Welcome to the MacNN Forums.

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

You are here: MacNN Forums > Software - Troubleshooting and Discussion > macOS > How to connect and download a file on home network

How to connect and download a file on home network
Thread Tools
ahollywoodcraig
Fresh-Faced Recruit
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Coeur d'Alene ID
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jun 23, 2007, 07:49 PM
 
I have a large file (6 GB) on my desktop G5 that I want to put on my laptop. How do i connect to my desktop from my laptop to download it? I don't have .mac and I tried to do it via bonjour with ichat and it didn't work.
thanks in advance
Craig
http://www.purevolume.com/ahollywoodlegend
Check it out. You won't regret it.
     
C.A.T.S. CEO
Professional Poster
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: eating kernel
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jun 23, 2007, 08:03 PM
 
Originally Posted by ahollywoodcraig View Post
I have a large file (6 GB) on my desktop G5 that I want to put on my laptop. How do i connect to my desktop from my laptop to download it? I don't have .mac and I tried to do it via bonjour with ichat and it didn't work.
thanks in advance
Craig
System Prefs > Sharing > turn on Personal file sharing (do this on your laptop

Then on your G5 go to Network (in finder) > your computer will be listed there

You might get more replies if you posted in the networking forum...
Signature depreciated.
     
seanc
Moderator Emeritus
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Cambridge, UK
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jun 23, 2007, 08:04 PM
 
Are both of these systems on the same network?

If so, then why not just connect to the G5 via the network icon in the Finder?
     
ahollywoodcraig  (op)
Fresh-Faced Recruit
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Coeur d'Alene ID
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jun 23, 2007, 08:06 PM
 
Yes they are on the same network. How do i do that?
http://www.purevolume.com/ahollywoodlegend
Check it out. You won't regret it.
     
C.A.T.S. CEO
Professional Poster
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: eating kernel
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jun 23, 2007, 08:06 PM
 
Originally Posted by ahollywoodcraig View Post
Yes they are on the same network. How do i do that?
I just explained it to you
Signature depreciated.
     
C.A.T.S. CEO
Professional Poster
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: eating kernel
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jun 23, 2007, 08:07 PM
 
Originally Posted by ahollywoodcraig View Post
I went to the network icon in the finder and I can't figure out how to get from my laptop to my g5. what should i be looking for?
Dude, read my post.

Edit: damn database
Signature depreciated.
     
ahollywoodcraig  (op)
Fresh-Faced Recruit
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Coeur d'Alene ID
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jun 23, 2007, 08:09 PM
 
I went to the network icon in the finder and I can't figure out how to get from my laptop to my g5. what should i be looking for?
http://www.purevolume.com/ahollywoodlegend
Check it out. You won't regret it.
     
seanc
Moderator Emeritus
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Cambridge, UK
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jun 23, 2007, 08:15 PM
 
Do you not see another computer show up in the window?

You can connect to it by using the Go menu > connect to computer option in the Finder but you might need the IP address. I can't remember whether OS X will show you the IP in the Networks area of System Prefs., can you shed any light C.A.T.S?
     
C.A.T.S. CEO
Professional Poster
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: eating kernel
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jun 23, 2007, 08:45 PM
 
Originally Posted by seanc View Post
Do you not see another computer show up in the window?

You can connect to it by using the Go menu > connect to computer option in the Finder but you might need the IP address. I can't remember whether OS X will show you the IP in the Networks area of System Prefs., can you shed any light C.A.T.S?
Its much easier to turn of Personal File Sharing, read my above post.
Signature depreciated.
     
ahollywoodcraig  (op)
Fresh-Faced Recruit
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Coeur d'Alene ID
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jun 23, 2007, 08:57 PM
 
I tried to transfer the file to my hard drive on my laptop like you said, but when the transfer was complete it said that I didn't have sufficient privileges. What does that mean?
http://www.purevolume.com/ahollywoodlegend
Check it out. You won't regret it.
     
besson3c
Clinically Insane
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: yes
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jun 23, 2007, 09:30 PM
 
Originally Posted by ahollywoodcraig View Post
I tried to transfer the file to my hard drive on my laptop like you said, but when the transfer was complete it said that I didn't have sufficient privileges. What does that mean?
What folder were you trying to copy the file to? Your Desktop?


Don't mind CATS C.E.O. and his rude tone, he's 15 years old.
     
   
Thread Tools
 
Forum Links
Forum Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts
BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Top
Privacy Policy
All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:21 PM.
All contents of these forums © 1995-2017 MacNN. All rights reserved.
Branding + Design: www.gesamtbild.com
vBulletin v.3.8.8 © 2000-2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.,