now comcast here in boston) when I first got cable service i had some how logged the mac address of the the ethernet card in the first commputer that it used the service. no other computers would work unless you ran this installer which basicaly told the isp that you were using a second computer with it ( which then they would charge you for.) routers have there own mac address which also wont work unless you tell your isp. So the trick is if I remember correctly to call you isp and tell them the mac address of your router which they think is your main computer. ( if they ask why the setup disk wont work tell them your using a mac and there software doesn't seem to be working.) the router should if set to dhcp give its own ip addresses to your computers which I isp cant see.

When I originally did this they asked why it seemed to be working with one computer. but I just told them I was trying out multiple computers but the one I wanted to use with the service didn't work.

hope that made sense
     
John Strung
Senior User
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Ancaster, Ontario, Canada
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Aug 23, 2003, 02:38 PM
 
Use the MAC address cloning feature of your Router to clone the MAC address of the iBook so that the modem thinks the iBook is still connected when you are using the router.

Search these forums for "MAC address" for more details.
     
   
Thread Tools
 
Forum Links
Forum Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts
BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Top
Privacy Policy
All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:34 AM.
All contents of these forums © 1995-2017 MacNN. All rights reserved.
Branding + Design: www.gesamtbild.com
vBulletin v.3.8.8 © 2000-2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.,