Welcome to the MacNN Forums.

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

You are here: MacNN Forums > Hardware - Troubleshooting and Discussion > Mac Desktops > My poor Performa!

My poor Performa!
Thread Tools
Dex13
Mac Elite
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Bay Area of San Jose
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Mar 31, 2003, 12:06 AM
 
It has lost sound!
It's a 578 Performa, I don't know what went wrong.. None of the Sound outputs work.
Help
     
mac freak
Mac Elite
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Highland Park, IL / Santa Monica, CA
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Mar 31, 2003, 04:59 AM
 
Would that be 10 years old now? Hardware just dies sometimes, you know...

I don't have much experience in fixing 68k Macs, sorry.
Be happy.
     
KSE7696
Junior Member
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Indiana, USA
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Mar 31, 2003, 11:53 AM
 
Wow... Man... about time to put that ol' beast to rest, don't ya think and upgrade to a newer machine.
C-ya,
Kevin
     
Dex13  (op)
Mac Elite
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Bay Area of San Jose
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Mar 31, 2003, 12:34 PM
 
Originally posted by KSE7696:
Wow... Man... about time to put that ol' beast to rest, don't ya think and upgrade to a newer machine.
I have upgraded, I was just hoping to make the performa somewhat useful.
     
bradoesch
Professional Poster
Join Date: Jun 2000
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Mar 31, 2003, 01:01 PM
 
Have you tried resetting the PRAM? Hold Command+Option+P+R at startup until you hear the third chim.
     
:XI:
Mac Elite
Join Date: Sep 2002
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Mar 31, 2003, 01:38 PM
 
Originally posted by bradoesch:
Have you tried resetting the PRAM? Hold Command+Option+P+R at startup until you hear the third chim.
and if you don't here in chimes... your're sound is broken.



I bet that 10 year old mac has sound in, where as my year old powermac doesn't
     
Dex13  (op)
Mac Elite
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Bay Area of San Jose
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Mar 31, 2003, 04:50 PM
 
It Works!
Well just the headphones, the speakers are out.
But now that the sound works I want to make my performa useful.
How many HardDrives can it handle? I was thinking of maybe making it into a file/mp3 server for my house.
     
bradoesch
Professional Poster
Join Date: Jun 2000
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Apr 1, 2003, 08:50 PM
 
Originally posted by :XI::
and if you don't here in chimes... your're sound is broken.



I bet that 10 year old mac has sound in, where as my year old powermac doesn't
Oh yah, heheh (sheepish look from me)
     
bradoesch
Professional Poster
Join Date: Jun 2000
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Apr 1, 2003, 08:55 PM
 
Originally posted by Dex13:
It Works!
Well just the headphones, the speakers are out.
But now that the sound works I want to make my performa useful.
How many HardDrives can it handle? I was thinking of maybe making it into a file/mp3 server for my house.
Good to hear it's working again!

I have a Performa 580CD (same form factor), and it can only handle 1 internal hard disk.
     
ShotgunEd
Mac Elite
Join Date: Nov 2001
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Apr 2, 2003, 07:09 AM
 
try poking the heaphone port with a paperclip. My Performa 5300's heaphone socket sticks a little and it means it thinks headphones are in the whole time, thus muting the speakers.
     
Dex13  (op)
Mac Elite
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Bay Area of San Jose
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Apr 2, 2003, 01:37 PM
 
Originally posted by bradoesch:
Good to hear it's working again!

I have a Performa 580CD (same form factor), and it can only handle 1 internal hard disk.
I can't add any more externally?
     
Phil Quinney
Junior Member
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: England
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Apr 3, 2003, 06:01 PM
 
You can add them externally, just use the SCSI port.

Memories of my LC sitting unused in the loft. it got jealous when my G4 came, and then my G4 got jealous when the MDD came!

Phil.
     
   
Thread Tools
 
Forum Links
Forum Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts
BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Top
Privacy Policy
All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:37 AM.
All contents of these forums © 1995-2017 MacNN. All rights reserved.
Branding + Design: www.gesamtbild.com
vBulletin v.3.8.8 © 2000-2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.,