Welcome to the MacNN Forums.

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

You are here: MacNN Forums > Community > MacNN Lounge > Harry Potter AudioBook: Canadian version vs. US and UK version

Harry Potter AudioBook: Canadian version vs. US and UK version
Mac Write
Mac Elite
Jul 19, 2007, 05:07 AM

Why doesn't the Canadian version of Harry Potter audiobooks the Stephen Fry version, but the Jim Dale version. I know us Canadians get the British book version. Is the Audio version the american version? I am going to get the 7th book on Audio CD. This is my first time getting the audio CD.
Get busy living or get busy dying
--Stephen King

red rocket
Mac Elite
Jul 19, 2007, 05:46 AM

Originally Posted by Mac Write
Why doesn't the Canadian version of Harry Potter audiobooks the Stephen Fry version, but the Jim Dale version.
Maybe Stephen Fry isn't licensed for Canada?

Is the Audio version the american version?
If it's read by Jim Dale, obviously yes.

I am going to get the 7th book on Audio CD. This is my first time getting the audio CD.
Suggestion: You are going to prefer one version over the other. If I were you, I'd buy both versions, and keep the one I like.

amazing
Professional Poster
Jul 19, 2007, 09:58 AM

Jim Dale is an absolutely fantastic reader: The range of voices and accents is totally incredible. Haven't heard the British version with Stephen Fry, but I'd sure love to compare the versions. Here's a NY Times story (may have to register with the site but it's free)

"For his work on the “Harry Potter” series, Mr. Dale has won a Grammy Award and holds the record for creating the most voices in an audiobook in the Guinness Book of World Records."
http://www.nytimes.com/2007/07/17/books/17dale.html